We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will go back one day!”
Review of Frenchmans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frenchmans
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We will go back one day!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I went to Frenchmans for our Honeymoon in December 2011 and we still cannot stop talking about it! We loved the privacy of having our own cottage (Passion Fruit) and and kitchen and basically our own beach and restaurant! We went at a slow time of year and the weather was wonderful and nothing was crowded. I think there were 2 other couples staying at Frenchmans while we were there! It was so nice! We woke up and ate amazing breakfasts at the restaurant at Frenchmans every day and then spent our days doing a wide variety of activities available at the resort or on the island - kayaking, swimming, exploring, driving, eating and relaxing! Frenchmans sent a cab to pick us up from the airport and had a rental car waiting for us at the hotel. They also were very helpful in arranging a couples' massage with the spa down the road. Everyone there was so nice and we loved visiting with the waiters and bartenders... as well as other guests! We tell our family and friends about it all the time and we are always saying that we will definitely go back one day. Hopefully soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPB8887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    36
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
79
240
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about Frenchman's! We just returned from our honeymoon at which Frenchman's was our first stop. Because it was off season we were the only guests and had the resort to ourselves! The whole resort can only accommodate 27 adults, so you already know you are going to get an intimate and exclusive experience. I'm sure if you are one of 27 or one of two, the entire staff there will make you feel like the only people in the world.

The staff was so friendly, helpful, and accommodating and the grounds are breathtaking. We took advantage of our honeymoon package which came with a lot of amenities, but to be honest, spending a week at the resort rotating from the pool, to the beach, to snorkeling, and to kayaking would have been enough as well!

The villas are beautiful and come fully stocked with everything you need for a relaxing and enjoyable stay (although who really needs iPod docks or TV when you are in such a paradise!). We spent many many hours sitting on the porch of our villa sipping cocktails and watching the sun rise and set, and looking at the beautiful water.

We also really enjoyed the location of Frenchman's, which is a more remote part of Tortola. Although you are on the West End and away from some of the businesses and restaurants of Road Town, you have access to most ferries from the West End Ferry Dock and can still check out neighboring islands without traveling far.

We plan to make Frenchman's a regular stop on our anniversaries in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mprock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were literally blown away by the location and level of service.
Chris, Nadia, Julisa and all the staff seemed to be two steps ahead of us guiding the way to the best honeymoon ever!!! We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TorontoJane47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We honeymooned at Frenchmans in June. We loved it- everything from the service to the location was perfect.
The cabanas on the beach were the perfect place to relax by the beach.
Can't wait to return for our anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamS7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is great snorkelling on both sides of the resort, especially from the jetty. We had dinner at the restaurant one night but it was not to the same high standard as the rest of the experience

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank avonbarksdale1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our family of four (two adults, two teens) stayed at Frenchmens for three nights after spending a few days on Virgin Gorda. The villa (Mango) was indeed gorgeous -- we joked that we'd give a prize to anyone who could find some feature that wasn't absolutely perfect -- with amazing bathrooms, super comfortable beds, funky lighting, lovely kitchen, and an awesome floor (marble). Event the doorknobs were nice (seriously!). We didn't love our view from the balcony (overlooking the parking lot, and somewhat obstructed by foliage), but it was nice to have two separate outside spaces (one off the living room, one off the lower bedroom). Breakfast was fairly good, the grounds and pool were pretty, and we really enjoyed all the outdoor lounging spaces. Unlike many guests, it seems, we actually took advantage of the snorkeling, kayaks, pool, and tennis, and we loved that we could walk down to the Harbour Market for supplies. All that said, it was QUITE expensive ($500+ a night for the off season), and a few things were not up to snuff. In our experience, the housekeeping was not what you'd expect for that price (or any price, actually). After the first night, our villa was "cleaned" but the trash was not emptied, the beach towels were not replaced, and the bed comforters were pulled up over the rumpled (unmade) sheets. We even found some pillows on the floor...as if the person got interrupted and never returned to finish. Also, we found the staff to be quite "cool"...as if they were all waiting for us to leave at any given time (breakfast, happy hour, etc). Upon leaving, we couldn't quite put our finger on why we felt slightly disappointed...but the feeling was there. Maybe just ready to return home? Anyway, gorgeous with very nice amenities if not warm and cozy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jastraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at Frenchman's Aug 3-10. It was a wonderful vacation. My husband and I were in Passion Fruit, our son stayed in Star Fruit and our friends were in Guava. Frenchmans is very much first class. And the people who work there are friendly, efficient, and service oriented. Thanks to Julisa for her sweetheart personality and all her help. Chris made dinner and car reservations for us. Lucilla was the best waitress ever. Karen, the bar tender, is lots of fun. Paul and Prince the chef and sous chef did a wonderful job. Continental breakfast comes with the room, but something special is a choice added on each day. Check out the tacos at Happy Hour. Wonderful. And we had lovely dinners there too. The view from the restaurant is great. Thanks to Brian (the maintenance man) for fixing a couple minor items. And thanks to all in housekeeping. We appreciated the extra bar soap.
This is a perfect setting, lovely small beach, and a great place to relax. It would be perfect for a honeymoon, and I felt like it was ours, even though we were celebrating my husband's 8 decade birthday. It's close to Sopers Hole for a few things at the market or a light dinner at Pussers, or just for coffee. I would definitely stay there again and recommend Frenchman's to our friends. Also, the most comfortable bed ever. Thanks much, Francie and John
P.S. Be prepared to drink bottled water and take serious stairs. Then just relax and enjoy!

Room Tip: Passion Fruit and Star Fruit, close to path to restaurant, and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
10.5 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
397 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
723 reviews
5.3 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchmans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchmans

Property: Frenchmans
Address: Frenchman's Cay, VG100, Tortola
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchmans 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frenchmans is a hidden jewel located on Frenchman's Cay on the southwest coast of the island of Tortola. Set on a dramatic point, we capture the welcoming turquoise waters of the Caribbean and its trade winds. Each of our nine private villas embodies an exquisite elegance, set amidst flourishing gardens with our own private pool, beach and tennis court. Our palette of luxury services including massage, secretarial and concierge ensures your stay will be as care free and indulgent as possible. Private villas include fully-equipped kitchens, ample living spaces, air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and two or more balconies. Stunning panoramic views, soothing interior design and cool breezes set your body and soul at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Frenchmans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmans Hotel West End
Frenchmans Tortola/West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing