We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better after renovations, still no hot water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Better after renovations, still no hot water”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Arrived late at night, amazed at lovely decor, comfortable bed, flower petals, folded linens...kept thinking, is this the same old Mariner Inn? Answer: YES after another wretchedly cold shower. Someone has scrawled "H" on shower wall in each room to mark handle position, but unless you know the secret trick to using the handle, you will shiver as I did. Expensive, nice but clueless staff...the same old Mariner. Good choice before/after charter if you have no other option.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninko999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    76
    66
    29
    29
See reviews for
43
68
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The Moorings is a sailboater’s heaven. The worlds largest boat rental facility. Buzzing with activity. Docks, boats, grounds, and hotel facility are meticulously maintained.
Our room was in the new section (#13) overlooking the harbor. The room was large and well appointed. With furnishings that included a king bed, flat screen TV, marble counter tops, huge walk in shower room, and frig. Lots of help with luggage and room service. The pool and outside bar were perfect. Two on site restaurants served up great meals. “Charlie’s” was of gourmet quality with service to match.

Check in was seemless with all reservations in place. Reservations for all of the facilities are made through the main office in Florida. Quiet and restful. Taxi service to downtown shopping and dinning is only a few minutes away.

A must return

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

A warning to all. We had sailing trip with Moorings in the BVI out of tortola. We were told they had never had a theft of any personal items before so didn't need to use a safe etc. While we were at Brewer's Bay (anchored) two men swam to our boat and stole all of our cash (approx $1200). We reported this to the police. Apparently theyve had numerous thefts before per the head of the Tortola branch. We believe the captain was in on it. Additionally, our motor broke for 1.5 days. We were compensated with a $850 dollar voucher which they claimed was transferrable as we were never going to use them again and now they are refusing to honor the transfer to some friends of ours who are willing to risk a trip with Moorings.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nwcycler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Road Town hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed here on a Tuesday night at the tail end of a bareboat charter from Horizon Yacht Charters. The room was spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The bed and linens were high quality and absolutely heavenly after sleeping 8 nights on a 32' sailboat (which is heavenly in it's own way). The shower (no bathtub here) was quite nice (relatively speaking - see above about 8 nights on a boat) but the hot water was not consistent. A/C worked very well. Paid around $200 for a Mariner view room. Sushi restaurant sadly only open Weds-Sat so we settled for a nice dinner at Charlie's Restaurant. Good service and the food was perfectly acceptable. The staff were very friendly and helped arrange an early morning taxi for us to get back to the airport.
Very satisfied with value for the money - keep in mind your expecations/standars sometimes need to be adjusted when visiting any island location.

Room Tip: Second floor Marina view rooms have vaulted ceilings and a much better view than first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wingonwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

This was our third trip to the BVI's and our third time to stay at the Mariner both before we got on the sailboat and when we got off the sailboat. We stayed at the Mariner the night before we got on our boat in the newest building, the Ocean View rooms and we were very satisfied. We paid $360 for two queen size beds and and twin size cot. The room was very clean and comfortable and we were very satisfied.
When I reserved our room for the night when we would be getting off the boat, I was told there were no Ocean View Rooms available so we would have to get two rooms in another building at the cost of $265 for each room. We were traveling with our two grown children and we would have preferred to have all been in one room but we went ahead and booked the two rooms after we were reassured we would still be in one of the newly remodeled buildings. Well...unfortunately that wasn't the case.
We were tired after being on the sailboat for a week and we were really looking forward to a nice hot shower and some rest before traveling home the next day. However, there was no hot water. We called the front desk several times and were told they were working on the problem and it would be resolved that afternoon. Needless to say, we never did get a hot shower. Apparently this is a constant problem for this hotel and even tho the front desk was very kind, it was obvious that it is something they deal with everyday.
We love sailing with the Moorings and have no complaints with them, but we were very disappointed with the hotel this time. We felt taken advantage of because we paid so much money to stay at a nice hotel but they couldn't even offer the most basic service.
We won't be staying at the Mariner Inn the next time we sail with the Moorings in Tortola!
The price should reflect what they offer and it doesn't!

Room Tip: If you do book a room here, be sure to get an Ocean View room or you will be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here after traveling twelve hours. There is no direct flight to Tortola from California. While we slept our charter boat was being provisioned. Hotel and Moorings staff very helpful and gracious. The two restaurants were great.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mer90274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed at the Moorings for 2 nights on the front end of our trip and one on the tail end and were really pleased. Our room had been recently updated, and was modern and comfortable. The air conditioning worked great and we had a wonderful second story deck that overlooked the marina. A in room refrigerator was great for storing snacks and beverages that we purchased at the French Deli that is just a short walk away. We had night caps at Charlie's (the restaurant and bar located right there), coffee at the coffee shop and really loved having a fast, free internet connection. We chilled at the pool, drinking Painkillers, and enjoyed being able to walk into Road Town for shopping and dinner. It was quiet, clean and in general, we found the staff to be kind and helpful.

Room Tip: We loved our marina facing room! Just make sure you get the remodeled rooms - they are clearly in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pulpo_Grande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
4.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.8 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#8 of 13 in Road Town
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Cay BVI Hotel
Village Cay BVI Hotel
#11 of 13 in Road Town
72 reviews
5.2 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel

Property: Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Address: 2 Wickhams Cay, Road Town, Tortola
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings-Mariner Hotel Road Town
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing