We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth to shop”

French Deli & Gourmet Shop
Ranked #3 of 36 Restaurants in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: We are the only specialized French and European high end gourmet and delicatessen shop in the British Virgin Islands. Come in for coffee or lunch and browse our wide selection of gourmet items, cheeses, meats, wines, champagnes, imported directly from France and our delicious breads, pastries and chocolates.Enjoy a comfortable, relaxed atmosphere, friendly service and affordable priced food.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worth to shop”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

It is really more the shop than a restaurant. Although food offer was more than interesting. Not very wide but good things. Some interesting wine. The prices very reasonable. Fresh pastry and baguettes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tkarlikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrenchDeli, Owner at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. It is our pleasure that you found our shop and food offerings interesting. We try to stay away from what everyone else is offering. It is not a wide menu, but covers fast food in the way of sandwiches and salads, soups and hot plates. The latter are choices of beef, seafood, chicken, pasta & risotto. We look forward to your visit wen you come back to the British Virgin islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    51
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Road Town, Tortola
Level Contributor
131 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not so much a restaurant”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

A well stocked deli offering, cheeses, cured meats, breads and pastries, olives etc and some interesting wines - and for these things there is no peer in BVI. But also there are a very few tables and some excellent food and sandwiches to be had if you want something quick and tasty. A fine spot.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcus w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrenchDeli, Manager at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. You said it; we're not a restaurant, but a Deli & Gourmet Shop. Patrons enjoy a quick bite before or after shopping. They get the opportunity to sample what we offer, making choices easier. It is a good way to showcase our products. We hope you visit us again the next time you visit the BVI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Best Option on Tortola”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Cured meats, olives, cheese, baked goods, look no further than the French Deli for your shopping. Be sure to grab lunch and a pastery while you're provisioning!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrenchDeli, Public Relations Manager at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are pleased knowing that you like our wide range of products. Enjoying lunch or a pastry is the best way to shop! We thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch and frozen coissants”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Great place to grab a sandwich on a baguiette. I had the hot Reuben and my wife had the cold veggie on 7 grain. We loved it. Grab a couple of baguettes to go! Great place and friendly staff!

Helpful?
Thank Louis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrenchDeli, Public Relations Manager at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Happy New Year! Thanks for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your sandwiches and our baguettes. It is also good to know that our staff was helpful & friendly.
We sure hope to see you again when you come back to the BVI. We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Which is a really nice place to have a casual sandwich or get take-away. We had chicken salad on two different types of breads; both were excellent and quite large for the price. Our friends had veggie sandwiches and were just as pleased. The ladies preparing the food were very pleasant and helpful, explaining the different bread choices, as well as describing the specials which were posted on a board.
The place was quite clean, and there was a large selection of pastries and deserts, as well as a wide range of beverages and wines.
I would highly recommend the French Deli.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mniNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrenchDeli, Front Office Manager at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are delighted to learn that you found good value, food, atmosphere & service at our establishment. Thank you for your business. We do hope to see you again when you visit the British Virgin Islands. May 2014 be a year full of health & prosperity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Deli & Gourmet Shop also viewed

 

Been to French Deli & Gourmet Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing