We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stick to the ocean side rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stick to the ocean side rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

The only reason to stay here is if you are part of OffShore Sailing School or if you're on your way onto or off of a rented boat. Otherwise, find somewhere else on the other side of the island.

Parts of this hotel are fine - choose an upper, ocean view (upgraded room), eat out or at Charlie's. Don't stay in the harbor rooms (not upgraded, and worse than Motel 6) and don't eat at the restaurant by the pool. C&J's barbecue down the road is great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSnowReport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    76
    66
    29
    28
See reviews for
42
68
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey shore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at the Mariner Inn the night before and after our charter trip. The ocean/marina view rooms are very nicely done the bathrooms have sliding doors that open it up to the entire room. The beds were way to soft my husband had backpain for three days. The garden room that my relatives stayed in was old and dated for the price they should be updated. The staff was very friendly especially the waitstaff at the restaurants. Food is decent but expensive. $24.00 for a 12in thin crust pizza at Charlies. If not for the convenience of being the Moorings base I would recomend staying else where.
For anyone chartering from moorings and provisioning once you arrive, Bobbys Market is an awful store,dirty and not well stocked. Rite Way is your better choice and is within walking distance they deliver your groceries also.It was three days before we found a bottle of mustard and that was on Virgin Gorda
Be aware pretty much everything shuts down at 4pm.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aquamama5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We booked three rooms the day before and the day after our boat charter with Moorings. We appreciate the concept of island time but the room was not ready until 4:00 PM since the room wasn't clean. The front desk clerk was ambivelent about the delays or any of the problems encountered with the room. The shower only dripped out and there was no hot water on both days even though they were a week apart. When we asked about the problem we were told that the lack of hot water was a result of the low pressure. Apparently the water pressure and lack of any hot water was an ongoing conditon they don't feel the need to fix. I agree with the above reveiw and the hotel is trading on a captive audience with the Moorings charters. The hotel is not worth the convenience of being close to the marina. We enjoyed the Moorings charter and the charter operation is well run but we will definitely be booking another hotel next time. There woud be know reason for anyone to book this hotel if not chartering a boat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gresher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Road Town hotels

Calgary
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

First pay extra$$ for a marina view second floor room, ours was great!
Food hmm processed cheese on chef salad was a true turnoff. Burger was surprisingly good at $19 dollars US!
Very expensive expect to pay $7-$10 more than you would anywhere else.
Pool/bar area ok but restaurant service is very slow I mean it takes them 20 minutes from your first coffee to actually taking your order to 35 minutes of waiting for your food. (I am not kidding we had to endure this 4 times on two separate days)
Sailing charter now Sunsail is great !
Make sure to hit Peter Island even though mooring fees are stupidly expensive the place is gorgeous.
Bitter End yacht club is nice too
The Baths not to be missed and worthy of two mooring ball days your not going to see anything like this for the rest of your sail.
The Indians are not to be missed for snorkling.
Note: this local is truly for sailing and the local fauna is very scrub like and not tropical and lush.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadaRockiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

This was not our first trip sailing thru Tortola and against our better judgement we stayed at the Mariner again. Foolish move on our part. Once again check in was at the lesiure of the staff, which was 2 hours past the posted time. Scarily, this was BETTER than last time! And to quote the rude lady at the front desk, check in hours are later on the weekend! Really? That isn't what the signs say! Even though we had reserved a king bed months in advance we were given a room with two youth beds. We had no hot water and our AC was not working either. When I contacted the front desk I was told that was the only room available and the water would be hot soon. When I asked about AC repair, I was asked if it was really broken. Needless to say the next morning the water was still cold and the AC was still (really) broken. The Mariner lacks staff with the drive to get anything done. The amount of trash on the grounds is disturbing. Overhearing staff say "thats not my job" was even more so. The toilet paper in the public restrooms was not placed on the rollers, but tossed on the back of the toilet instead. This place would be a very convienent base for sailing, however once again I was left with a bad taste in my mouth. What that I found the hardest was I spent almost 30 minutes in the morning trying to get a person on the phone and I received the same voice mail message at every extension. If that had been an emergency...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

High priced dump trading on a captive audience at yachting marina. Our room, after some bargaining, came down to the princely sum of $200 + tax (U.S.) for one night, no breakfast included. The room was worn and the bathroom was old and not nice. Toilet flush didn't work, no plug in wash basin, pathetic shower due to lack of maintenance, grubby looking grout between floor tiles. Telly in room but this didn't work properly either.
"Sort of" kitchenette in room with rusty fridge, and two cups & saucers with one tea bag and some other bits. No milk and no way of boiling water for the tea or coffee.
Other features? $18 (U.S.) for 2 glasses of white wine at the bar. We ended our intake at that point.
Recommend trying somewhere else, but reports of others we had weren't so good, and this is the only hotel at the marina. We did enjoy 3 nights at Hummingbird House up the road - about 5-10 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Avoid it if you can! If not, negotiate a BIG reduction and take your chance. They may be needy of tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ludomcgurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Although, I paid a five star price for the newly renovated room, this is one of the worst travel experiences in my life. Overpriced, NO, let me reiterate NO concern for the guest's stay in anyway at all from the staff. Our renovated room was nice, but the other rooms appeared inhabitable. Stay Away!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
4.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.8 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#7 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.0 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel

Property: Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Address: 2 Wickhams Cay, Road Town, Tortola
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings-Mariner Hotel Road Town
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing