We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place Sucks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Reviewed February 1, 2008

I stayed her in Jan 2008 on three separate nights and the main problem is the terrible attitude of the reception staff. I travel very regularly and the reception staff at Nanny Cay have to be the rudest most ignorant that I have ever encountered, everything,even checking you in is to much trouble and no matter how nice you try to be you are still treated with contempt and ignored. A word of advice, never, never, go to reception for any reason whilst the reception staff are eating (which is most of the time) this will result in a level of hatred only generally handed out by an ex-spouse. The rooms are very average about like an old 70’s Days Inn, rarely have water and sometimes have no water or power. When the water is working it tends to mix with sewage and make a re-appearance in the shower. Road Town or West End is only about 15 mins away so unless you just have to be close to the Marina stay somewhere else. Although the hotel do not own the Peg Leg restaurant I think the staff must be related to the reception staff as the experience at the restaurant was about the same.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GdTimeCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 176 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Nanny Cay Hotel en route to a Moorings charter week. We took the advice of a complete stranger who stayed there several years ago, and chose this hotel. And, we found it to be very good, especially at the price they charge. We especially appreciated the flowers in our room, the view of the marina we had and the service we received when we asked about arranging tours or taxis. Although we always take common sense security precautions in any hotel, we felt very safe at Nanny Cay. Peg Legs Pub was a wonderful, eclectic experience. It was a pleasant change from the sometimes surly attitude we experienced from people in St Thomas, US Virgin Islands. And it was great to go slow (as in Island Time) and just get ready for our sailing. We are sorry that we didn't go back to Nanny Cay for a night or two after our sailing, but we will always have positive memories of it. We do a lot of travelling and found this hotel to be well worth the visit.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank SailorCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2007

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Lu&Johnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2006

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Hofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gpico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2005

5  Thank Firesail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2005

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
3.1 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.5 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
283 reviews
2.1 mi away
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Road Town
234 reviews
6.5 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel

Address: Nanny Cay | Tortola, Road Town VG1110, Tortola
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Road Town
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Road Town
Price Range: $100 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nanny Cay Resort and Marina is a convenient and comfortable hotel with an old school Caribbean feel. Everything you need is an easy walk from your room and throughout the resort you'll find friendly and helpful staff. Dine in one of the three bars/restaurants, shop for souvenirs or enjoy an iced coffee at the coffee shop. You can also do a yoga class on the deck overlooking the beach, join a day sail or dive trip, rent a power boat or car, right from the marina, or spend the day chilling by the pool or on the beach. Leave the hustle and bustle behind and really unwind in tropical breezes and balmy evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanny Cay Marina Hotel Road Town
Nanny Cay Marina And Hotel
Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing