We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommond highly”
Review of Aristocat Charters

Aristocat Charters
Ranked #1 of 28 Tours in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Aristocat Charters is listed on Trip Advisor as the # 1 day charter company in Tortola, why don't you come and find out why! The friendliest and best day sail trip in the BVI, offering a FULL DAY sail, 9:30am-5:00pm, (or arranged to match your cruise ship schedule) on 48ft sailing catamarans to beautiful Jost Van Dyke; Norman Island & The Indians; Salt, Cooper, and Peter Islands; The Baths, etc. to enjoy some of the best snorkeling the BVI has to offer. On all our day sails we make a MINIMUM of 3 stops at different locations to swim and snorkel on some great reefs, in the clearest water in the Caribbean. Help yourself to the open bar and enjoy the extensive buffet lunch, freshly prepared and served on board.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Ray Brook, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recommond highly”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was our second time using Aristocat Charters. As before, this was well worth the cost. This charter business is run by Captain Stephen Wooster, who is clearly an able seaman and a superb host, having spent his formative years on the Cunard line. The catamarans he skippers are sturdy and should make even the most faint at heart feel safe. The day trip exposes you to beautiful sights, both from on deck as well as within the waters, to which Steve brings you. The food and beverages are perfect for the day's fair. I highly recommend that anyone, who comes to Tortola or Virgin Gorda, make use of this opportunity.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Claude R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    26
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not much to add - great time - good with the kids too!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our experience was similar to all of those below. We had 8 and 7 year old boys with us and they had a great time riding the bow of the boat the whole way back. Good hospitality, good crew, good boat, good snorkeling, good eats, good fun. Great day. Stop reading all of the reviews and just book it and move on to planning your next day, you've got this one SET for greatness.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betsy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best New Years Eve ever aboard the Lionheart!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a day! This was by far the best day of our holiday. We were fortunate to have the boat to our group only which was a bonus. Steve and Kim were great sailors and also great hosts. The snorkelling was fab, they knew exactly the spots to go (snorkelling gear provided). Remember to take an underwater camera!! Food and drink on tap all day which you just helped yourselves too! To top the day off a beautiful dolphin followed us for several minutes making sure we reached the port! A must do day out!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Day Sail with Aristocat”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

From other reviews that we saw, when we wanted to book a day sail, Aristocat had some excellent reviews so we decided to choose them. We booked through Captain Steve Wooster and he was very accommodating and even overly hospitable when he learned that we were looking for a boat to purchase in the BVI offering up his time and expertise in helping us if we needed it. As for the day sail, it was excellent. Gilbo and Emily were outstanding. They have excellent knowledge of the area and some of the hotspots to snorkel. While we had several people on the boat with us it was not crowded in the food was excellent. We tried our best to drink all of the Presidente's on the boat and could not finish them all! We highly recommend this charter for a super fun day on the water. We cannot say enough about Gilbo and Emily; they are in excellent crew and you can tell they really enjoy what they're doing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank marksmithTortola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing excursion!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I recently sailed on the Aristocat with Gilbo and Emily. The boat is beautiful and there's nothing like a large sail and a strong breeze to get you where you're going. We stopped at a couple of great snorkeling locations. The pickup location was right off of the cruise ship pier, so we didn't have to worry about transportation from/to the ship. Gilbo and Emily are lots of fun, and great hosts for the day. The lunch was great and there was plenty to go around. I absolutely loved the Jamaican Birch Beer they served. If you're looking for a great excursion in Tortola, look no further, this one is the best!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aristocat Charters also viewed

 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
West End, Tortola
 

Been to Aristocat Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing