We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best experience EVER!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Discovery Tortola

Dolphin Discovery Tortola
Ranked #3 of 37 things to do in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Discovery invites you to live the dream of swimming with dolphins in the Caribbean paradise of Tortola. We offer a range of programs for all ages, a family-friendly adventure you will never forget.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best experience EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Our family of 7 booked online a few months in advance and got an amazing deal .. Do not book through cruise line although Carnival now has this price match guarantee ..
The place was clean, the dolphins treated like royalty, trainers were awesome, lots of space for the dolphins to swim around .. We had originally booked the basic package but were upgraded because we were picked to "help" train two young dolphins ... Picture CD was cheaper than expected so was pleasantly surprised at that .. Bring your own towels as they do not provide any .. We had to "air" dry .. Do not buy wooden frames in gift shop as the pictures they print for you are not the same size as frame although they tell they are .. $16 USD down the drain .. LOL ..

Our girls were in absolute awe of the whole experience and we will treasure the memories forever ..

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TanVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    114
    29
    16
    26
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better then you can even imagine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

I knew it was going to be great, but it was even better then I imagined. To get that close to them and be able to touch and pet them was just the best. To see for yourself up so close just how smart, sweet and strong these mammals are was a true highlight to our trip. Swimming with the dolphins and the dolphin push was a trill of a life time. I had some reservations because they are in cages but after being there learning about them, there trainers and how they live twice as long as they would in the wild put my heart at ease. Do not miss this if you are in Tortola.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Euro_Traveler_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
“Felt bad for the dolphins bc the pins were so TINY :(”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We bought our tickets on the ship. Beware if you just want to watch and not actually swim. i.e. I wanted to swim w/ the dolphins but my husband did not, but still wanted to watch me swim with them. They make you buy an observer ticket that cost $75. JUST TO WATCH! .... It was amazing to be that close to them and interact with them. The best part was when both dolphins get behind you and push your feet through the water. My only complaints were, they share cages that are so small and the group sizes are too large There was 10 people in my group and most of the time with them was waiting for the other people to take turns. It would have been better in groups of 5 or less. Also photographers take your pictures, the CD is expensive but totally worth it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jaxbax7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Social Media Affiliate at Dolphin Discovery Tortola, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hello, first of all thank you for taking time to comment, we appreciate it, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with them, regarding the interaction with dolphins in the group, our goal is that all visitors enjoy this magnificent experience, we'll let Operation Manager in Dolphin Discovery Tortola know about your comments in order to improve our service. We invite you to visit us again in Tortola or in any other of our venues in Mexico and The Caribbean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband, son and I visited Tortola on our Carnival Cruise on Thursday, March 27, 2014 and our excursion of choice was the Dolphin Swim Adventure at Dolphin Discovery. Beware that the cruise ships are charging a much higher price than what Dolphin Discovery does so you may want to book it separately.

We arrived at Dolphin Discovery and were greeted by a very nice young man who directed us to get into our swimsuits and leave our bags and cover-ups in the provided cubbies. There are not lockers just open cubbies so be sure to not take valuables with you as it may be a problem. We didn't encounter that but you never know.

Afterwards we received our life vests and were told to sit down and watch a quick video about the dolphins and the gentleman instructed us on what we needed to do once we were in the water. It was a little hard for my 6 year old son to see but we managed. You may want to sit in the front row if you have small children.

After watching the video they sorted us into groups and we got in the water. There are platforms for you to stand on and you are right in the water with the dolphins. There is nothing in between you and them and it was amazing. The dolphins swim right up to you! Each group has their own trainer who assists you with meeting the dolphin and your experience. I didn't catch our trainers name but she was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the dolphins and made sure that my son and the other little girl in our group had a great experience as well.

Everyone in the group has a chance to kiss the dolphin, have the dolphin kiss them, do a handshake and then the swim. Of course everyone has the opportunity to touch and rub the dolphins as well. They are super friendly and very inquisitive about us!

You are not allowed to bring your own camera into the water and I can understand that because the dolphins may think that it is food or something for them to play with and there could be liability issues. Plus it would take quite a while if everyone was taking their own pictures. The staff at Dolphin Discovery assigns a photographer to each group to take pictures. It makes it a little uncomfortable because the photographer is out of the water and you have to turn to the side to get the picture but at least there is an option for the pictures, however, I will say that they are very expensive.

The options for the pictures are either you can buy the package which gives you a t-shirt, all of your photos on a disk, a card with a link to a website to download the pictures and 3 8x10s of your choice that they actually print out – the total cost for that is $149 which I think is very expensive. The other option is that you can just buy individual prints for $35 each. I really hope that the money they make off of the pictures goes directly to the dolphins!

We really enjoyed our experience and wished that we could have stayed all day! They have a snack bar as well as a few places to sit and watch the other people doing their experience with the dolphins.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Penelope”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

A truly amazing experience. We went to tortola dolphin discovery and swam with Penelope the beautiful dolphin. Loved it and well worth money

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Discovery Tortola also viewed

Road Town, Tortola
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Dolphin Discovery Tortola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing