We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property with Great Service”
Review of Frenchmans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frenchmans
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Property with Great Service”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Frenchman's the beginning of December. Michelle had set us up with the "Sail & Stay" package, where we sailed on a sailboat for the first 4 nights of our vacation, and then stayed at Frenchman's for the latter 4 nights. Michelle set up everything, including the charter, so that when we arrived on Tortola we went directly to the marina and our sailing portion would begin. I highly recommend this combo, as the sailboat is really the best way to explore the BVI.

When at Frenchman's the latter 4 nights, we stayed in the Star Fruit 1 bedroom cottage. We were very impressed with our cottage! It has everything you need to feel at home, and is very clean and stylish. This particular cottage has the well-equipped kitchen (was even stocked with a bottle of wine, water, and chocolate when we arrived), dining room/living room and porch on the 1st floor, and the bedroom and bathroom on the 2nd floor. The views from our cottage were spectacular. Our only complaint about the cottage is that there were many mosquitos, so we got bit quite a lot. They do however provide OFF! in the cottages which is a nice touch.

The grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed the pool and the ocean. They provide kayaks which we used one afternoon, which were fun to swim around and look at the sea life (wear water shoes, its rocky). The rate includes breakfast which we found to be great. Chef Paul includes 3 items on the menu each morning which changes daily and we found it to be the perfect start to our day. We only ate at the restaurant one night for dinner, but it was excellent. We did go there for happy hour a couple of times however which we really enjoyed. They had $2 fish tacos and $3 mojitos each night as the happy hour special.

I strongly suggest renting a car. The resort is within walking distance to Soper's Hole Marina, which is great, but you're going to want to explore the island more and can only do that by car (Michelle can arrange this for you). We were happy however that we were staying on the West End after exploring the island- we just found it to be more quaint in that area.

Michelle really provides exceptional customer service, which is why I believe this property really stands out (beyond its natural beauty). We booked our trip 8 months in advance, and she was always available when we had questions, and she would be very available when we eventually got onsite to answer questions, set up more day trips etc.

Excellent stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bean820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    36
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
79
239
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estill Springs, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

A wonderful place to relax, snorkel, shop, whatever you desire at the time. The people were more than helpful, no matter what we asked. The food was tremendous! The room more than expected. Beautiful scenery from all rooms. What a great end to an already fantastic sailing trip!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Armadill0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

The setting was beautiful! Guests do need to be aware that the villas are near to each other and that noise carries, but during our stay that was not a problem. The staff was friendly and helpful, always ready to answer questions, but not intrusive. Chef Paul was a wonder! What he terms a 'continental breakfast' is a feast in my book! Dinners were excellent. The pork tenderloin was one of our favorites! Although we did get out and look around Tortola, we could have easily just stayed on the grounds and walked in the nearby area. The snorkeling off the point was the best anywhere and the swooping and splashing of the pelicans was a source of constant entertainment. I would go back to Frenchman's in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Great views, great staff, great value, and a great time. Hard to find a flaw here - the cable was out, but if you are coming to the BVI you have no business watching TV anyhow.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyFinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

This was our second stay at Frenchmans and it was as good as I remembered. The cottage had everything we needed and was very comfortable. Having a full kitchen is useful, especially after a long day out exploring the island. My favorite part of the cottage was the porch. Comfortable seating and wonderful views combined with cool breezes - just what I wanted for vacation.
The snorkeling and kayaking along the coast of the property was great . Michelle and Chris were both incredibly nice and helpful with questions/requests/etc. They definitely made our stay even better. And the breakfasts were delicious!
The location of the resort was perfect for us. It is in a quiet area and makes for a great base to explore the rest of Tortola/BVI. This is one of our favorite places to stay and I'm sure we'll be back again someday.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellymonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2010

What to say that so many others haven't already said!?!? When choosing the resort for our honeymoon, I looked at pretty much all of them on Tortola. I just couldn't get Frenchman's out of my mind and especially after reading all of the amazing reviews, we were sold.
My husband and I wanted a relaxing resort, close to everything, and somewhere we could cook a few meals. The cottage was perfect (exactly like the pictures) and the kitchen had everything we could have needed. There is a well stocked grocery store at Soper's Hole just a short walk away and the prices were not terribly expensive. We spent a lot of time at Soper's Hole, shopping, eating and even taking a day sail on The White Squall (which was amazing, but that's another review!). We drove into Road Town on one day which took about 25 minutes, but for the most part we were content to stay on our side of the island. From Frenchman's, it was only about a 15 minute trip to Long Bay Beach or Smuggler's Cove (our absolute favorite), as well as some amazing restaurants that are located near there (Banana Keet and The Sugar Mill).
As others have said, the staff at Frenchman's can't be beat! Michelle and Chris were fantastic! Because we were so busy with our wedding in the months leading up to our honeymoon, we hadn't planned out anything for our trip. That was no problem at all thanks to Michelle and Chris, and being that is was low season also helped because things were not booked up. Michelle and Chris arranged everything for us, from our rental car, to our day sail on White Squall as well as all of our dinner reservations. We never had to pick up the phone! And when we were not sure where to go on a particular day, they were always there to give us an amazing recommendation!

Go here! You will not be dissappointed!!

Richard and Lauren Calame

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TxAngel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

The staff proved top notch from the first e-mail to checkout. Our expectations of the level of service one would expect from this type of property were exceeded at every turn. It was truly as if they already new what we would need before we asked... We cannot stress enough that it is this focus from the staff (for us we dealt with Michelle and Chris) that will surely bring us back here again and again. We've stayed at many properties in the Caribbean and many of them were as beautiful but none of them could match Frenchmans for what really matters - how you are treated as a guest!

The cottages were roomy and comfortable and very well appointed the pics on the web are accurate and we will post some in this review as well. We appreciated most the full kitchen which we had provisioned with many items to make some of our own meals... felt like home!

Location was great as it is close to Soper's Hole Marina with plenty of things to do there... coffee shop, bars, restaurants, grocery etc... We found the trip over to the north side of island easy and quick where one will find many more places and most of the nicer beaches.

We look forward to a return trip soon and highly recommend this for folks we are wanting laid back relaxation, beautiful grounds and location and high level of personal service. We would not recommend for people who want tons of nightlife / clubs etc... or to meet many people as the resort is small and we rarely saw other guests which for us is what we wanted.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hocuspocus916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
10.5 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
397 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
723 reviews
5.3 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchmans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchmans

Property: Frenchmans
Address: Frenchman's Cay, VG100, Tortola
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchmans 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frenchmans is a hidden jewel located on Frenchman's Cay on the southwest coast of the island of Tortola. Set on a dramatic point, we capture the welcoming turquoise waters of the Caribbean and its trade winds. Each of our nine private villas embodies an exquisite elegance, set amidst flourishing gardens with our own private pool, beach and tennis court. Our palette of luxury services including massage, secretarial and concierge ensures your stay will be as care free and indulgent as possible. Private villas include fully-equipped kitchens, ample living spaces, air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and two or more balconies. Stunning panoramic views, soothing interior design and cool breezes set your body and soul at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Frenchmans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmans Hotel West End
Frenchmans Tortola/West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing