We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Challenging Excursion”
Review of Anegada Island

Anegada Island
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Anegada or the "drowned island" is completely surrounded by shallow reefs, and has become the focal point of underwater diving due to the many historic shipwrecks that litter the island's underwater depths.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Challenging Excursion”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

The passage to Anegada is absolutely lovely. A bit different than the rest of the islands and well worth the trip. Loblolly Bay is a must do. Don't forget your bug spray if you dine ashore.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    98
    28
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice trip for lobster on the beach”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

If you like to sail, then make the hike out to Anagada. Don't miss snorkeling and then dining on the beach at Anagada Reef Hotel and having lobster that was caught that day. Be sure to call ahead and reserve a lobster!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimberely H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A trip to Anegada”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Beautiful beaches!!!! Everywhere you looked the water was a gorgeous turquoise. Worth the sail to get there!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TLLcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Hill, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, great beaches and view, but NOT the "best lobster you've ever eaten!". . .”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I arrived at Anegada Island via sailing flotilla (5 boats from Nanny Cay in Tortola on a 6-day excursion). After anchoring among the rocks (all the mooring balls were already occupied), we fired up the dinghy and motored into the marina. Several of us decided to take a shuttle to the beach, but had a few minutes to meander around the "compound" and the associated gift shops which almost exclusively specialized in cheap "tourist junk" - painted shells, crudely carved figurines, locally made alcoholic beverages, beachwear. It didn't take long to see pretty much all the shops had to offer, and we were soon on our way down an intermittently paved road to the beach. The trip took the better of 45 minutes, and we arrived at a cluster of gift shops, restrooms and a structure could only very generously be called a "bar" (see photo). However. . . . the beach, a quarter-mile or so down a concrete path, was gorgeous, punctuated with (too few) umbrella'd benches, and mostly (in spite of the fully-occupied shady benches) completely uncrowded. A solitary section of the beach was at most a few minutes' walk from any point, and the beach seemed to go on forever. Our snorkeling companions reported great water but few fish (those apparently in greater numbers at Loblolly Bay). This didn't disappoint anyone, however, as the beach itself was immensely satisfying. After some hours of sun and sand, we made our way back to the taxi parking and returned, somewhat more laden down with various trinkets and beachwear, to the "restaurant". As the sky darkened, we variously returned to the boat for a change of clothes, commandeered one of the several hammocks along the waterfront, sat and chatted on the plentiful benches, or idled curiously around the preparations for our lobster feast. The lobsters - and other seafood, should one desire - are grilled over open charcoal grills in full view of the guests. As you might guess, the majority of our crowd, some 20-odd strong, opted for lobster. I have it on reliable testimony, however, that the grilled fish was absolutely delicious. The lobster was quite good - but then, I've had lobster in Baja California (which this most closely resembled) and Maine lobster (for which there are few competitors). Good, but I reserve the champion title for Maine - so far, at least. The view from the picnic tables was wonderful, the weather ideal, and the overall ambiance (complete with unrelenting Caribbean music in the background), perfect for the occasion.

A word of warning, however: This was the 2nd time in our voyage that we'd encountered the BVI "custom" (?) of combining numerous patron's checks on a single composite bill. In our case, each SHIP received a single (generally inaccurate!) bill and left to sort out the individual charges. Fine if you've only got a single family on board - more complicated when all 8 passengers came aboard separately. At least one of our company got a "free meal", but by some accounting magic, our captain was (for the 2nd time) obliged to make up the difference between what our flotilla claimed to have had and what the restauranteurs claimed to have prepared. I suppose, had we been forewarned, we might have ticked off our drinks and extras on some kind of "tally sheet" to avoid complications (let's see, did I have 5 beers or 9?).

In spite of the complications with the bills, I recommend the experience to any traveler in the vicinity. Sun, sand, seafood under the stars - hard to beat.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dhoulette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catawba Island, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bring snorkel and a fat wallet.”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

If you don't like to snorkel I don't think I would recommend you making the trip. On the other hand if you do take a cab to Loblolly Bay. The shallow waters of the bay allow you to see some great fish in living coral structure and the security of the less experienced snorkeler. Very limited thatch umbrellas so be early for a chance to get one or try to gain access to anything that you can get shade with. When it comes to meals you will have to order well in advance for a scheduled time to eat and be prepared to thin your wallet with the price. Several good dinner spots but you'll need to have come by boat (not ferry) or overnight stay. As always, keep a good attitude in the BVI or stay home. Good for adults and kids alike. If you're a sailor make sure you hire a captain that knows the reefs because it is a very extensive maize that will only end up bad if you don't.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anegada Island also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Anegada Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing