We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic,Wonderful Brunch”
Review of The Clubhouse at Frenchmans - CLOSED

The Clubhouse at Frenchmans
Price range: $12 - $39
Cuisines: Caribbean, French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
176 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic,Wonderful Brunch”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

You cannot beat the food, location and service for Sunday Brunch. You are offered a brunch cocktail, starter, main and dessert. The service and location are fantastic. After we ate we went down to the beach, took a chair under a hut and swam and sunbathed all day. (We checked when making reservations and were told to enjoy ourselves).
We will come back next time and go for lunch/dinner as well. Fantastic!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tangi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    32
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ate here 3 nights in a row. And loved each of them.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

There's not a thing to dislike, though the specials didn't vary much during our short time there.

A lot of the cuisine has a very French feel with island flavors infused throughout. My absolute favorite was the escargot profiterole - local whelks in curried puff pastry in a delicious cream sauce.

The open-air, oceanfront dining is relaxed and breezy, and is complimented by friendly, well-informed wait staff. My husband and I LOVED it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Dinner and Sunday Brunch, both excellent!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a wonderful Brunch here on Sunday Dec 2. Everything was excellent; from the quiche to the desert, I would actually call it a full lunch. We also went on a separate evening for dinner and it was also very good, but if you only have time for one outing go for the brunch, we literally waddled ot of there.The setting and wait-staff are also wonderfull, friendly and relaxed. ps. I would like to mention that if you are coming the first time in the dark, it is a little hard to find, maybe a sign or two with the name of the restaurant could be displayed, anyway you just keep going till you hit the ocean parking lot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hpytrvlr-yvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

You can not go wrong with breakfast or dinner here. Everything is made from scratch and just delicious.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
417 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Great location and very good food”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The restaurant's location and ambience is very nice. We liked all of our meals with the only complaint being about the escargot. The wahoo soup and shu-mai appetizers were enjoyed as was the lobster and duck entrees, but the lobster was hard to get out of the shell. Prices were all in the high 20s and mid 30s, but were about what one would expect.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jongable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefpaulm, Owner at The Clubhouse at Frenchmans, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hey Jongable!
Thanks for coming by the Clubhouse. I'm happy you enjoyed your experience with us and we all appreciate the kind words.
Apologies to whoever had the escargot, but as an explanation, that appetizer is called “Island Escargot” and actually consists of West Indian topshell snails (locally called whelks), not the helix snails most places serve, while the local population love them, they are a bit of an acquired taste. While this is explained in the item description, we may have to revisit the name, because we have had some confusion before. If you ever get by this way again, please say hi, and I will set you up with an order, and I’m confident that if you try them expecting something different you will enjoy them.
Thanks again,
Paul Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clubhouse at Frenchmans also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing