We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Am I missing something?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cheaspeake city
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Am I missing something?”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were told "don't tell TripAdvisor". We were island hopping trying different hotels and planning future trips. We have been all over the virgin islands and to Tortola before and had a nice time. Room we reserved wasn't available and we weren't told in advance. Rooms are clean, nice and have a view. However, they missed the mark, windows and doors whistled as the wind blew thru. the air conditioner was very dated and loud. The palm trees raked across the metal roof all night keeping us awake. Tv was tiny and could not be watched from bed, also remotes weren't programmed and most of the channels weren't available. Nothing complementary in the room, water or coffee. Full kitchen yes, only had two glasses and one was clipped. We went to sit on the beach and ALL of the lounge chairs were broken. Beach is very small but would do in a pinch. Restaurant is available but only if you order your dinner in the morning. the restaurant looks like the picture but that is basically all of it, very small and I wouldn't recommend it. Breakfast is 12.99 for a basic meal, 2.00 gratuity is added to the meal. Never saw the lounge, drinks were available if you asked at the desk. Pool was a pool not nice not bad, in between the buildings no real view of anything. Common area was clean and open. it was a little tight for the taxi vans to get in and out especially with the managements Audi sitting in the way. Just thought that was rude, employee parking should be out of the way. Nothing is within walking distance of the hotel. Bottom line felt they were overpriced for the condition of the hotel, hardly any amenities, web site was misleading, and felt they wanted to charge us for every little thing.
Don't understand how so many other people loved this place.

Room Tip: If you have to stay, see the room first and look at the roof for branches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cmrm31md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortRecovery, Owner at Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
One thing I do not understand is that anyone from front desk would dare to say, “Don’t tell Trip Adviser.” I frankly don’t see anything in your review to warrant that remark or to hide anything. Island hopping is an interesting fun thing to do, however, I hope you spent enough time at Fort Recovery Hotel to appreciate what you find you’re “missing” compared to our other guests feelings. The room that was not available was due to the fact that we were very booked up and check in time is not until 3pm. However, thank you for acknowledging the fact that the rooms were clean, nice and have a view. The villa suites consist of a patio or balcony, living room, kitchen, dining room area and a bedroom and bath. It is well appointed and all our beachfront suites afford panoramic views of the Caribbean. I am sorry that the night you spent here was out of the ordinary winter weather. It was terribly windy and the AC probably needed better sealing. The AC is not outdated. It is a split unit AC. If you told us about it, we would have certainly fixed it.
It also would have been really simple to move the TV to your bedroom or give you a larger one, if I knew. I think your review can only help us not hinder us by telling people to come to the office with any complaint no matter how serious it may be. so we can do something about it.
We do have coffee machines in every villa suite and complimentary coffee machine in the restaurant and the office. We are in the office and a simple call would have been much appreciated to try to give you a pleasant stay.
I went immediately to see the lounge chairs. I did not find any broken ones out for seating, but did find a stack on the side which was being repaired; again sorry. You are right that between the buildings there is no view except by the restaurant. Thank you for saying how clean the common areas are. Also a very adequate store that has almost anything you want is a six minute walk. A short drive and you will find a super market and shops that should satisfy any wants.
Sorry about the Audi owned by management. We will certainly be more careful about that. We cannot account for different people’s opinions or tastes in life but do appreciate your commenting on our rooms being clean, nice and having a view. It is a meaningful comment to us and we really appreciate your feelings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    105
    33
    35
    16
See reviews for
94
213
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was our first trip to the BVIs and we could not have been more impressed. Tortola itself is breathtaking and we booked our room at Fort Recovery based on the reviews from TripAdvisor - we were not disappointed in the least. We had a beachfront villa with an amazing view of the ocean. The hotel staff could not be more helpful and accommodating. It was the perfect blend of a top notch hotel with the feeling of a bed and breakfast. The hotel itself is located not far from the West End and very close to the ferry. We rented a car so many of the island's restaurants and gorgeous beaches were less than a 5 min drive away. I would recommend this spot to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband came down with food poisoning while on a private cruise nearby, and the amazingly helpful people at Fort Recovery were able to accommodate us with less than an hour's notice - we pulled up to their dock and we were shown to a charming, clean room within minutes. The villa's kitchen and tasty restaurant allowed me to take care of him while he recovered in comfort. All the staff were truly helpful and extremely pleasant - what to speak of the breathtaking ocean view and access. The rooms are a little dated, but who cares when you have an immaculate beach and turquoise water five steps from your room. Loved the historical aspect as well - make sure to check out the fort itself.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was a first trip to the BVIs and choose Ft Recovery based on several reviews on TripAdvisor and was not disappointed other than we could not stay longer. We stayed from Dec 5-8, 2013

Was greeted at check in and showed to and around room. We selected a lower level deluxe 1 bedroom. We stayed in unit #12. Room was not perfect, but was very nice. Loved being about 10' from the water with a full width view of the ocean. Kitchenette was adequate for a weeks stay (under counter refrigerator, microwave, sink and a couple sets of plates/ bowls, etc) Wide variety of books. Resort was very quiet and relaxing. Nearly no car noise or other guests. Loved sitting on the porch with my wife enjoying the sunset.

Beach was nice though some of the lounge chairs could be replaced. Rented some snorkel gear for the day and enjoyed that. No real coral formations (none expected) but clear water and array of fish.

Had breakfast at the resorts restaurant a couple days. Very friendly lady prepares your meal and waits on you. Was going to do dinner one night, but seems like dinner is hit or miss. Menu looked appealing and you have to let the office know by 4PM what your selection is and what time. Kind of like a Bed & Breakfast. They even offer the option to serve you in your room for an additional fee.

Pool is small and quaint. They were working on the deck when we were there, but finished our day of departure.

Would definitely stay there again and recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing, romantic getaway.

Resort is about 15-20 minutes from Road Town and 5-10 from West End. We rented a car and went to dinner in both West End, Road Town and at Nannie Cay.

Any questions don't hesitate to ask.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Spent 10 days beginning of December in No 5, right at the beach edge,beautifully decorated with comfie settee and bed, fully equipped kitchen and clean bathroom,sheets changed every other day and towels changed daily,cleaned right through every day, can't really find any negatives, the girls looked after my wife and I superbly and offered so much help with any queries we had. The use of the bases car, which we hired just for the days we wanted it, so saving quite a lot of money overall, was a real plus. I'd recommend a stay here to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob650ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

i just recently spent a week at fort recovery. i was waiting for my husband who was doing a blue water sail from bermuda to tortola and who was delayed due to the weather. while i have been to the BVI afew times with my husband and/or kids, this was my first time at fort recovery and my first time alone. usually we do a boat charter with maybe afew days on shore at the end so this was a different kind of vacation for me. i LOVED my penthouse room- it had a really comfortable king bed, nice bathroom with lots of hot water, a full kitchen so i could make most of my own meals , nice living room with a good library of books to read and a balcony with gorgeous views of the ocean. all the staff were more than awesome. i felt totally safe at all times. i enjoyed the hotel beach and thought the dinners were excellent although being early in the season- they did not serve dinner every night. rita hooked me up with ms buelah- a taxi driver who i used to take me on my daily adventures. not only did she drive me where i wanted to go and picked me up at a predetermined time, but she introduced me to the local people and everyone made me feel welcome. i had a really wonderful solo holiday. i checked out the other units at fort recovery - 2,3 and 8 bedrooms - with the idea of bringing r large family here one day. they all looked good. i think fort recovery is a wonderful property and hope that i have the chance to return some day- whether by myself or with my husband and kids. thank you all for making my stay so great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sandbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville,Pa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

First time in Tortola and we were lucky to have decided on this resort.Friendly service as well as refers, food was excellent. Suite was very clean and stayed that way for the entire 12 days. They made you feel right at home

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phenneger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
0.9 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
402 reviews
1.2 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
382 reviews
9.4 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
726 reviews
11.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
4.3 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel

Property: Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Address: Towers | West End, Road Town VG1110, Tortola
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Road Town
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel is a small, unique hotel located on Tortola, British Virgin Islands and is family owned & operated since 1969. Chosen by Discovery's Travel Channel, Fort Recovery was the only Hotel Selected on Tortola for their exclusive Caribbean showcase. They were also chosen as the Captain's Guide Magazine's "Best Resort," by the Reader's of the Captain's Guide Magazine. All suites are directly on the beach with Cable TV, A/C, free WI-FI, housekeeping, private balcony/patio/deck, living room, kitchen, master bedroom, full bathroom and more. Views are unmatched and completely unobstructed, right on the calm, Caribbean side of Tortola. On site is a full service Spa with professionally trained staff. There is an in-house, private restaurant also serving breakfast and dinner daily. 24/7 on-site management and knowledgeable front desk staff are always there at your service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa Hotel Road Town
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa And Suites Hotel
Fort Recovery Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Fort Recovery Beachfront
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing