We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy with this venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Moorings-Mariner Inn has no love or empathy. Nor ability to think laterally. We booked 2 double rooms and paid a premium rate fully, months in advance. Our SA Airways flight arrived late in NYC, which made us arrive a day late in BVI. But we did call the hotel from JFK, and they said they could easily accommodate us the next night.
After 56 hrs nonstop traveling & delays, our tired little family arrived at the Inn 10 pm. Instead of welcoming us and showing us rooms for a good night's sleep, they asked us to pay again, and then go thru all the mission of claiming back our initial payment from H/office in Clearwater.
It was just too much for tired folk at that late hour. Where is the love? where is the human touch?Are all hotel managers now tied to dogma and paperwork? Are they too scared/robotic to make decisions? - I leave it to you if you want to go there ........

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Ingrid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 234 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

I stayed here on business in one of the older rooms which had not been refurbished. There was no desk which was a shame. The air conditioning broke one evening, but the hotel arranged or me to sleep in another room. There is a good, but expensive spa close by. Charlie's restaurant is alo close and good. This is a reasonably central hotel with reasonable service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VJHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were a little concerned to stay here having read the reviews but we were very pleasantly surprised. On arriving 4 hours late because of our flight, we were greeted with polite, helpful staff who waited up to cook us supper. Our family room was beautiful, clean, spacious and with a fantastic view of the harbour. If you are going on a Moorings or Sunsail cruise, I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at the Mariner Inn twice on the same trip, pre-booked at the beginning and end of a week of yacht charter. On the positive side, both rooms were very clean and cool. But no hot water at all, our commode leaked and the shower sprays were not contained by stupidly-designed glass screens, so water went all over the floor and had to be continually sopped-up with towels. It was very inconvenient not to be able to check-in until mid-afternoon (promises of earlier check in, but continually delayed). Root of latter problem seems to be cleaning staff not starting to work on any room until late morning. Won't stay there again and can't recommend, especially at its exorbitant price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our family of 4 (including 2 boys in 20s) sailed with the Moorings for a week in June. Our hired captain was a 30-year, local veteran of sailing trips. We hoped he would be a great guide for us, both regarding sailing and the BVIs. Instead, he was aloof, disinterested in us, hung over every morning (making him mute most days until about 1pm). Even though I asked him to think of things that would especially interest our older boys he made no effort. Consequently, we nearly missed the "Full Moon Party" by a day....had I not been alerted to it and asked if we could re-route. Basically, our skipper and the entire Moorings staff seemed very bored with their jobs and not at all customer-service oriented. When we checked in after a week out on the boat, the gal at the desk mumbled about our paperwork, never smiled and NEVER asked us how our trip was. Nor did anyone offer information on where the Moorings showers are (right near check-in and beautiful!) even though our captain and others around knew we were dying to get a proper shower after a week at sea. We also thought it was an egregious oversight that the Moorings doesn't warn you that at nearly every mooring at each little island there is a $25 - $35 fee. We went through cash like crazy because of this! In general, the BVIs are beautiful, but the Moorings staff and the Islanders themselves, get a "D". Next time we'll go somewhere where the people are friendly and seem to actually want and appreciate our business.

Room Tip: Go somewhere where the locals are friendlier! (BVIs, Bermuda, Puerto Rico)
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

After a week in a 46 ft cat we stayed at the Mariner Inn. We had to wait several hours for our room. It was clean and almost cool. The renovated room had a lovely shower...with no hot water. We hung out at the pool while waiting for our room. All the hot water seemed to be in the less that clear, fresh water poo . The air conditioning was barely adequate to handle the summer heat. This is an average motel room with resort prices.

Speaking of the boat...we urge careful inspection as our boat suffered from differed maintenance. In 9 days, all three zones of air conditioning broke, a propeller fell off and the anchor lights failed. The fuel, tach and amp gauges were unreliable and the engines were out of sync with the controls. The auto lighter in the stove/oven failed after two days. We found lose or missing screws throughout. The dinghy outboard was a challenge to start when cold.

In their credit, The Moorings attended to the lost prop on a Sunday afternoon sending a new part and a diver to Virgin Gorda within hours of our call. As experienced sailors we took it all in stride and enjoyed the many great locations in the BVI.

First timers do your reserch and ask lots of questions...before, during and after.

Room Tip: Choose renovated, Marinia view only
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Bad ending to a great trip. Spent 11 days on the new 393 Powercat then tried to check into an Ocean Front room for a couple of nights. That is when the problems started. The desk clerk kept telling us 30 more minutes for over 3 hours. Finally he checked us in but gave us a double queen instead of the king I reserved over a year earlier. I called the desk and was first asked when I made the reservation then was told sorry we are fully booked and your room was mistakenly given to someone else. He proceeded to ask if a queen bed wasn't large enough for my wife and I. Went to Moorings desk and asked to see the hotel manager. He told the desk clerk he would come to my room, he never came. Wife decided to go ahead and shower but no hot water. Called the hotel manager and he says let me check into what I can do and I'll call you back. They fixed the water heater and we unpacked. Finally a couple more hours passed and I called again. This time he says we are cleaning a king room for you to move to. How did they become not fully booked in a few hours? To top it off the clerk checked us and our guests in for 1 night. The next day we were both locked out of our rooms. I just rebooked the boat for next year but will stay somewhere else on the end of the trip. Stay away!

Stayed: June 2012
2  Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
4.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.8 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
283 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#8 of 13 in Road Town
43 reviews
5.2 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel

Address: 2 Wickhams Cay, Road Town, Tortola
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Road Town
Price Range: $192 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings-Mariner Hotel Road Town
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing