We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best vacation ever!!

We had the most amazing trip on the Out of Office powercat! Boat was incredible and exceeded... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
maryrF350LD
via mobile
A corner of paradise

We just returned home from a magical week sailing on "Sol Liv" with Captain James and First Mate... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Annie H
,
Belmont, Massachusetts
Read all 217 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tortola
from $1,295.00
More Info
from $695.00
More Info
from $1,295.00
More Info
from $38.70
More Info
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveler rating
207
4
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
207
4
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jost van dyke bucket list last week took great care sailing skills young couple dream vacation the entire trip captain chris top notch sopers hole exceeded our expectations perfect trip next year fish snorkeling spots great captain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 217 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2021

Unparalleled value for money. Responsive, experienced, flexible, helpful, repeatedly went above and beyond expectations. Can’t imagine ever using a different charter company in the BVI

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank Ewan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 19, 2021 via mobile

We were lucky enough to meet the Voyage family on our trip to Tortola. From the moment we stepped into the office we knew we made the right choice. Voyage made it easy from start to finish. Thanks to Captain Gavin, I caught my first fish, second and third. We hit all the snorkel spots: swam with turtles, sharks, octopus, and tons of fish. I hiked the islands while my husband hunted for treasure. We feasted on lobster, rode Mokies on Anegada, and spotted the flamingos. It was an adventure on land and sea. Gavin took great care to ensure we experienced all the islands offered. We couldn’t ask for a better trip! Now is the time to sail the BVIs. It’s the perfect place to quarantine, work remotely, or just escape the cold. Voyage makes it easy!

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank katesV6433IZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 5, 2021

Let's begin with Voyage Charter and its staff. They were fantastic. Our 480 catamaran was clean and well equipped for the 4 couples on our bareboat sail. Staff (Thanks Rain!) were on top of a minor electric issue and Sarah did a great job liasoning with the health department and getting food and supplies to us during the initial quarantine. We had the islands almost to ourselves due to COVID protocols, which had its pros (plenty of mooring balls; zero crowds) and cons (some closed restaurants; multiple COVID tests).

So you may be asking, is it worth the hassle to go to the BVI right now? My short answer is yes. The charter companies like Voyage are offering free days to compensate for the 4 (really 5) day mandatory quarantine, which you do on your boat as you sail under a yellow flag. We had 4 days of meals and plenty of rum catered onto the boat since we couldn't eat on shore, which was a godsend (and they were good!). COVID tests <72 hours before travel, on arrival and at 4 days which takes some planning but not a huge deal. You also need another COVID test to fly back to St. Thomas (at this time the ferries aren't running, just air. We took Island Birds and they were great. COVID test costs and taxis added about $400/couple for our group. Masks and social distancing is required on shore. I took off one star for COVID protocols, which BVI takes very seriously.

As noted above, the giant upside of going to BVI in 2021 is the lack of crowds. Motor right up to the Indians to snorkel, which is a task in a 'normal' year. No racing to get the last Boaty Ball or table at Foxy's. You don't have 10 other boats spoiling your cave shot at Treasure Island. You get the idea. Yes, it is harder to visit right now but our group agreed that it was totally worth it.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank KentO865
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 13, 2020

We just wrapped up a 1 week charter with Voyage, and it was a fantastic experience. Let's start with the Voyage team. Everyone, from the booking team to the team at the base in Sopers Hole makes this a fantastic experience. They are attentive, all the details are covered, and they make you feel like you're part of the family.

Second, the boats are fantastic. The new 480 we chartered was good looking, performed well under sail, and extremely well laid out for our group. Additionally, the interiors are bright and welcoming.

Finally, all of the extras really add to the experience. The bluetooth stereo system with 3 different zones including speakers on the spreaders, a beautiful brand new hard-bottom inflatable and reliable engine, ice-maker that cranked ice, watermaker so we didn't have to worry about it, brand new digital nav, windlass with remote control.

Just a GREAT experience. We will be back!

Date of experience: March 2020
1  Thank TomE99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jo-Ann_Downing, Owner at VOYAGE Charters, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2020

Hi Tom,

Thank so much for your fantastic review!

It is so important to us all at VOYAGE charters, from booking to boat experience to provide a topnotch service to our clients that makes them wanting to keep coming back...
We sincerely appreciate you letting us know that you felt you and your group were well looked after by the VOYAGE team and that the new VOYAGE 480 you chartered was an overall great experience.

Looking forward to your return...

Warm regards,
The VOYAGE Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2020

We spent the week Feb 8-16 with captain Gavin and Chef Nicola on a wonderful journey through the British Virgin Islands. Gavin and Nicola made our trip great, as every detail was taken care of. It was incredible that we could eat 3 meals per day plus happy hour drink of the day with appetizers for 8 guests, from a small kitchen with everything being top notch....and homemade. Even when we had hamburgers for lunch, the buns were baked fresh that day. All deserts made from scratch, including key lime pie, chocolate molten cake, and much more. Gavin knew all the best spots to go and made all of our stops eventful. Lots of great memories...and two new friends in Gavin and Nicola.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank hansdanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jo-Ann_Downing, Owner at VOYAGE Charters, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2020

Thanks Hans for your great review!

We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time with Captain Gavin and Chef Nicola aboard your VOYAGE yacht and how much you and your group enjoyed their services.
Great memories and new friends, fantastic ...

Take care till next time!

Warm regards,
The VOYAGE Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews