We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop for drink and food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cabernet Bar and Grill

The Cabernet Bar and Grill
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Pub, International, Grill, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Cabernet Bar and Grill, previously know as The Grand Cafe and La Cabanon now under new ownership since Jan 2014. Great food prepared nightly on our outside Grill. Fresh Fish, Butchers Cut meats, Daily Specials. The best service Island wide, superb atmosphere, Al Fresco dining, great Bar Scene, Cool Sounds . Wide selection of Craft Beers, Rums and liqueurs.
Portland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stop for drink and food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We came to Le Grand Cafe on a windy evening in Roadtown and sat at the open air bar. Our Barkeep, Paul, made us we had drinks flowing, great food (try his BBQ Ribeye steak) and a fun evening with some of the local crowd. We came backs we head home and were notably remembered. But we'll taken care of....Thanks Paul and Crew!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kspellman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    32
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
676 reviews
421 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Good bar, popular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Le Grand Café is situated right on the waterfront at Road Town and is a nice bar and restaurant. Typical Caribbean style. Good beer, well stocked bar and loads of outdoor and al fresco type seating.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MD-FatDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of Tortola's Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Fantastic place to grab lunch, dinner, and/or drinks. Also, drinks. Chef Paul is an awesome guy and cooks up a variety of fantastic dishes. Had a perfectly cooked tuna steak, as well as a couple smaller plates.

We were on land in Tortola for 3 days and ended up here 2 nights in a row it was so good. Relaxed atmosphere with a nice courtyard and fantastic food. Come for the cocktails, have a snack, and you'll end up ordering a meal. Location in Road Town is hard to beat too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Late lunch, no problem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went in for a late lunch after diving and we were the only people in there but it was no problem. We had the special of the day which was a sandwich of some sort (ham and cheese I think) and it was very good. The beer was cold, the food was excellent, and the service was top notch. It's right on the main drag so I imagine that it is a busy place during the high season. Definitely recommend!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road Town, Tortola
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chef too busy to cook.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We booked a table for 3 and were told last orders were at 10.00pm. We arrived at 9.20pm and were informed by our server that we could only order starters as the chef was closing down. We weren't happy but as it was no too late to go elsewhere we orders extra starters.

The food was quite good except the foie gras pate which claimed to be home made but the rings from the bottom of the can told a different story on my plate!

Nice drinking place, bit of the in crowd but lively after hours.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodiegoodieGumdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cabernet Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Cabernet Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing