We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Perfect Trip”
Reviewed July 26, 2005

My boyfriend and I just returned from a magnificent week at Fort Recovery. The trip was everything we hoped for and then some. I have to admit when we first arrived, I was a little disappointed by the beach and the seagrass. But I have to tell you we snorkeled everyday and hit several of the hotspots - The Baths, The Caves, The Indians, Smugglers Cove, etc, and we found that we loved the snorkeling right in front of the hotel the most because we could do it all we wanted and at our own pace. I was use to "white sandy beaches", but found the snorkeling in and around the seagrass to be a whole new experience. You have to look harder, but there is lots to see in the seagrass (which is half the fun of snorkeling), and the points to the left of the resort are filled with great coral and colorful fish of all kinds. Beachcombing is great at Fort Recovery and we brought home some beautiful shells and about fifteen sand dollars we found snorkeling right in front of our villa. We ate at many wonderful places on the island, but we think we enjoyed the meals at Fort Recovery served by Petro to be the best. We made good friends with our pals from Jersey and Marsha and Tom from California, and our little friend from DC. Pamelah was helpful, Gizzelle gave a great message and pedi, and Jerome was a great captain. We would 100% recommend this place to anyone looking for the perfect mix of adventure and relaxation!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    105
    33
    35
    16
See reviews for
94
213
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 14, 2005

Good Points:
-good amount of interior space
-just a few steps from a chair on the beach
-good location to go into Road Town, hit Soper's Hole, or hit beaches on the Atlantic side
-little or no noise from road or other units

Bad Points:
- slight musty smell in both units
- beach is only sandy until waist high, then sea weed, so it is OK to cool off, but not worth spending and significant time on this small beach
-shampoo and Kleenex not provided

I'd consider staying here again, but it's not a lock.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 12, 2005

My husband and I just got back from our honeymoon at Fort Recovery. It was an experience we will never forget, and are looking foward to returning as soon as possible.

Upon arrival we recieved a warm welcome and tour of the premises. We stayed in a villa, what felt like a secret little palace, in the most beautiful and private area of Tortola. Pamela, the resort concierge, was thorough and accomodating. She helped us find our rental jeep, and drew maps for us to all the great coves and beaches. Without her help with directions and advise on great restaurants, we would have never known about most of the wonderful secrets that the beautiful island has to offer. She even led us in a class of sunset yoga on the pier, (a breathtaking setting and relaxing experience). She is a great friend whom we look foward to seeing again.

One our favorite parts was the in-room dining experience offered by Fort Recovery. After a long day on the beach, exploring the market or snorkeling we were so excited not to have to get ready to go out to dinner. The service was excellent, promt and cheerful. The food was delicious and not to mention a great deal.

We would endorse this spot to anyone looking for a place to escape the chaos of life and take a deep breath of relaxation.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 10, 2005

Where to start.... First I have to say that my girl, Drea, and I had an awesome time there on Tortola, but to say the least, Fort Recovery was a very pleasent experience. We only had one night there (becasue I was scheduled for a work assignment the next morning on Virgin Gorda), but I can tell you this: Pamelah will tell you all about the wonderful sites and adventures that await you. Regardless of your enjoyment preferences, she will provide you with just the right information for you and your loved ones.

My girlfriend was treated with massage by the pro Elizabeth, and a mani and pedicure while I was just enjoying the private beach front and solitude of the dock streaching out into the bay. Flanked to the right by a spectular vew of four mountains arising from the sea and fading into the evening sunset, it's a wonderful place to 'just be' and the setting for the yoga classes taught by Pamelah.

The following day, we where taken to sites offering a couple of the best snorkleing the BVI has to offer... and Willie T's... well, ya just need to go! 8^)

While our stay was short, the memories that we have will last becasue of the professionalism of the staff there at Fort Recovery and the information we reveived, which was used for the rest our time there on Tortola. We'll be returning shortly, and we gotta tell ya, we know where we'll be staying when we return.

Be well and Happy Travels,
David & Drea

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2005

After 6 blissful days at Caneel Bay, my new husband (we were on our Honeymoon) and I were ready for a change of scenery and pace. We spent the week of June 11th at Fort Recovery and took advantage or their week long package. I contacted Pamelah while still on St. John to confirm our arrival, and she arranged to have our rental car meet us at the West End Ferry. We were met at the Ferry and quickly made our way to Fort Recovery.

Pamelah greeted us, and since we were early, took us on a tour of the grounds, which were not as spacious as Caneel, but were lovely and very well maintained. She recommend that we have dinner delivered to our room that evening, and pointed us in the direction of a gourmet grocery store. We went and bought some supplies, and when we returned our room was ready. We upgraded to the Penthouse Villa. Our room was right on the beach, and we had a porch where we spent ever evening watching the sailboat in the Francis Drake Sound. The room was nicely furnished and well equiped. It would have been nice to have a larger shower, but that's the most negative feedback I had on the room. We also felt bad for our neighbors below whenever we moved our wrought iron chair - very noisy.

The meals delivered to our room were wonderful. After all the "fou fou" (my husband's term for fancy or gourmet) meals on St. John, these meals were a little more simple, but tasted great. And it was nice to just louge around a bit! The service was so nice - Perfet (not sure of spelling, sorry for any mistakes!) was perfect. The kitchen was well equiped and we made several very nice meals. The continental breakfast was great!

We also enjoyed the snokeling trip with Jerome. He is a very nice man! He also arranged a power boat day rental and took my husband fishing. If you are comfortable with boating, I would highly recommend this. We went all the way to Necker Island and as far south as Peter Island. We snorkeled the baths, visited Little Dix, Saba Rock, Prickly Pear Island, snorkled/sunbathed on a deserted beach (perfect for honeymooners!) - it was by far the high point of our trip!

We would definately visit Fort Recovery again! Great place, people and value! Excellent combination!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank azdiva21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 30, 2005

Although we stayed at Fort Recovery over a year ago, I found these reviews as we look to return.

Fort Recovery is exactly what we looked for from both the Villas and Tortola - Peace and Solitude. We did not want "touristy" or we would not have chosen Tortola to begin with. We were not looking for TV and the Internet, so maybe that's why we loved it so much.

We travelled to Cane Garden Bay and Long Bay and all of the other places mentioned, and when they got crowded (which they did) we returned to the quietness of Fort Recovery to relax. If you want crowds, go to the other places, if not... We do agree with others, however, that a rental car is a must.

We were very happy with Pamelah and Anita and spent every morning over breakfast talking about where to go each day. They know the island and were able to point us to what we wanted or needed.

All in all, I think those that are not happy with Fort Recovery were looking for something else. It is about no crowds, peace and solitude and getting away. If that's what you want, you can't get much better.

We are not only planning on returning to Fort Recovery, but also in travelling to the new property on Bequia.

  • Stayed January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2005

My husband and I took our first trip away from our three children at Fort Recovery on the incredibly romantic island of Tortola for the long Memorial Day weekend. It was like a second honeymoon for us. The atmosphere was so relaxing that rather than taking us a whole week to wind down, we instantly felt like we'd been transported into paradise. Our penthouse villa, with a postcard view of the Caribbean was spotless, spacious and simply divine. The assistance we received from Pamelah was warm, generous with advice, loving and truly unique. Anita also gave us so much information about the island, where to go, which restaurants to frequent, all the sights to see that we felt right away as if we were a part of the family. If you want a place to visit that is not commerical, not expensive, but a completely stress-free break from your life, I would endorse Fort Recovery for sure!

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
0.9 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
402 reviews
1.2 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
382 reviews
9.4 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
726 reviews
11.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
4.3 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel

Property: Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Address: Towers | West End, Road Town VG1110, Tortola
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Road Town
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel is a small, unique hotel located on Tortola, British Virgin Islands and is family owned & operated since 1969. Chosen by Discovery's Travel Channel, Fort Recovery was the only Hotel Selected on Tortola for their exclusive Caribbean showcase. They were also chosen as the Captain's Guide Magazine's "Best Resort," by the Reader's of the Captain's Guide Magazine. All suites are directly on the beach with Cable TV, A/C, free WI-FI, housekeeping, private balcony/patio/deck, living room, kitchen, master bedroom, full bathroom and more. Views are unmatched and completely unobstructed, right on the calm, Caribbean side of Tortola. On site is a full service Spa with professionally trained staff. There is an in-house, private restaurant also serving breakfast and dinner daily. 24/7 on-site management and knowledgeable front desk staff are always there at your service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa Hotel Road Town
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa And Suites Hotel
Fort Recovery Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Fort Recovery Beachfront
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing