We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise in Tortola”
other travelers have booked this property
Living room balcony on the first floor, overlooking the surf.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room balcony on the first floor, overlooking the surf.
beautiful living room/kitchen with indoor outdoor bar and island. Purpose built kitchen with cabinets the color o the ocean!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Living room balcony on the first floor, overlooking the surf.
beautiful living room/kitchen with indoor outdoor bar and island.
Purpose built kitchen with cabinets the color o the ocean!
Amazing views from the living room.
coffee or cocktails on the living room balcony looking out to sea
sit either side of the indoor/outdoor bar to look out to see our chat with the chef!
The master bed with doors opening out onto the bedrooms balcony and amazing views
master bath with stone shower and hand crafted tile and wash basin, made in BVI!
relax on the bedroom level balcony
Bedroom 2 with twin beds.  These can also be put together with a 'topper' to make a king.
The vanity area of bathroom 2, leading to the outdoor stone shower.
double showers in the outdoor shower.
You can park on either level, near the bedrooms or up the private driveway to the living room level
The house from the front.  Living area upstairs, bedrooms downstairs, open air shower downstairs lef
Enjoy grilling whilst taking in the view.  Dine at the outdoor picnic table
grill and picnic table are near another covered porch
aerial shot of the property, the ocean is right out front.
My personal favorite photo- absolute peace and tranquility, just the sounds of  birds and the waves
Rustic treehouse on the property with two beds!
The house is completely surrounded with rain forest type foliage - it's the red dot left of centre!
Surfside Gardens -  tucked into the hillside behind the third peninsula from the right
The house from the ocean illustrating the level of privacy an seclusion
Rogues Bay is also know as Lava Flow.  Perfection is paradise
Rogues Bay, a five minute drive on the estate road – imagine having an idyllic beach all to yourself
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ErinSheff...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise in Tortola”
Reviewed November 26, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Surfside Gardens Oct 29 - Nov 4 for our anniversary. Let me start by saying the property and the house are gorgeous and well-maintained. The views from the property are picturesque and absolutely breathtaking. As beautiful as the pictures on the website are, they don't do the property justice! As noted before, this house is an open-air concept without AC, but has plenty of fans if needed. The house has a fully equipped kitchen with all of the appliances, pots, pans and utensils you could need. The bathrooms are lovely and complete with plenty of towels. As beautiful as the house and surroundings are, what truly made our stay unforgettable was the hospitality of the owners. Just as other travelers have written, Heather was amazing from the day we first inquired about the property throughout the duration of our stay. She treated us like family! She guided us with helpful information every step of the way - from our ferry travel, to our rental car, our excursions and restaurant choices, and so much more. Her son guided us from the ferry dock to the house and she even had groceries waiting for us at the house on the evening of our arrival! There are plenty of maps and a folder at the house provided by the owners with information on the island and excursions - which we found extremely helpful. This truly is a special place and we would recommend it to any who are considering visiting the area. Thank you Heather for an unforgettable anniversary week!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2016
Thank you Erin for your lovely review. We are very happy to know that you had such a good time and enjoyed the house and the island. It's also rally good to know you found the recommendations and advice helpful,. We hope to welcome you back, again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen B
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If AC is important, wouldn't consider - Need 4 Wheel drive”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is a fabulous house. They have everything you would need to cook for yourself. the place is absolutely lovely with awesome views. It is a two bedroom, two bath home with a beautiful kitchen and living room and two large out door decks with fabulous view of ocean, other islands, and the rain forest.
It was built as an open-air concept, which actually makes this home more lovely and unique. However, we happened to be there when it was exceptionally rainy, which made it very humid with lots of mosquitoes. We were not aware there was no AC until we got there. Unfortunately this lovely home with view was not used much by us, because we had to find AC and get away from the bugs. The last day there was a sea breeze ( which I assume is that way most of the time) and was such a lovely day, we just hung out at the house. I must say, they do have lots of fans and lots of mosquito fighting coils, sprays and such, just thought you may want to know. I believe booking later in the season, this house would have been superb. All the rain they have had lately, I believe made it more humid. Sad for us. the place is great and so is the owner Heather! Because her place is difficult to find on the island, she personally came to us so we could follow her with our rental car. You do need to have a rental car if staying here, and preferably 4 wd

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the lay out
Liked least: No Air conditioning
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. November and May are rainy months in Tortola so the island does tend to be somewhat humid at this time. We made a conscious decision to make the home AC free, something that shows in the listing, because it was built as an indoor/outdoor house with doors and windows that open up to nature. The cost of running AC here is huge so not having it allows us to rent the whole 2 bedroom house to 4 oe even 6 guests at about the same rate per night or less than a standard hotel room here for 2.
For most of the year there are amazing sea breezes at the house, so much so that we have had requests for extra blankets!
Thanks again for your kind words about the house, we are very happy you enjoyed your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephandR...
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing, modern, with fabulous hosts!”
Reviewed January 9, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We are experienced Caribbean Island vacationers, and this was by far the best accommodations we have rented! The Chapman's know the island, and will bend over backward to be sure that you get the best of your BVI stay. From the moment you book your stay in their beautiful home, they are there to help you prepare your visit to Tortola. They assisted us with car rental, taxi transport, ferry, and they even dropped by Christmas Day to deliver an item they realized we may run low on! Before you arrive they send you information concerning restaurants and fun things to do so that you can plan in advance should you choose. Heather met our family at the ferry and guided us to the house. I rode with her in her car, and along the way she pointed out landmarks and gave us driving tips. Once at the house, she thoroughly explained where everything was situated.
The house truly is beautiful. You will be just as enchanted in person, as you were while viewing the photos on-line. The view was incredible. One of our favorite things to do was to have coffee on the second floor balcony as the sun rose. The gardens are breathtaking. It doesn't matter which window you are looking out, you will always see amazing color. It is quiet. We were there for 8 days and never saw or heard another person on the beach (which is a short 3 minute walk down a trail). Due to its proximity to the water, you will need mosquito repellent if you tend to be bitten. We wore the bracelets, and sprayed with a natural spray containing citronella and lemon. We traveled with our children ages 11,12,14, and 15. They also enjoyed the property. It is a wonder to explore! The kitchen has everything you need to prepare a meal. The bathrooms are large, clean, and there are plenty of towels!
The location of the house is ideal. Far enough away from others to allow privacy, yet close enough to town to run for items should you need anything. If you are a stargazer you will enjoy the night sky. There is no light pollution to interfere with your view as you gaze out over the bay.
Don't hesitate to book Surfside Gardens!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to give us soba fabulous review. We are more than happy that you enjoyed the house so much and also that you appreciated the tips we offered that helped you plan things to do whilst you were here. We are very grateful that you left the house so clean and tidy, it was a huge help to us because we had same day arrivals after you left. We really hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie C
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing location with breathtaking views.”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Mark and Heather were great hosts, Heather picked us up from the Ferry and made sure we were settled. The property itself is simply stunning, the views from the balcony were my personal favourite along with the tree house. Would definitely recommend and look forward to returning in future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2017
Thanks for your lovely review Eddie, glad you loved the tree house. It's pretty rustic but guests have been known to sleep out there in preference to being in the house! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurenJou...
Kensington, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Vacation”
Reviewed March 31, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Spectacular house with amazing hosts! Our vacation exceeded all expectations. As others have noted, owners Heather and Mark go above and beyond to ensure a great stay: Heather met us at the Road Town ferry dock and guided us to the house (with a stop to pick up our rental car - a 4 wheel drive is a must). She pointed out areas of interest and gave a history of the island along the way while calling the West End ferry dock to help locate two missing bags. Bags were located and Mark went to fetch them for us. I mean, really, where else can you get that kind of service. From the moment you begin communication, it's like you're dealing with the best of friends or family.

The House! The pictures are beautiful, but reality is breathtaking. The attention to detail (wrought iron door handles, indigenous stone, folding wood/glass doors and windows, a pot filler over the stove, pantry staples, wine in the wine rack and beer in the fridge!) makes it hard to believe this house was built as a rental property. Magnificent views abound! We stayed comfortably with 3 kids, ages 15, 12 and 8. Fall asleep with the sound of the surf and wake up to beautiful sunrises. Take a shower or bath in the OUTDOOR shower. Gorgeous gardens surround the home. There is a tree house on the property. So fun! Had a great time exploring the pebble beach and the ruins. While we did lots of exploring on the island, we would have been just as content hanging at the house. Absolute bliss! Our only complaint is we had to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spectacular Views and Amazing House
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely pefect place to stay”
Reviewed January 10, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
5
people found this review helpful

As a frequenter of Tortola I decided to stay at Surfside Gardens because of its proximate location to Road Town and some of my favorite beaches including Trunk Bay and Josiahas Bay. But the location was not the defining feature of this villa. When I walked in I immediately felt at home and comfortable, the space was so well constructed and everything had a purpose that the place was the epitome of efficiency. The black appliances contrasted perfectly with the dark teal kitchen, all of which had a modern appeal, and cooking became a fun past time because it was such a nice space to move around in and had everything a kitchen possibly needs! We spent a lot of time on the balcony, overlooking islands to the north enjoying the sound of the waves and the breeze in the hot air. The view was absolutely picturesque, one of the nicest I have seen in Tortola and having it right outside made the experience surreal. That was another major plus of the home, the French doors in every room and wide windows brought the outdoors inside. The set of doors in the bedrooms really creating a relaxing experience, and the grand closet space decreased any clutter so we could really enjoy the space. The bathrooms connected to each bedroom are remarkable in their own ways. There is an outdoor spa bathroom which is amazing in the evening as the solar lights in the garden sprinkle the ground with lights while the sky is glittered with stars. The bathroom connected to the master bedroom is well designed and adds to the appeal of the villa. The gardens surround the house and add to the colorful ambiance and natural appeal of the home. One night we used the barbeque which was outfitted with all the necessities and had a great meal under the stars. Overall I was surprised by the perfection of the design of this villa. Nothing is missing and if you do find yourself in need the family that owns the villa are just a phone call away. The Chapmans were incredibly kind and accommodating the entire time so I never felt stranded. Overall it was a great experience staying there, and I would highly recommend it to everyone, whether it is just a couple or a family with children. It made my trip to Tortola incredibly memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was equipped with all necessary appliances so can really enjoy spending your time enjoying the view and location
Liked least: Had a bit of trouble figuring out how to open and secure the doors and windows but the family in charge was kind enough to show me when I got there and took care of any questions I had
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing