We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing ISLAND!”
Review of Anegada Island

Anegada Island
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Anegada or the "drowned island" is completely surrounded by shallow reefs, and has become the focal point of underwater diving due to the many historic shipwrecks that litter the island's underwater depths.
Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing ISLAND!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Well worth a detour to visit this unique island - amazing beaches - especially Cow Wreck - a must visit in the BVIs

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sailcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    98
    28
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beaches, Friendly People!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We traveled to Anegada. The Island is very flat. We went to the beach and saw a flock of 200-300 Flamingos fly across the ocean! Amazing. Did some shopping in town. People are friendly. We had dinner on the island. Lost power a few times but they still cooked in the dark. Glad we visited the island.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizinma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A nice boat ride but a bit boring...”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We chartered a boat and stopped in Anegada for the night. We did rent mopeds and toured the island which was fun, but the dinner was not very good. We were expecting fabulous lobster and it was really gummy and not that good. The bakery on the island was banging though and again the ride was worth it. One and done for us. This year we didn't add it to our stops.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TRACEYDUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“isolated and beautiful”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

of all the islands we went to in the bvi, anegada was definitely the prettiest. it is completely flat (unlike the other hilly islands). we rented mopeds and drove all around the islands. loblollly bay is an absolute must. very isolated besides a random cow, but incredibly beautiful.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dickskay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“go back in time”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Visiting Anegada island is going back in time to the way I remembered the Caribbean from my childhood. Gorgeous beaches with practically no one around. Friendly locals that are happy to see tourists. And the best meal I had in the BVI's - fresh lobster at the Anegada Reef Hotel.
We rented a car to tour the island for the day, and the car broke down before we could make the loop back to our boat - oh well mon, it was an adventure!
Don't miss Anegada!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nobarbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anegada Island also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Anegada Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing