We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer services, expensive restaurant menu,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Village Cay BVI Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor customer services, expensive restaurant menu,”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel is at a convenient location close to Road Town Ferries. The room was relatively clean and inexpensive. However, little things broke here and there, and they weren't replaced during our stay. I would have thought that people living in such a beautiful place would have a happy and vibrant personality. No, not at all. They seem very miserable. One of the waitress in the restaurant was very rude. Food was very overly priced. About $30 for a chicken dish.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyas3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    27
    17
    5
See reviews for
13
19
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tortola
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Excellent welcome by Village Cay reception staff after another hotel had failed to honour a booking. Refurbished rooms are very pleasantly furnished. The bar and restaurant area is busy in the early evening but becomes peaceful later in the evening

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent our first night in the BVI at Village Cay before our sailing trip as the Nanny Cay was booked. Nothing fancy, but very nice people, nice little restaurant, bar there in the marina. Room was clean, comfortable. Reminds you to get on "Island time" which is a very good thing. It is a chore lugging your bags up the stairs, but you overlook little details as it is laid back,Caribbean. Very nice people who work there.

Room Tip: If you have any problems getting up stairs, let them know so you don't get the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We often rent a boat at the Moorings in Road Harbor, Tortola and need a room for the night before our charter starts the next morning. The Moorings Mariner Inn is what most people book, but it can be over $300 a night! For a cheaper alternative try the Village Cay Hotel and Marina.The rooms are fine, there's a nice bar, and they allow late checkins. It's just across the harbor, or a short taxi ride or cab back to the Moorings marina. I had had a buddy pick me up in a dinghy to take me to the Moorings the next morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughson
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 notes after our sail charter. We chose this because our boat sailed from/ to this marina, so it was convenient. We read the reviews of course before we booked. We were placed on the 3rd level at the back of the hotel. Yes it was a chore lugging our bags up all those stairs, but we did get a little help from one of the staff when he saw us struggling, and that helped. Our room was good, clean, air conditioned and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the shower was good. It was nice to have a laundry facility down stairs. We had several meals at the restaurant and the food was excellent, and yes the service sloooow, LOL. We did encounter some rudeness, but overall the staff was friendly and gracious. The location is perfect for walking around Roadtown for shopping and restaurants. We would stay here again. And oh, them darn roosters, UGH!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 14Daroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena MD
Level Contributor
181 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed with another couple in the 2 bedroom condo for one night before boarding our catamaran for a week. The condo was very spacious and clean. There was a small ant problem in the kitchen and bathroom but we were only there one night. The nozzle on the shower popped off while I was in the shower and we couldn't get it back on. The view of our condo was great and we loved sitting on the deck with the French doors open so much we turned off the air conditioner and went out to Bobby's Market and bought drinks for the evening and breakfast to make there. Not great pans for cooking but we had fun with it. The restaurant was typical with decent food at not so cheap prices and island drinks. It was definitely "the islands" with little resort like accommodations but we loved it. Another couple who stayed in a room joined us for the evening and for breakfast -- plenty of room and comfortable seating, flat screen TV, big dining room table. If you expect to come to Tortola and have the Hyatt/Marriott resort hotel experience, this island is not for you.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms facing the water or go for the two bedroom condos which I think all face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PasadenaWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Par, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

WE stayed at village cay in february 2013 at the beginning of our boat charter and also at the end...
I booked the 2 bedroom garden condo and found the room to be very comfy with plenty of room and was nice and clean.
The restaurant had plenty of choice on the menu for even the picky eaters!
swimming pool was nice to cool off... with a rum punch.... really enjoyed our stay will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennymartin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Road Town hotels
4.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#9 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#8 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
#7 of 13 in Road Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Cay BVI Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Cay BVI Hotel

Property: Village Cay BVI Hotel
Address: 1 Wickhams Cay, Road Town, Tortola
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Cay BVI Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Cay is located in the Heart of the BVI. A 23 boutique hotel with amenities on site and access to great shopping and provisioning on and off property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, West Indies and Hotels.com so you can book your Village Cay BVI Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cay BVI Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing