We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazaing Hotel in Tortola”
Review of Frenchmans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frenchmans
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2009

My wife and I have been to the British Virgin Islands a number of times and, while we have loved the island, have been frustrated by the properties and/or customer service on Tortola. I found an entirely different experience during my recent stay at Frenchman's.

The location itself was not only phenomenally beautiful, but the rooms were immaculately furnished and decorated without any of the tasteless "island decorations" that you find in other hotels. It was also near the first ferry stop from St. Thomas, which made it especially convenient for us to get to the hotel. Our last experience had us leaving from the main downtown area, which is not tourist friendly, and taking a long taxi drive across the island with someone who may or may not have had a driver's license.

More than the beautiful property was the exceptional service provided by Michelle. She catered to our every need, making sure our room was stocked to our likings. She also went to great lengths to plan activities to our liking. Don't get me wrong, I love the beach, but I can only sit there for so long (limin' as the say in the islands!). Previously, we had gone scuba diving with We Be Divin'. It was a terrible experience. The boat broke down and the divemaster was...well...enjoying island life! Fortunately, this time Michelle recommended Blue Water Divers and it was phenomenal. In fact, all of her planning resulted in the best vacation we have had to the British Virgin Islands!

Unfortunately, at the time, their restaurant was not open which would have been convenient. My understanding is that it will open soon. Nonetheless, Michelle went out of her way to make reservations at hotels around the island and arrange transportation.

Thank you Michelle!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nickfromamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Frenchmans
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 388 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2009

We visited Frenchmans last year while we were on Tortola to check out the property and found it to be situated in a perfect locale in a garden setting with terrific views, and located close to Sopers Hole. We decided to contact Frenchmans for this year's holiday.

From the initial contact, working with Michelle was without equal. She was extremely dedicated to ensuring that our stay was comfortable and all of our needs were met. She even requested a list of items that we would like the kitchen stocked with for our stay and when we arrived, each requested item, exactly, was already in the villa. Along with a fully appointed kitchen -- the blender was in full time use -- we were set. After 7 consecutive years of holiday's on Tortola, working with Michelle was unrivalled.

The villa itself was perfect. Extremely clean and furnished nicely. Large screen television with satelite along with various electronics. Wireless connectivity was consistent and fast. The furniture was in island style and in excellent condition. The large balcony was provisioned with two swiging chairs and two chaise lounge chairs. The balcony itself is very large with terrific views, facing East. The bedroom was comfortable; nice king bed. Bose Wave player with Ipod connection and a closet and built in vanity area. The bathroom was fully tiled in travertine with rain shower. The bathroom, like the rest of the villa, looked absolutely new.

Management had recently completed renovations putting several millions of US Dollars into the property and it shows. The villa was outstanding.

Breakfast was offered each morning at no cost. Fresh fruit, pastries, yoghurt, etc. Breakfast area is in the main building on the water and is a open air pavilion structure. Of course, coffee on your balcony watching the sunrise is truly satisfying.

It short, Frenchmans was wonderful. With 7 villas in the dense, lush garden setting, it is very private and quiet. A perfect vacation.
.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WilderC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We recently got married at Frenchman's in the gardens. Its truly a hidden Gem. The grounds, the views, villa, and staff were incredible. Felt transported to paradise. I would certainly recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank highestvibration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Frenchmans is a quiet, relaxing place to stay at the West end of Tortola. It was about a 40 minute ride from the airport over some interesting roads but worth the drive. We had a rental car for our 4 day trip so we could explore the beaches and restaurants. Michele, the concierge, helped us find a rental company and book a fun snorkeling trip. She was very helpful with any questions we had during our stay. We stayed in the Lime which was beautiful and had an excellent view for both sunrises and sunsets. We fell asleep listening to the ocean. There is a restaurant at the resort but we came during the off season and it was set to open in November. There was a pool but we chose to swim at the local beaches. We did cook a few meals in during our stay and the kitchen is beautiful and fully equipped. We were a short drive from Smugglers Cove which is a superb beach and very private during our stay. We were also close to several restaurants that were open during the off season. Many of them reopened in October. Both Michele and Ashleigh were very helpful with suggestions for places to eat and things to do. Overall, we had a great time and would recommend Frenchmans.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mannmetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Frenchmans is a hidden gem tucked away on the beautiful West End of Tortola. Perched at the end of a quiet road the pastel villas sit stylishly on the mountain side providing incredible views of the ocean and cove below. They are tastefully decorated, clean and airy and incredibly comfortable. Having seen some of the other accomadations on the island I concluded that Frenchmans is certainly one of the best!

I spent an entire day relaxing in the delightful Clubhouse overlooking the pool and the private beach whilst enjoying a cold drink. If the view isn't enough to take your breath away the cool breezes that cruise through the Clubhouse provide a refuge from the sting of the afternoon heat. Wireless internet throughout the resort meant you still had a connection with the outside world however it was just so easy to forget all that and appreciate your surroundings, Frenchmans is forced relaxation!

Manager Ashleigh is a godsend. She organised every detail. From the warm arrival greeting to suggesting delicious restaurants to eat at, great beaches that are off the tourist track and organising chartered day trips of the surrounding islands. Her knowledge of Tortola and surrounding areas was like having your very own tourist information centre at your fingertips.

Frenchmans provided me with the much needed relaxing break and I wouldn't hesitate coming back again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PennyLane101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We arrived to find we had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom villa which was a great treat! The quality of the villas is superb - absolutely 5 star!. And I must mention the towels - they are so-o-o soft.
The fridge was very well stocked for our daily breakfast (eggs, bacon, beans - so hubby was in heaven) and there was a fabulous fruit platter for me! Also a bottle of wine in the fridge which I thought was a nice touch. Our friends had a yacht in the marina so we enjoyed the daily walk to see them which was about 15 mins. One evening they came for drinks and Ashleigh kindly went and got "nibbles" for us.
Michelle was so helpful before we arrived that I felt like she was an old friend by the time we got there.
We really loved the place and would highly recommend it.
We didn't eat in the restaurant, but would highly recommend Jolly Rogers and cafe/bar at Pussers - great food!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LondonFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

The Frenchmans Villa resort is simply the best place to stay on Tortola. The accommodations are outstanding (we stayed in Mango - 2 bedroom wtih our two teenagers) and the quality and thoughtfulness of the kitchen, bathrooms, bedrooms were outstanding. Ashleigh and Michelle provided us with anything and everything we wanted (from reliable Taxi's to pick us up from our BVI charter or recommendations to restaurants/things to do...they were both outstanding and most importantly knowledgable about Tortola). The property is phenomenal and the views are tremendous. We snorkled around the point and used the pool/tennis courts quite a bit. The service and location of this resort is 5-star all the way. We have rented villas/houses from Colorado to the Outer Banks and this is the nicest place we have ever stayed at...the website photos are exactly what you will find in this secluded yet family friendly resort. If your looking for a romantic villa or a family get together this is perfect. The villas are laid out so nicely (you really cannot see the other villas) and are very secluded. The Watermark was not open when we were there but the breakfeast served daily was good for us....its a short walk to the Marina as well.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maggie1g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
10.5 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
293 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.2 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
733 reviews
12.5 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
6.7 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchmans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchmans

Address: Frenchman's Cay, VG100, Tortola
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
Price Range: $403 - $724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchmans 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frenchmans is a hidden jewel located on Frenchman's Cay on the southwest coast of the island of Tortola. Set on a dramatic point, we capture the welcoming turquoise waters of the Caribbean and its trade winds. Each of our nine private villas embodies an exquisite elegance, set amidst flourishing gardens with our own private pool, beach and tennis court. Our palette of luxury services including massage, secretarial and concierge ensures your stay will be as care free and indulgent as possible. Private villas include fully-equipped kitchens, ample living spaces, air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and two or more balconies. Stunning panoramic views, soothing interior design and cool breezes set your body and soul at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Frenchmans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmans Hotel West End
Frenchmans Tortola/West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing