We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”

Kuralu Private Catamaran Charters
Ranked #2 of 28 Tours in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kuralu is a 50’ Catamaran offering the best daysail trips in the BVI to stunning islands and beautiful snorkeling spots. Sail in complete comfort to Sandy Spit, White Bay at Jost Van Dyke, the Indians and Caves at Norman Island. Snorkeling equipment, open bar and a gourmet lunch is included. No overcrowding and private groups a specialty. Safe for children, plenty of shade and a freshwater shower. Voted number 1 for a reason!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I sailed on Kuralu in early November. The service and hospitality provided by the captain and crew were exceptional. The gourmet lunch was fabulous. We would highly recommend a daysail on Kuralu for a prefect day of relaxation, excellent food and beverages, and amazing snorkeling. We had such a great time that we booked sails on Kuralu for two additional days of our vacation.

1  Thank 243deanaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Kuralu Private Catamaran Charters
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 245 of 372 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

We took 3 day sails on the Kuralu. We had a great time exploring the islands and snorkeling. The service was exceptional, including the terrific lunch. They were very attentive, and provided a fun and relaxing experience. I look forward to sailing with them again.

1  Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Retrospective review...we've done several daysails on Kuralu since 2006. Very comfortable catamaran, relaxing music, various drinks on tap, friendly and attentive crew (including ship's dog Gromit, and her predecessor Ocadia). The buffet lunch, freshly prepared and beautifully presented, is very tasty (loved the smoked fish dip, and broccoli and blue cheese quiche). Captain Gary is a most accommodating host. Snorkel spots are carefully chosen for the route, weather conditions and party/parties on board, and never disappointed. We always felt safe and well cared for. We like the group sizes (12 at most, usually fewer). Plenty of room, never felt crowded. All ages catered for (including little kids, and a 75 yrs old non-swimming Mother-in-Law!).

We have tried a couple of other daysails: however, Kuralu is still our favourite.

2  Thank Jakehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaza2810, Owner at Kuralu Private Catamaran Charters, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thanks again for sailing with us, it's always great to see you back in the BVI. I hope that you and your family are doing well and looking forward to your next trip on Kuralu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Nice Captain and Crew, but boat rather disappointing. Rather old and in need of some TLC, difficult to get out of the water due to very small ladders at back of boat. Wish we had taken a little more time researching the other boats available before booking.

Thank AlcesterAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaza2810, Owner at Kuralu Private Catamaran Charters, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

We are sorry that you were disappointed with Kuralu. You sailed with us at the end of a very busy sailing season and just before the boat's yearly physical and make over. Kuralu is a classic boat and has since been out of the water for one month with new paint, varnish, ropes, etc and is now ready for another great season of sailing in the BVI. We have also added wider wood steps on the ladder for easier boarding. Please join us again for a complimentary sail (and rum punches) and see for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My extended family of 11 sailed with Gary & crew on a 1-day charter. Easily the most relaxing day of the year for all of us adults despite having 5 children with us under the age of 10. Gary thought of everything! He supplied the fresh, home-cooked, seasonally appropriate meals for all of us - Plenty for all. Beverages were abundantly available, but no one was permitted to get his/her own. It was full-service the entire day. We cannot wait until our next BVI visit! Hopefully next year it can be a multi-day event.
Thanks Gary!

1  Thank Brent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaza2810, Owner at Kuralu Private Catamaran Charters, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you and the kids on board(are they always this well behaved?) It was a fun day for everyone, including us. All the best and hope to see you in Tortola again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuralu Private Catamaran Charters also viewed

 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
West End, Tortola
 

Been to Kuralu Private Catamaran Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing