We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reluctant to let the word out...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Salida, Co. USA
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Reluctant to let the word out...”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I'm reluctant to talk about this place for selfish reasons. There on Tortola you've got tons of places to go to for beaches and such, but I'm think inning this Marina/boat dock/beach and pool area is special.
They've got places to eat, an ice cream shop, a clean pool that can be in the partial shade, and even yoga on the beach.
We stayed on a sail boat there so I don't know about the hotel, but their shower area was dress right dress clean, all the people are quite friendly, I just don't think you can miss with this one.
You'd get off the St. Thomas ferry at Soper'sHole, then it's a nice short taxi ride around the water for maybe ten minutes to Nanny's.
Check them out, Salida1048

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salida1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    69
    29
    21
    12
See reviews for
38
57
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bardstown, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have stayed here a few times and each time the rooms are big, clean and comfortable, the staff is great. We are usually chartering a boat in the morning and choose to stay here rather than on the boat the night before. Works great. They also have a great pool, beach and restaurant on site so plenty for the kids to do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentuckyTwinTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of our sail and at the end. Very cute, convenient, islandy. The little "cottages" are the best, on the return trip we had rooms on the second floor, ok, but hard to lug all your stuff up two flights of stairs (no one offers to help you). The ceilings are high in all the rooms, spacious, air conditioned with little "kitchenettes". Good choices to eat, do a little shopping and just very handy when you are sailing out of Nanny Cay. We never turned the TV on, so can't say how that works and I always pull the bedspread/comforter down and would have liked two top sheets, but hey you are in the islands. Nice little pool right by the lagoon, beach bar area. Fun to look at all the boats there. Had a wonderful time, nice people.....all in all very good.

Room Tip: If you have trouble getting up stairs, make sure to book one of the little cottage/casita rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was working in the BVI and stayed in the Nanny Cay hotel with my wife for 3 weeks-she was on holiday and spent the day in the marina area. What an excellent and safe place to stay. The rooms are spacious, clean, with high ceilings,balcony , two comfortable double beds and a cooking area . There is air conditioning and a ceiling fan which is more than enough to keep the room cool in hot weather. We read the other reviews re mosquitoes but these are not in any way a problem-yes they exist and my wife used mosquito repellent but I didn't bother-they are definitely not a problem. The marina area is fantastic with the beach, pool and beach bar-not to mention Captain Mulligans sports bar near the entrance. All the staff are very friendly and helpful-nothing has been too much trouble. Many thanks to manager Sam and her staff for making our stay in the BVI an excellent experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA State
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you are chartering out of Nanny Cay this is the most convenient hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable and have a microwave and a mini-fridge. The room could use some more lights. We thought the price a bit high for what you get, but if you want to stay at Nanny Cay, it is your only choice. If you want to get back and forth to Road Town, a cab ride for 2 runs $16 before tip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed in Upper Level standard room for 5 nights. Room was spacious, colorfuly decorated, but poorly maintained for an extended period. Room consisted of an 18" roundtable some chairs, non-working TV, 2 Queen beds (Very comfy), small fridge, coffeemaker, balcony with 2 chairs. I was unaware the power outlets on the Exterior wall were inoperable, so my computer & cellphone never charged. After two days of reporting to the front desk that 2 Light bulbs were burned out in the bath/dressing area (more like a closet) making it so dark we could barely dress for our business meetings, and that the shower head was so coroded it could barely supply a 1/4 inch stream of water, making showers nearly impossible; the toilet ran insessently. No one seemed to care, despite all the staff being friendly and "hopeful" that maintenance would handle these.... On day 3 I finally pleaded with a desk clerk - she provided me with ONE LIGHT BULB, which was their last and only attempt to offer any remedies. Her demeanor appeared to suggest she would be in trouble for making that effort. I would only stayed here because of location, if you need to be in the Marina. The restaurant food was GREAT, but that is totally irrelevant to the hotel property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the resort for one night and enjoyed a nice dinner at the restaurant. Check in was easy and the room was clean. The proximity to the marina was perfect. We started our fantastic sailing trip with Mark and Sally from the Viking Dream the next morning. What a faboulus trip.
Would stay at Nanny Cay again for the same reason for one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MARCUS024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
3.1 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
402 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.7 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#9 of 13 in Road Town
131 reviews
4.1 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
382 reviews
2.1 mi away
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
#6 of 13 in Road Town
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel

Property: Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel
Address: Nanny Cay | Tortola, Road Town VG1110, Tortola
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Road Town
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nanny Cay Resort and Marina is a convenient and comfortable hotel with an old school Caribbean feel. Everything you need is an easy walk from your room and throughout the resort you'll find friendly and helpful staff. Dine in one of the three bars/restaurants, shop for souvenirs or enjoy an iced coffee at the coffee shop. You can also do a yoga class on the deck overlooking the beach, join a day sail or dive trip, rent a power boat or car, right from the marina, or spend the day chilling by the pool or on the beach. Leave the hustle and bustle behind and really unwind in tropical breezes and balmy evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanny Cay Marina Hotel Road Town
Nanny Cay Marina And Hotel
Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing