We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place, stunning views!”
Review of Frenchmans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frenchmans
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful place, stunning views!”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed 7 nights at Frenchmans late Oct. of last year. This place is amazing! There is beauty everywhere you look. From beautiful plants to lovely beaches, I felt happy. We stayed in the Passion Fruit Cottage. It had the most stunning views from the livingroom and especially the balcony. It was nice to relax on the balcony at night after a long day of exploring. The sounds of the ocean and rocking in the egg chair felt great. Be sure to rent a vehicle to explore the island. The roads are very hilly on some parts of the island giving you stunning views and photo ops. Just becareful of other cars, the roads are sometimes very narrow. One day we drove into Road Town and took a 10am ferry over to The Baths on Virgan Gorda. This is a must-see place! We took the last ferry back at 6pm. My husband and I had the entire Baths to ourselves for the last hour. It was spectacular! On another day, we had Tortola Charters take us over to Jost Van Dyke and beautiful White Bay Beach. You can get food and drinks at Soggy Dollar Bar. The snorkeling was the best! I swam through what seemed like millions of little feeder fish, saw a lovely sting ray, huge carp, along with other tropical fish.
We enjoyed our stay at Frenchmans. They were only serving breakfast during our stay. Their breakfast was honestly the best food we had on the island. We ate at other places on the island and the food is ok, nothing special. And it's overpriced. It was nice to cook for ourselves sometimes. The kitchen was designed beautifully. There are grocery stores nearby to stock up. Whatever you do, don't forget to pack your toothbrush (like I did). Or you'll be paying $8.50 for one. Everything is pricey on this island.
All in all we had a great trip. Michelle and Chris were very accomodating and very nice. The only thing we didn't like was the man who kept staring at my husband and I one day while we swam in the beach area. It made us uncomfortable and unwelcome. I believe he was in charge of construction. Other than that, we really enjoyed staying at Frenchmans!

Room Tip: For couples: Ask for the Passion Fruit Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susannabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    36
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
78
236
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

My wife and two girls just returned from Frenchmans and had a wonderful time. From the moment we booked our stay the service was outstanding. Via e-mails they provided us with good information and booked our rental car for us which was waiting for us at the resort the morning after we arrived. At their recommendation we flew in from Virginia to St. Thomas and saved about $250 per ticket. Chris from the resort was waiting for us to take us to the resort from the ferry. The resort itself is beautiful and well-maintained. The pictures on their website are accurate. The included "continental" breakfast is really a delicious full breakfast and the dinner we had at the resort was outstanding. The pool and beach are a little small but fine for hanging out. Frenchmans is an exceptional resort and probably provided the best and most personal service of anywhere I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MidloTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Frenchmans for one week on our honeymoon and loved it!

The villa that we stayed in (passion fruit) was comfortable and decorated beautifully. We honestly could not stop taking about how impressed we were with the decor, furniture, and even the bath products. The outdoor patio had a stunning view of the ocean. The only complaint we would have is that the mosquitos here (and on the whole island for that matter) were relentless. The hotel does provide insect repellent, though. We even used it going to breakfast in the morning.

The hotel property is very well kept and truly beautiful. The restaurant had the BEST food. The food was creative and delicious, the best we had on the island (and we tried a lot). There is a happy hour with great mojitos and probably the greatest fish tacos we have ever tasted (and we live in san diego). The entire staff was wonderful as well.

We had a rental car on the island, so we were able to see many of the other hotels. We did not see any that were even close to beating out Frenchmans. So glad we stayed here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank srmcnabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

This place is amazing, very secluded and away from town so you feel like you are truly away from it all. The grounds are gorgeous, well maintained and although it is a hike to your villa, up and down several stairs to swim, eat or beach, we did ok with a trip or two per day.

Breakfast is very nice with a hot entree every day, juice, coffee or tea included in the room price. Happy hour is perfect and the Dinner was exceptionally good. Restaurant is closed on Sunday night and Monday for dinner which is when we were there but we did dine Saturday night and Sunday brunch (especially very good).

The villas are so very nicely decorated and the views are divine. I loved all the had carved wood and rope furniture however it was not exceptionally comfortable. Local artwork on the walls and the bathroom was gorgeous. Bed was fantastic and thank God for the a/c in the upstairs bedroom. We really wished there was an a/c option for downstairs but the open windows and doors brought a nice warm breeze all day and night.

Service was fantastic with Karen and Ursula taking fine care of us and the Chef was really talented. Front desk staff was so helpful with everything from the time we made reservations and throughout our stay.

The seclusion is nice but makes it difficult to get to restaurants and shopping without a rental car. Taxis are expensive on the island so the best thing to do is to rent a jeep and drive on the wrong side of the road while you are there. Some roads go nearly straight up and down on this hilly island so it will be a challenge but it is the best way to get around.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are perfect here, you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We just stayed here for a week. We found the place online and based on reviews and pictures, we thought we were going to a cottage on the beach. Frenchmans is expensive and the photos on the website lead you to believe that they have a long, white-sand beach. However, there is almost no beach at all, only a tiny, tiny pond created by breakwater boulders which was a great disappointment. All of the cottages actually are a walk up the hill from the tiny pond and are not on the beach. On the positive side, the accommodations were roomy, clean, airy and with great views of the surrounding ocean, although we were without air conditioning for two+ days. Happy hour was fun with cheap tacos and mojitos. We would not stay there again--just too expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank arkansasdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchmans, General Manager at Frenchmans, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
At Frenchmans we take all reviews seriously, our aim is to please all of our guests. This one however, is a difficult posting to respond to. This review has left all the staff here hurt and confused. I am sorry that you were disappointed with our location and felt that we are over priced.
Firstly, It is not our intention to mislead anyone as to the situation of our property. We are exceptionally proud of our location. It is beautiful. We clearly map out the grounds on the hotel website and offer both aerial and ground photographs of the layout and beach. Where our beach is small in comparison to some of the world famous beaches close by, it is still a favourite for many tourists and residents and a sought after locale for weddings. The photos are true and do a good job of fairly representing the property. As it is part of the resort, the privacy of having this beach shared amongst nine villas makes it a luxury that few hotels can offer.
Further, our pricing is competitive with similar properties in the BVI. We offer good value given our location and facilities... three reviews previous to yours is labelled "Tranquillity at its best! Supreme value!" Where as the BVI is in general more expensive than "Sandal's" type properties, it is a much different experience here.
Somehow, however you booked your stay with us expecting a very different holiday. We didn't live up to your expectations and I am truly sorry for this. Please contact me directly - hartscott@hotmail.com in hope that I can rectify the situation.

Scott Hart
General Manager
Frenchmans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here, June 2011. We stayed in Star Fruit. The service was exceptional from the moment we inquired about accommodations until the end of our trip. Michelle, Chris and Nadia were immediately responsive to all our (many) questions and continued to be helpful throughout our stay. They picked us up from the West End ferry dock, had our car waiting for us on arrival, gave recommendations of beaches, restaurants, etc. and were kind in the process. The car was clean and new and they allowed us to leave it at the ferry dock when we left the island for our final departure.

The villa was very clean, soft towels, new sheets, bath towels, and beach towels were brought in each day and the villa was swept and straightened. There is air conditioning in the bedroom but it did a poor job of cooling the entire villa. This isn't too much of a problem if you're out of the house most of the time. The grounds are quiet at night and we were not bothered by any other guests.

The restaurant at the clubhouse was perfect. The "continental breakfast" was anything but. The chef had different options every morning and it was all amazing. Breakfast burritos, homemade bacon, Island french toast, pancakes, etc, all done with exceptional taste. There was also coffee and a small juice included.

We have nothing but positive things to say about our time at Frenchmans. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa32490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Second vacation in Tortola and we are so happy that we found this boutique hotel - almost like having your own villa- early December is still off season - so it was like we had the resort to ourselves - this is the type of vacation we enjoy - you can really relax. As stated before the rooms were great - nicely appointed - and the restaurant just opened before we arrived so enjoyed daily breakfast and had a couple of dinners - which were all great . Paul and his staff did everything to ensure you enjoyed your dining experience as did the hotel staff Michelle and Chris who were always willing to accomodate your requests.
Yes the private beach/pool are small but with few other guests we almost always had the place to ourselves when we chose to spend the day at Frechmans.
You do need a car to get around the island to get a true feel of Tortola - it is not as developed as other Carribean Islands - which is just the way we like it - but you know that is going to change - but Frenchmans will continue to provide a relaxing getaway - we hope to make a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ranchodelray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
1.2 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.0 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
12.5 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
10.0 mi away
Guana Island
Guana Island
#1 of 1 in Guana Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchmans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchmans

Property: Frenchmans
Address: Frenchman's Cay, VG100, Tortola
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchmans 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frenchmans is a hidden jewel located on Frenchman's Cay on the southwest coast of the island of Tortola. Set on a dramatic point, we capture the welcoming turquoise waters of the Caribbean and its trade winds. Each of our nine private villas embodies an exquisite elegance, set amidst flourishing gardens with our own private pool, beach and tennis court. Our palette of luxury services including massage, secretarial and concierge ensures your stay will be as care free and indulgent as possible. Private villas include fully-equipped kitchens, ample living spaces, air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and two or more balconies. Stunning panoramic views, soothing interior design and cool breezes set your body and soul at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Frenchmans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmans Hotel West End
Frenchmans Tortola/West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing