We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Frenchmans(West End)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elm Beach Suites(Road Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Icis Villas(Tortola)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveler rating
342
105
33
35
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
105
33
35
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomwest endvirgin gordaprivate beachsoper's holeboat tripbig housecell phonehome away from homejost van dykeheaven on earththe sir francis drakehousekeeping stafflaid backbareboat charteranitaft
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 532 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We found Fort Recovery to be the perfect spot for our 7 night BVI vacation. Traveling from California we flew to St. Thomas and then boarded a ferry from Charlotte Amalie to West End, a 45 min ride, followed by a 5 min drive to Fort Recovery. (we found this itinerary to be less expensive than flying through San Juan to the Tortola airport). This was our second visit to Tortola and included our 14 year old son and his friend. Wanting extra space we rented a three bedroom villa on the ground floor which was no more than 10 steps from the water. The rooms were as advertised: large, very clean, well decorated and with very good bedroom air-conditioning. The kitchen area had all the appliances one would need, but we either ate at the Fort Recovery restaurant or other of the many restaurants in the area. The constant cooling effect of the trade-winds was wonderful. The sunsets were beautiful. One highlight of our trip was the Fort Recovery sponsored snorkel trip to Norman Island and lunch aboard the “Willy T”, a ship anchored in the bay. Another highlight of the trip was swimming with the dolphins at Dolphin Discovery located near Roadtown 15 minutes from Fort Recovery. We opted for the “Royal Swim” which included a ride across the water standing up, courtesy of two dolphins, one under each foot! And as many of the other reviews indicate, Pamelah, was extremely helpful in making our stay comfortable and easy. For example we were planning to take the ferry to Virgin Gorda to visit “The Baths”. Pamelah suggested we opt for the ferry package which included both taxi and lunch on Virgin Gorda for only about $10 more per person over the basic ferry fare. Lunch at Fisherman’s Cove was delightful followed by a visit to the Baths. She also arranged a day sail for us on the Aristocat, a beautiful catamaran berthed at Soper’s Hole a 5 minute drive. That trip took us to Jost van Dyke. The turquoise water of White Bay at Jost van Dyke is indescribable. In our experience the location of Fort Recovery is ideal. We rented a car from Hertz at West End, only a five minute drive from the hotel. The three best swimming beaches (our opinion) are Brewer’s Bay (30 min), Cane Garden Bay (20 min) and Smuggler’s Cove (15 min). The trip to Road Town, passing Dolphin Discovery is about 20 minutes. In summary by staying at Fort Recovery we accomplished what we set out to do. It was a place perfectly located to explore all Tortola has to offer and is close to other services so we could explore the other islands. It was comfortable, it felt safe and again it was extremely clean. Fort Recovery (and Tortola) is a place for those who want to relax, love the water and do not need the amenities or bustle of “5” star resorts. It is a world away.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JBC2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

My wife Linda and I, and our 4 children, have one of the best traditions a family could have. Every other year we go down to the BVI, and stay at Fort Recovery on Tortola for two weeks. We go down in August, so we can celebrate our wedding anniversary, and we stay in the large 8 bedroom villa, which is amazing. 2-steps in one direction from the villa your standing on the beach, 2-steps in the other direction your in the pool. The views of the ocean and St .Johns in the distance are spectacular. Almost every vacation to Fort Recovery we have seen multiple rainbows. The accommendations are great. Pamelah who is the backbone of this small quiant resort, has made every trip of ours to this heaven on earth paradise, as special as can be. I'll never forget how Pamelah helpled me surprise my family, which is not an easy feat, when she made all the arrangements for having a raggae band play on the terrrace of our villa, on the evening of our 16th anniversary. I'll never forgot that night, the kids dancing in the sand to Reggie's steal drums and island tunes, the other villa guests strolling over to join in, and after which, a 5 course meal served by waiters in tuxs on our terrace. Like I said "heaven on earth". Fort Recovery's lush tropical flowers, the old 17th century fort, and the architectural design of the villas are unique, just like a diamond in the rough - "hard to find, but once you do, its priceless". The staff is polite, curtious and always looking to help in any way they can, and as far as cleanliness, its 5 stars. If you want night life, then Tortola is not for you. If you want an unspoiled island, with beautiful vegetation, amazing 360 degree views of the carribean ocean from 1800 ft up while you eat dinner, an island where you still can feel like you stepped back in time, then Tortola and Fort Recovery are for you. 4 musts - (1) day sail on Voyager Charters out of Sophers Hole to Jost Van Dyke (tell Capt. Damien we said hello) and totally relax at the Soggy Dollar Bar, where the bar stools sit in in the sand , and are only a hop skip and a jump away from the water (2) Dinner at sunset at Bananakeet Cafe (kids can swim while you wait to be served at an elevation over a 1,000 ft. directly above the ocean (3) Trip to the Baths on Virgin Gorda (take an early ferry or sail over, and plan on spending the whole day) and (4) during off season, definitely go over to Peter Island and hang out at a resort on its own private island (during off season they allow non-guest of this exclusive resort to take advantage of their resort amenities, most importantly, their long beautiful beach laced with tiki huts, and the amazing restaurant and bar on the beach. Best beaches on Tortola - Long Bay, Cane Garden and Brewers Bay. Stay away from the airport, the mosquitos will eat you alive.

Food shopping should be done in Road Town, theres a large warehouse grocery store, just on the outskirts of downtown on the airport side, which has the least expensive prices. The name eludes me, but we call it the Costco of the BVI. Just ask Pamelah at Fort Recovery, she'll definitely know.

Thats all for now, I'm starting to get all teary eyed, its hard writing about it and not being there.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank crewofsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We just returned from a five day stay at Fort Recovery (two adults and 4 teens) and utilized the 3 bedroom suite. The entire stay was perfect. Pamelah our hostess made us feel very welcome and she did a great job of introducing us to the layout of the resort and all it had to offer including good meals, spa services, exercise room and even yoga. This is a small scale resort so very peaceful, and the beach literally feet away from the rooms made it enchanting listening to the sound of the waves. I think all the rooms have their own porch/deck and we had no problems with insects so sitting out and enjoying the view was heavenly. The is a perfect place if you want to stay at one place and never leave or we rented a car and visited other beaches but frankly it wasn't necessary. We all loved the 3 bedroom suite, very nice accomdations and very clean. Given that breakfast is included with the room price and comparing it with other accomodations, we thought this was reasonably priced. It is about 35 minutes from the airport (15 minutes from road town) and the drive wasn't difficult- unlike contining on going over to cane garden bay area where there are scary switch back roads to drive over. Hope this helps.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank virginiabeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

We stayed at Fort Recovery the week of May 18, 2008; in one of the original villas (not the newer ones) and liked it fine. It reminded me of staying in someone's condo or beach house--not a regular hotel room, which was nice. We stayed in 6PH and overlooked the beach and ocean. Great views with a nice patio! We really weren't in the room much, so I don't feel like we missed out on the newer villas... Also at check in, Pamelah gave us a pre-paid cell phone for the week--which came in very handy. I think she said the rates were $.25 a minute for local calls and $.50 internationally. We used it a handful of times and it only amounted to $5 at checkout. Pamelah is very accommodating and helpful; as is Matt. When we could not get a hold of a taxi to take us to Bomba's for the full moon party, we called Pamelah for help. Thinking she would call us back with a number of a different taxi company, Matt actually called us and said he wouldn't mind taking us to Bomba's himself. And he did! (We had no trouble finding a taxi for the ride back but Matt helped us a lot by getting us there).
The snorkel trip on the Fort Recovery boat was definitely one of the highlights. It was nice to snorkel at The Caves and The Indians, without having to charter a boat or go through a company. And lunch at Willie-T's was fun also!
I would definitely recommend this resort as a place to stay. Like a previous poster commented, there are better beaches in the area and they are a close drive. But this place is a great value and comfortable stay. Oh, and if you go, pack a tennis ball or two for Becky the dog. She's very friendly and was chasing leaves and rocks she brought for me to throw! Thanks Fort Recovery for a relaxing stay! :)

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We took our son to Fort Recovery for his college graduation trip. Pamelah and everyone on the staff made us feel so welcome and made our trip so easy. We stayed in a one bedroom villa with the Caribbean Sea just 15 feet from our deck. Everything was very clean, relaxing and the food and service were very good. I would really recommend this property to anyone wanting a small intimate property with good food, good service and a casual atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PidgeArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews