We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for drinks and food”
Review of The Watering Hole

The Watering Hole
Ranked #12 of 36 Restaurants in Road Town
Cuisines: Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for drinks and food”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The pizza on Friday night and the hamburgers on Thursday night are excellent. Large selection of wine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montauk, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad service bad location”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Located on the road where dust is blowing in your face is not my ideal image of caribbean. It seemed like the place to be on a friday night so i checked it out anyway. When i walked in there was nobody else in there but the female bartender she looked like a local but i think she was from Guyana. Anyways i was not even greeted she just kept staring at the computer screen. It was like an inconvenience to her for me even being there. I didn't even bother to order anything i just walked straight out. I will not be returning to this establishment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blahbooblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme M, Owner at The Watering Hole, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Apologies that you had a bad experience at TWH,

The dust is always a problem and we try our best to wipe the tables. Unfortunately I am not allowed to erect a fence that will block the road dust. You could instead sit inside in the air-conditioned dust free interior. I will certainly address the lack of attention with our wait-staff. Please note at times the actual bar staff are away from the counter and other divisional staff make use of the computer. It might have been one of them logging into the network. That said even if with the bar tender absent the other staff member at the PC should have acknowledged your presence. Please try us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Happy Hour Scene”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Watering Hole has to be one of my favourite happy hour venues, the helpful staff and great value wine are probably the two contributing factors. Friday night sees the addition of a great pizza menu too, perfectly cooked in their wood-fired pizza oven, thin and crispy with inventive toppings - definitely not to be missed, the 'Piggly Wiggly' is a personal favourite.
Pick your wine from the selection lining the walls and take to the bar - pay a small corkage fee and drink in-house.
Be aware that because it is so popular - especially on a Friday, it can get fairly crowded, occasionally be difficult to find a seat and can get a little warm in the garden.
Also worth mentioning that during the day 'The Grateful Belly' does excellent sandwiches and salads. I can highly recommend the 'Got Beef' sandwich and the 'Chickabbean' salad.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBarefootAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road Town, Tortola
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“good bar scene”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Actually, giving The Watering Hole such a title isn't accurate. It has become one of the places that people really like to frequent, particularly in the evenings.

Conveniently situated, albeit noisily at the onset of happy hour, as it is separated from the smoke and fumes of a pretty busy rod by nothing more than an oleander hedge, TWH is BUSY. I've enjoyed lunch, appetisers and their by now renowned Friday evening pizzas. The food is good. It isn't cheap, but the philosophy seems quality over quantity, which is fine by me.

Most of what is imbibed at TWH is wine .... walk into what was once primarily a wine shop, chose a bottle from the racks, present it at the bar, pay, collect glasses and find a spot to sit. This is without doubt the best value wine in he BVI, as they charge standard wine-shop prices and add a "corkage" fee for providing seats and glasses.

If you want to find a place to hang out with hip locals, TWH is a sot you won't want to miss. Be aware, though, that it isn't a restaurant .... it is a (self-serve) wine bar that offers food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuff-ltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_over
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“PIZZA!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Have the Pizza on the Friday. The base is perfectly crispy and the toppings are amayzing. Then go on the Thursday for the burgers. Unless you're from a specific part of the planet, I guarantee you won't recognise the back-flavour of the seasoning (and I dont know what it is), but its just fabulous, bringing out the flavour of the meat, without being overpowering... just go. You know you want to.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank City_Watch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Watering Hole also viewed

 

Been to The Watering Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing