We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop on our sailing trip with the Viking Dream”
Review of Anegada Island

Anegada Island
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Anegada or the "drowned island" is completely surrounded by shallow reefs, and has become the focal point of underwater diving due to the many historic shipwrecks that litter the island's underwater depths.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great stop on our sailing trip with the Viking Dream”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We ancored for one night and really enjoyed the quietness on this Island. We spent the afternoon at Cow Wreck on a several mile long beach with no or very few people. The lobster dinner is a must. Our Captain Mark of the Viking Dream recommened it and boy was he right. Best lobster we had in years. Anegada is a must stop sailing the BVI's.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MARCUS024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    98
    28
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Secluded Hideaway”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This place almost feels like you own the island. Most of the time, we were the only people around. The only people we saw were the workers. Food on the island is wonderful. Fresh lobsters caught that day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Islandskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not for the Resort Types”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

There is no luxury here. If you want that go to Virgin Gorda or Necker Island. No one is going to coddle you especially not the people at Cow Wreck--or Big Bamboo. They love your money, but they don't care one fig about you unless, maybe, your name is Richard Branson.

It seems most people come here for the lobster dinners and then they leave. The lobster will be gone soon or will be so expensive no one can afford it. The really sad thing is that this type of lobster doesn't really taste all that great--not like New England lobster does.

So, go ahead and rent a scooter, car or take a taxi. Laugh at the road--or lack of one. Be disappointed that you can't get close to the flamingos. And have a nice day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HapColumbia_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tropical Paradise!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Anegada is a remote island in the BVI's. Travel by ferry, small plane or private yacht. The beaches are incredible and it is quiet and quaint. The BEST lobster you will ever had can be chosen fresh from the water right before dining. It is a great getaway.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liminlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anjuliena's scooter rentals”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just returned from a 10 day sailing trip which included Anegada Island....while there we rented scooters from Anjuliena's...highlight of the day.....great way to visit the island in it's entirety....small family run business with zero red tape or hassle......what you see is what you get...the price was all inclusive....no surprises, no add ons. It took us less than 10 minutes to be on our way with four scooters! The owners were very friendly and genuinely happy to assist in any way. Upon our return, their young son actually took the scooters, helped up empty the storage compartment and parked them.
Some of the scooters were obviously rented by people where were rough on them however they were very safe to ride....
it's less than a 5 minute walk from the dinghy dock....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger1799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anegada Island also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Anegada Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing