We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maria's by the Sea
Nearby Hotels
Fort Burt Hotel(Road Town)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$245
$238
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sea View Hotel(Road Town)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
50
131
87
19
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
131
87
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry dockwithin walking distancecity viewclean roomsnice hotelbusiness tripless than a minute walkconvenient locationthird floortaxi standcoffee machineocean view roomnice balconyhotel restaurantservice was slowsuperior roomroom was large
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 296 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2009

Maria's is definitely not a place for a "vacation" but they are an oasis of fun in a sleepy town. After having our reservation bumped from Long Bay resort on Easter week---overbooked maybe?--Maria's was able to give us a room. It turned out to be a blast there. It has a small bar and restaraunt overlooking the boats in the marina there. The people are laid back and fun and the food is pretty good. It is ideally located in Road Town within walking distance of most restaraunts if you want to wander out. The rooms were comfortable and clean and you can watch the action and hubbub on all the yachts in the marina. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank frequentescaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

8 of us stayed at Maria's the day before, and the day after our charter cruise. As the planner for the trip, I was anxious when we checked in. However, the staff put us at ease with taxi information, local restaurants,helpfull hints, relaxed but thorough service, and clean comfortable rooms. You may be assured that if you are interested in seeing and doing the most with limited time, Maria's is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

We were looking for a nice clean moderately priced room for one night prior to taking the morning ferry to Anegada. Based on the advice of both tripadvisor and traveltalkonline we decided upon Maria's by the Sea. Maria's fit the bill perfectly. The rooms are simple but were very clean, had a nice balcony, was moderately priced, working air conditioning, and a block or two easy walk to the ferry dock..... exactly what we were looking for. We did not eat at the restaurant but did visit the bar and enjoyed some nice conversation. If you plan to be on Tortola for more than a couple days you may consider staying elsewhere on the island, such as in Cane Garden Bay, but Maria's is perfect if you need a night or two in Road Town before taking the ferry or a charter.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mtheiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2008

I stayed at Maria's for one night prior to a ferry trip to Anegada. I booked a superior room with a balcony overlooking the harbor and other islands in the distance. The room was large and clean. I could sit on the balcony for hours listening to the waves and watching the traffic come in/out of the harbour. There is no beach, but a small pool area.

It's a short walk from the ferry terminal -- take a right when arriving and keep turning toward the water until you're there. Check in was no problem. If you have an early ferry to catch make sure you check out the night before as the front desk does not open until 7 - 8 am each morning.

The hotel is in the heart of Roadtown, but I didn't venture out. I'm not sure of the walk to area restaurants except for Pusser's which is very close. The restaurant at Maria's was good.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bamabreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

Tortola: Maria's by the Sea
February, 2008

Maria's is a basic motel to rest your head on Tortola before or after a boat trip. There is nothing fancy about the place but it has the basics and is clean. The staff moves fairly slow but that is typical for the islands so it is really no different than anywhere else. There is a restaurant on site which is a nice convenience to grab breakfast or a lunch snack.

The location is right on the water although there is no beach and it is literally across the street from the downtoan Roadtown area so you can walk anywhere for dinner (which is nice considering the cab rides are pretty expensive on Tortola).

If you are looking for a basic, safe, clean place to stay, I would recommend Maria's.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babs35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews