We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop over in Tortola” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stop over in Tortola”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at Fort Recovery prior to heading out on a week of cruising. It was the perfect way to start our vacation. The staff was incredibly welcoming and rooms were large and comfortable. They cooked up a terrific meal for our large party. The location was great away from the bustle of Road Town, but easy access. And what a view. The stay was made even better by a yoga class on the docks before we headed to the Marina. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walhonding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    103
    32
    35
    16
See reviews for
89
203
27
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here as a group of 10 for 2 days before a boat charter. We were in a 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom villa (5 couples). The transfer from the airport went smooth, we had arranged it through the hotel. The villas were lovely, with large and comfy sitting areas that we didn't use at all since we were always out on the deck to listen to the waves! The 3 bedroom had a large deck with a table, 2 sofas, and 3 steps to the sea. The 2 bedroom was set back maybe 10 steps from the sea, with a patio. We arrived in 2 groups, so 6 of us had a lovely dinner outside at the restaurant, and they prepared dinners for the other 4 and delivered them to their villa since they were arriving after the restaurant would be closed. Very nice! There is a mini mart (liquor and snacks) that we walked to down the road to have some things in the room. The next day some of us walked to Soper's Hole for lunch, some took a taxi, which returned at our pre-arranged time to return us.
While it could have been confusing with our 2 groups, checkout was smooth, and all transfers arranged by the staff went just fine. Yes, the grounds are rustic, with gravel paths through the trees, but the landscaping was beautifully well kept, and the villas were immaculate.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there in may last year, it was a nice apartment, can accommodate like 6 people, my room was just by the see, it felt pretty relax and quiet. Breakfast was poor, friendly staff, pretty far from town, rented a suv and was all day out of the property. I recommend the Place.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Oneluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I travel a lot. One indicator to us about a place is the people and how you are treated when you arrive. This place is tops! Rita and her crew could not have been nicer or more helpful under any circumstances. We had a luggage issue which she and her staff took upon themselves to assist us in getting it resolved.

The entire property is spotless and the housekeeping first rate. Also free WiFi! We had breakfast at the restaurant and even though they had a 'menu' for that morning she made exactly what we asked. The food was served hot and everything was very fresh. We are staying in a ground floor villa right on the beach. Amazing view, very quiet and peaceful. The villa has a full kitchen, living room, and bedroom. It should be noted that the bedroom is the only part of the villa with air conditioning. The AC issue may be this villa only, I would choose to not do a lot of cooking for this reason.

We are staying here for two days then departing on a charter. This is our first experience staying at a resort on the BVI's. I have nothing to compare this too. I would like to note that coming from the US this property is a bit rustic and one should be prepared for that. My comment is in no way meant to be critical, just setting expectations. Also Tortola is a large island. We rented a car and are glad we did.

If you really want a lovely spot to check out for a few days this is the place!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 292boatguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

I spent 9 terrific days at Fort Recovery in their luxurious Big House Villa with friends and family. Not only were the accommodations beautiful and comfortable, but we had a delicious dinner served to us in our villa with full waiter service upon our first night's arrival. Our stay included a fun filled afternoon boat trip complete with snorkeling and lunch that departed from the beautiful dock right outside of our private deck. We also enjoyed the warm water beach a few steps from our villa. The staff was incredibly friendly and polite. Our stay on the island included such varied activities as boating, tennis, bowling, movies, restaurants, paddle boarding, and of course the beaches. My personal favorite beach is named Smuggler's Cove. It's somewhat off the beaten path with bucolic calm waters and a terrific view of Jost Van Dyke just across the way.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms are preferable as they offer more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubinpa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful five day stay. Staff, food and accommodations were awesome. Second time there hope to go again! Enjoyed trip to St. John's for lunch and tour. Would recommend a wonderful place to visit for R & R.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank islandmamadublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We did a book-end stay at Fort Recovery between our 7 day sailing trip and was very satisfied. The rooms are wonderful - great size, clean and a beautiful deck. Private beach was great. Staff extremely friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was wonderful. Great location between both Road Town and West End. Would definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
0.9 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.3 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.1 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#6 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
11.3 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
22.4 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel

Property: Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Address: Towers | West End, Road Town VG1110, Tortola
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Road Town
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel is a small, unique hotel located on Tortola, British Virgin Islands and is family owned & operated since 1969. Chosen by Discovery's Travel Channel, Fort Recovery was the only Hotel Selected on Tortola for their exclusive Caribbean showcase. They were also chosen as the Captain's Guide Magazine's "Best Resort," by the Reader's of the Captain's Guide Magazine. All suites are directly on the beach with Cable TV, A/C, free WI-FI, housekeeping, private balcony/patio/deck, living room, kitchen, master bedroom, full bathroom and more. Views are unmatched and completely unobstructed, right on the calm, Caribbean side of Tortola. On site is a full service Spa with professionally trained staff. There is an in-house, private restaurant also serving breakfast and dinner daily. 24/7 on-site management and knowledgeable front desk staff are always there at your service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, West Indies, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa Hotel Road Town
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa And Suites Hotel
Fort Recovery Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Fort Recovery Beachfront
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing