We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good times”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

After traveling on a Powered Catamaran for 6 days, this hotel was a nice finish to an awesome vacation. The hotel was clean, pool refreshing and the restaurant onsite had great food and you are right there at the marina. They offered free shuttle to the ferry but make sure that you go early to catch the ferry back over to St. Thomas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rheagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    76
    66
    29
    29
See reviews for
43
68
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Going to Road Town for business is awful. There really aren't any hotels for business travellers so based on my co-workers suggestions, we stayed here.

I was skeptical when I saw the lobby but then got to my room and felt fine. The bed as comfortable. The bathroom was renovated. The wireless internet was ok - I couldn't get on my vpn but I was able to send and receive emails quickly. The view of the harbor did help out on the basics of the room.

Food was ok. Nice cafe on the property.

Given the options available, I will be staying here again if I have to come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imari96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
258 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great room for staying before or after a sailing charter - Would and will stay again :) All the staff were very friendly rooms were better than expected and above average but can't complain about anything. I will be back on my next charter :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CANADIANOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you want top notch service and a stunning setting, this won't be the place for you, but if your after easy comfort and you're not too demanding you'll feel right at home. The rooms are a good size and they are clean and well maintained. Good TV options too, but you should not be watching TV, you should be out on a boat and sailing the islands. The resort fronts on the the harbor so you can look out your room window and see the sail boats coming and going. There is a not very good, restaurant named Charlies, go for drinks but don't eat there. The pool area is adequate, but could use some updating. This place is idea for travelers who have just spent a week on a boat and are looking for a dry bed and a warm long shower after a week at sea. If you're staying on dry land the whole time though, you may be able to find a more suitable place.

Room Tip: Ground floor facing the harbor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook
Level Contributor
313 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Rooms at the Mariner Inn in Road Town are quite basic. One suspects there is not much plaster over the cinderblock construction and the bathroom will never be featured on HGTV. But it is clean and feels spacious and friendly. And best of all, one falls asleep hearing the sounds of the sailboat fittings at the Moorings. It is a place mainly for sailors. Lots of people stay the day before they go off on a sail, or the day following. And it is perfect for all that.

There is a fine pool, with bar next to it, that is lively and yet available for laps or water aerobics or just floating to cool off.

I stayed for business and it suited me fine: I could walk into Road Town meetings or get a $5 ride in or out. The Internet is reliable all over the property. The staff is friendly and competent.

There are three on site restaurants: Charlie's is a wallless one in a corner of the docks with a lively bar, quiet tables, a reliable menu that almost always has lobster as a special [and it IS special - try the lobster salad, which is huge chunks of the fresh lobster piled atop a gorgeous set of fresh green - no mayo]; there are also a larger, plainer restaurant with more buffet choices; and a combo morning sweets shop/couple of nights Indian restaurant.

Additionally, there is a little bakery-take out of home-made dishes just steps away AND The French Deli not 7 minutes walk where the cheeses and pates and smoked fish and meats are superb as are the breads on which they serve the sandwiches.

There is a spa, at which all the fanciness that does not exist elsewhere on the property is properly concentrated. good variety of excellently performed service. delightful.

For me, it is a perfect antidote to long, intense days of work: a relaxing, reliable retreat.

Room Tip: Water view is spectacular. The suites are much more modern but you pay for what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eitravel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you have a sleep aboard, then you have to walk to the shower, the head etc. If you book a room at Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel, then you can get all your provisions and wardrobe stowed away, go to bed in your Hotel room, and if you have prostate like myself you have a head (and a shower.) Then, in the morning you will be fresh, your provisions and wardrobe are stowed and you are ready to set sail. There are a number of restaurants: Charlie's Bar and Grill, Ginny's cafe and the main restaurant.
When you sail back to base, you can reverse the process, instead of having to rush off somewhere else, take your time, pack your gear and go back to the Mariner Inn Hotel. The Hotel staff are very friendly as were the staff at the Moorings Base. Our Moorings 3900 catamaran "We Are Nuts" was one hundred percent ship shape and we had a lot of fun sailing her. This is not the Hotel de Paris which was our billet last month but for convenience it was very well located. Provisions, electronics (RentPort) and other services are within walking distance. Tortola Food and Beverage will give you a form, you fill it out and they will load your provisions on your ship.
NB The internet is sluggish and there was no desk in the room.
NBB We enjoyed the restaurants during our two nights there.

Room Tip: I recommend a room with a view of the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank not_johntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just got back to BC after nine days sailing in the BVIS on a 48ft. Lagoon catamaran that we rented from the Moorings. The sailing was wonderful but we had nothing but problems with the boat. The heads were not working properly which made for a stinky uncomfortable trip. We are quite certain the Moorings people were aware of the problems but rented us the boat anyway. There are many other boat charter companies that may be a better and cheaper bet! The Moorings group did not really care that our trip was ruined!

Room Tip: Rent your boat from someone else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Road Town hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
4.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.8 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#8 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#9 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel

Property: Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Address: 2 Wickhams Cay, Road Town, Tortola
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings-Mariner Hotel Road Town
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing