We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hideaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turtle Dove Cottages
A TripAdvisor Member
“The Perfect Hideaway”
Reviewed July 27, 2004

It's not often that one's fantasy of a holiday and the actual holiday line up just right. But that's how it is at Turtle Dove. My stay there was the perfect hideaway vacation. I'm so grateful.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New City, NY
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2004

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the lovely, tranquil and soothing Turtle Dove Lodge in Tortola. The views are SPECTACULAR! Our accomodations were spacious, clean and comfortable. Our host made us feel very welcome, and was extremely helpful. I would never hesitate to return again and again to this magical spot in heaven.

Helpful?
2 Thank Page
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2004

Where to start, hmmm. What a wonderful week at the Turtle Dove Lodge. I wish I could have moved in because Carol made us feel that at home and comfortable. She served as expert tour guide, local expert, made sure we didn't miss a beat during our stay and every recommendation she had worked out and every request we had of her, she made it happen. Not only was Carol a great hostess to us but the Turtle Dove is a great property. The "hill" that it sits on is a bit daunting but well worth the views of the sunset from the Oleander cottage. Situated in an out-of-the-way spot the Turtle Dove is a great place for a relaxing, tropical, restful vacation. Check it out!!!

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank offtoanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 17, 2004

We had made a last minute booking for a 6 day cruise on a Windjammer sailing ship. We knew it would be a very active pace on the ship and wanted to end our vacation with several days peacefully enjoying the British Virgin Islands. Turtle Dove Lodge was just what we were looking for. A very private and comfortable cottage with a colorful Caribbean decor. The steep hike up the hill to the cottage was welcome daily exercise and rewards you with an unbelievable view. Several good restaurants are within walking distance. A couple of them had live entertainment. A nice variety of beaches in the area. Carol is the perfect hostess with a most unique background.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 17, 2004

My husband and I stayed at Turtle Dove (Flamboyant) in February. The view is incredible; Carol is a joy, very helpful and a great person; the cottage is adorable and has everything you will need; and, a place we will definitely go back to. We rented a car because of its location up on the hill. (We had always taken a taxi when staying at Long Bay for the past four years.) On our last morning as we were sitting on the porch writing our reviews/thoughts/memories in the guest book, a rain shower started moving in. We headed in to the cottage to finish up, and out of the corner of my eye I saw a rainbow with both ends in the water. I turned to my husband and said "This is truly paradise. That's Tortola saying goodbye and please come again." We will, and you will find us at Flamboyant!!!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 8, 2004

I stayed in the Oleander Cottage at Turtle Dove Lodge the last week of March 2004. It was Heaven! The cottage is adorable with a mind boggling view. The walk down the hill to Long Bay and to Apple Bay was very steep but well worth it. I was a little intimidated by the roads, so I chose not to rent a car. I had no problem walking to four different restaurants in the area. All of them were good! Carol, the owner, was a great help with assisting me to get around the island. One night we went to dinner at one of her favorite restaurants named the Roadhouse.
The food was excellent and the cats were a amusing addition to a great evening. I would recommend the Turtle Dove Lodge Cottages to anyone who is looking for a lovely accomodation with minimal frills and a spectacular view that I won't forget for a long time!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 2, 2004

we stayed at the "turtle dove lodge" in apple bay. i can't even begin to tell you how wonderful it was. the view was spectacular. our deck looked to jost van dyke. there are three cottages we stayed in the "oleander" it was spotless and beautiful and private. our host carol had wine waiting for us. the switch-backs driving up the mountain was scary at first because you really feel as though your riding a rollercoaster to the top , there sooo steep but it's fun. every beach on tortola is beautiful..i know because we went to every one. just about all the restaurants we went to were very good, except the "bananakeet" we walked out. the pub, quito's, sabastions, the captains table, all good...i wouldn't go to pussers only because you get the same food at home and its a bit pricey. if you can be there for the full moon party at bomba's i can guarentee you have never seen any thing like it..its worth going to the bomba shack just to see it.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.1 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
408 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.1 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Heritage Inn
The Heritage Inn
#9 of 25 in Tortola
114 reviews
9.6 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
291 reviews
4.7 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Dove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Dove Cottages

Property: Turtle Dove Cottages
Address: Long Bay Road, 0000, Tortola (Formerly North Shore Cottages)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > West End
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Dove Cottages are a group of charming cottages and villas nestled up on the hillside overlooking 2 of Tortola's most famous beaches. Relax on the decks and enjoy stunning panoramic views out to the islands of Jost Van Dyke, Sandy Spit and down to St Thomas. You are only a 10 minute walk from both the excellent surf break at Apple Bay and the quiet beauty of Long Bay. Turtle Dove House: The 3 bedroom villa is incredibly situated, nestling on the ridge between Long Bay and Apple Bay, affording a 180 degree view including both beaches. The main level of the villa has the open plan, fully equipped kitchen and lounge area furnished with solid wood furniture. Also on this level is the air conditioned master bedroom with 4-poster king bed and en suite and the second bedroom with a dedicated bathroom. A large dining deck with BBQ extends out providing an ample entertaining area while watching the breath-taking sunsets. On the lower level is the third bedroom suite and the lower deck. Here you can dine al-fresco, enjoy the hot-tub or relax in a sun lounger with a cocktail. The entire house with the exception of the decks is fully screened. Guavaberry Cottage: This charming one bedroom cottage has an unobscured view of Apple Bay and down the coastline of North Tortola. Open plan living area and fully equipped kitchen, one air conditioned bedroom with queen bed and a bathroom with shower. Large deck with covered and uncovered areas to sit and enjoy the view or cook on the BBQ. Wireless internet to keep in touch if absolutely needed! The cottage is fully screened. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turtle Dove Cottages Tortola/West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing