We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unspoiled but desolate”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anegada Island

Anegada Island
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Anegada or the "drowned island" is completely surrounded by shallow reefs, and has become the focal point of underwater diving due to the many historic shipwrecks that litter the island's underwater depths.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Unspoiled but desolate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Getting there is half the fun. We were on a charter yacht you approach, seeing only a small hump on th ehorizon, then some palm trees. There's not much on the island except a few quiet and beautiful beaches from which you can walk ina dn do some of the best Caribbean snorkeling we'd seen. A few guest houses and beach restaurants is all there is with the 200 residents. Rent a car to see the island. Have the lobster! (order at one of the restaurants before 4pm.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lvillejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    96
    28
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great day trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at Scrub Island for a week and took a group day trip to Anegada with Dive BVI. Cost $90 adults, $65 kids 10 and under. A great beach day! The fast, comfortable boat ride from Scrub takes about 50 minutes; then you hop in a cab to the north side of the island. There is a stunning soft sand beach, shallow for a long way out into the water, with good snorkeling. There are also tiki huts with benches, but only about 16 of them. Dive BVI got us there early enough that we got a tiki hut; but I think the people on boats arriving from Tortola and elsewhere were out of luck. There are no trees on the island; the island is a coral atoll (very, very flat) and the soil too saline for trees, so there's just scrub, which is pretty but provides no shade. So plan on grabbing a tiki hut, otherwise you're in the sun for about 4 hours straight (unless you go to the restaurant or bar). The food at the restaurant is mediocre and expensive; I'd probably have brought sandwiches from the deli at Scrub if I'd known. Ice cream available, very decent bathrooms, a nice souvenir and gift shop. Kids loved it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen085260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendrof, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the tacking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We sailed to Anegada and moored in the harbor. We rented a car for the day to go to Loblolly Bay to swin, snorkel and relax. The beach is gorgeous along a bright blue bay. The snorkeling was great, but not as many fish as elsewhere. The restarant and bar were great and an unexpecteed surprise. I had lobster for lunch $35 and love it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seeforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous isolated beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Landed from yacht tender on a remote stretch of fabulous sand. Met only 4 people on more than a mile of beach. Felt had visited paradise. Did not visit the inhabited part. Only managed our approach as our yacht captain very expert at negotiating the reef!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank OnlymeHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rough water...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The trip to this lovely almost uninhabited island was like being on a roller coaster. The swells were huge and some people were actually frightened. It took us an hour to motor there through rough water, a bus ride to the beach, only to find it too rough to snorkel. Which was one of the major reasons for going. It is impossible to snorkel when you are being thrashed about by the waves and current. Apparently, when it's calm, it's good snorkeling, but not for us. The beach is nice, if you want to pay a lot of money to lie on a pretty beach. If there was a way to find out ahead of time what the conditions are, I'd go, otherwise save your money.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank walap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anegada Island also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Anegada Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing