We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea View Hotel(Road Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fort Burt Hotel(Road Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Icis Villas(Tortola)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
31
80
66
30
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
80
66
30
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscharlies restaurantpool sidebareboat charterocean viewboatsdockyachtshipferryhurricane
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 236 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you want top notch service and a stunning setting, this won't be the place for you, but if your after easy comfort and you're not too demanding you'll feel right at home. The rooms are a good size and they are clean and well maintained. Good TV options too, but you should not be watching TV, you should be out on a boat and sailing the islands. The resort fronts on the the harbor so you can look out your room window and see the sail boats coming and going. There is a not very good, restaurant named Charlies, go for drinks but don't eat there. The pool area is adequate, but could use some updating. This place is idea for travelers who have just spent a week on a boat and are looking for a dry bed and a warm long shower after a week at sea. If you're staying on dry land the whole time though, you may be able to find a more suitable place.

Room Tip: Ground floor facing the harbor is best.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Rooms at the Mariner Inn in Road Town are quite basic. One suspects there is not much plaster over the cinderblock construction and the bathroom will never be featured on HGTV. But it is clean and feels spacious and friendly. And best of all, one falls asleep hearing the sounds of the sailboat fittings at the Moorings. It is a place mainly for sailors. Lots of people stay the day before they go off on a sail, or the day following. And it is perfect for all that.

There is a fine pool, with bar next to it, that is lively and yet available for laps or water aerobics or just floating to cool off.

I stayed for business and it suited me fine: I could walk into Road Town meetings or get a $5 ride in or out. The Internet is reliable all over the property. The staff is friendly and competent.

There are three on site restaurants: Charlie's is a wallless one in a corner of the docks with a lively bar, quiet tables, a reliable menu that almost always has lobster as a special [and it IS special - try the lobster salad, which is huge chunks of the fresh lobster piled atop a gorgeous set of fresh green - no mayo]; there are also a larger, plainer restaurant with more buffet choices; and a combo morning sweets shop/couple of nights Indian restaurant.

Additionally, there is a little bakery-take out of home-made dishes just steps away AND The French Deli not 7 minutes walk where the cheeses and pates and smoked fish and meats are superb as are the breads on which they serve the sandwiches.

There is a spa, at which all the fanciness that does not exist elsewhere on the property is properly concentrated. good variety of excellently performed service. delightful.

For me, it is a perfect antidote to long, intense days of work: a relaxing, reliable retreat.

Room Tip: Water view is spectacular. The suites are much more modern but you pay for what you get.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eitravel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you have a sleep aboard, then you have to walk to the shower, the head etc. If you book a room at Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel, then you can get all your provisions and wardrobe stowed away, go to bed in your Hotel room, and if you have prostate like myself you have a head (and a shower.) Then, in the morning you will be fresh, your provisions and wardrobe are stowed and you are ready to set sail. There are a number of restaurants: Charlie's Bar and Grill, Ginny's cafe and the main restaurant.
When you sail back to base, you can reverse the process, instead of having to rush off somewhere else, take your time, pack your gear and go back to the Mariner Inn Hotel. The Hotel staff are very friendly as were the staff at the Moorings Base. Our Moorings 3900 catamaran "We Are Nuts" was one hundred percent ship shape and we had a lot of fun sailing her. This is not the Hotel de Paris which was our billet last month but for convenience it was very well located. Provisions, electronics (RentPort) and other services are within walking distance. Tortola Food and Beverage will give you a form, you fill it out and they will load your provisions on your ship.
NB The internet is sluggish and there was no desk in the room.
NBB We enjoyed the restaurants during our two nights there.

Room Tip: I recommend a room with a view of the marina.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank not_johntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just got back to BC after nine days sailing in the BVIS on a 48ft. Lagoon catamaran that we rented from the Moorings. The sailing was wonderful but we had nothing but problems with the boat. The heads were not working properly which made for a stinky uncomfortable trip. We are quite certain the Moorings people were aware of the problems but rented us the boat anyway. There are many other boat charter companies that may be a better and cheaper bet! The Moorings group did not really care that our trip was ruined!

Room Tip: Rent your boat from someone else!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Bugs on the counters, outdated bathrooms, no microwave but have a fridge, and unfriendly staff made my stay horrible. I will never stay at this hotel again. The town is dirty and full of litter too so I also don't plan on returning to Tortola. No gym either if you are looking to workout.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews