We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sebastian's on the Beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Frenchmans(West End)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elm Beach Suites(Road Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Icis Villas(Tortola)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveler rating
143
183
73
22
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
183
73
22
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbomba shackbeach frontbeachfront roomsugar millapple baywest endlong bayseaside villasfull moon partybeautiful beachjost van dykecoal potsurf breaktropical gardensecond floorprivate balconylaid back
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
306 - 311 of 446 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at Sebastian's the week of 11/7 to 11/14/13 in a upper room with no view
but you could still hear the waves pounding the surf even with the windows closed, which made for some good sleeping in a very comfortable bed. Large room with small fridge and coffee in the room and also available in the dinning room. The only thing I wished they had would have been a microwave, which would have came in very handy. We did have a problem with the water pressure but the resort management was able to get this fixed after we brought it up to them without any problem. They were very helpful even giving us a couple gallons of water for the evening. We were on the second flood and we just had to come out the door and see the beautiful sand beach and the sparkling ocean.
There is a restaurant on site, but we did not use it, but did drive to a number of good one's within 10 minutes of Sebastian's. The internet only worked on the patio and then not all the time, a minor problem. There is no swimming pool or fitness center and if you want to go for a walk along the road be very careful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The views are stunning and clearly very popular with surfers. We stayed post catamaran trip so we were really pleased with our large room with sea views, king size bed and en suite facilities. We had dinner and breakfast over. 2 days. The food was excellent and reasonably priced and we enjoyed the free Sebastians after dinner rum. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Some of our party also experienced the visit to Bomba's a short walk along the bay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Well worth the extra for views cross the bay to Jost Van Dyke.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faeriequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed at Sebastian's on the Beach for one night. The hotel is at the far western end of Tortola and right on the north shore. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. This is a great place if you want some quiet time. The beach is maybe 40 feet wide at high tide and there is an elevated section behind the seawall that has some lounge chairs. Only a few deluxe rooms on the beach side have televisions with DVD players; mine was across the road and did not have a TV. They have a selection of maybe 200 DVDs for rental, but this only works if your room has a TV. You'll be able to reach cellular roaming service there, but no internet access. You are off the grid. The front desk clerk was polite and helpful.

If you are driving from EIS, it looks like Ridge Road is the shortest route, but only take this in daylight hours. The road has steep inclines, hairpin turns, and forks in the road where there are no markings as to which leg to take. The better route, longer by miles but quicker by drive time, is to take the route along the southern coast all the way west and then head north. The drive from Road Town is about 20 minutes on the southern route; from EIS it's maybe 35 minutes.

The restaurant's food is good with at least two daily specials. The restaurant patio overlooks the beach. I ordered a steak that was cooked as I requested; it came with a choice of rice or baked potato, but after I ordered the potato they advised that they had none (prepared?). They probably could have microwaved one in ten minutes, but that wasn't offered. I expected that for the price paid that a side salad would come with the meal, but that was not the case. The bar adjoins the restaurant and is pretty well stocked, although with a lot of local rums as you would expect.

Room Tip: You'll have to pay a little more to get a beachside room. But, you'll have a great view than the rooms on the south side of the road. Make sure if you're paying up that you get a room with a TV for evening time, unless you have a companion to keep you entertained.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmakula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

EXCELLENT - Beautiful beach with gorgeous, azure water for swimming. A few rocky areas to navigate around, but extremely relaxing for drifting happily as there was very little surf. Even though we didn't have a beach front room, we could still hear the sound of the waves in our room when we had the windows open - perfect for a great night's sleep. Located very near Bomba Shack which was quite a unique experience.

VERY GOOD - Our #5 room was very large and extremely clean. The beds were comfortable and our ground floor room was very quiet. We were there in August though, so in high season a second level room would probably be better. Rum and beer in the hotel store were reasonably priced, but any pre-packaged food was very expensive, as is usually the case.

AVERAGE - Staff were polite, accomodating and helpful, but not overly welcoming. This may true of most places in the BVI, so nothing against the hotel.

POOR - No place to have a meal within walking distance during low season. Again, not against the hotel, but something to keep in mind.

TERRIBLE - Taxi driver who had an absolute fit when we asked if we could keep our backpacks on our laps instead of putting them in his trunk that was strewn with greasy tools. We refused the ride and he came back to talk to the front desk staff and make an even bigger deal out of it. The woman at the desk just shook her head, smiled and said that he was "funny".

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mydogislovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Sebastian's on the Beach was a fantastic place to stay the day prior to catching our charter out of Nanny Cay. The location is fabulous, right on one of the best beaches in Tortola. We had a garden view room for 85 dollars which was very nice and well equipped. The hotel is also within walking distance of the famous Bomba Shack and Sugar Mill (which we walked to for a very tasty lunch). The restaurant at Sebastian's was also very good and what a view!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank havingfunVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews