We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Derelict, dismal and depressing.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Road Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prospect Reef Resort
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Derelict, dismal and depressing.”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I have just come home from this hotel - having stayed their many times before during its former grandeur. It has now owned by the BVI government and has fallen into complete disrepair. Local people describe it as derelict. It was clean enough but no plugs in the kitchen sink so you cannot wash up, very few working lights in the villa so the place was very dimly lit, sockets hanging out of the walls on wires (death traps), footpaths poorly lit, no hot water for the entire week we were there and this was a top of the range 2 bed villa which was not cheap. A minimal amount of water dripped from the shower. The kitchen was appallingly equipped. The patio was a deathtrap with concrete slaps sticking up out of the floor, no outside lighting and no chairs or sunloungers. The pool had one broken sunlounger and the sea pool was derelict with pipes sticking up, broken glass, the relics of what were once sunshades and, again, one broken sunlounger. The hammocks hanging in the grounds are broken, the grass needs mowing and the whole complex is like a ghost town. Even the beach bar is derelict. The only decent part is the view across the Sir Francis Drake channel and the reception area where there is free internet. The dolphin attraction, which is a concession, is at the far end of the complex. The hotel staff are friendly enough and the location is excellent for access to town but the accommodation is depressing and far below standard. I was shocked to see how much it had deteriorated since last time I was there. The villa we had was noisy on certain nights of the week when there is an event taking place at the onsite restaurant - one night the music went on until 4am. Whatever you do, do not stay here under any circumstances. It is really dismal and poor value for money. This hotel was closed down for a long time and should never have reopened until it was properly renovated and functioning. I would never go back here. There are far better hotels on the island with good facilities and amenities..Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Keep driving and do not stop here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    12
    8
    16
See reviews for
8
3
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Not recommended. We stayed at the resort in November 2010. The rooms were large and clean. There was a group of about 15 of us. None of our rooms were close together because most of the rooms are not habitable. The resort itself is very run down. The "lagoon" was nasty and not a good place to hang out at all. The pool was large and clean. While I was there I was hurt on the property grounds and the hotel refuses to reimbursement me for my medical expenses even though the accident was caused by unsafe walkways on the property. All in all, I would not recommend this hotel. The next time I went to the Virgin Islands, I would probably stay in the US Virgin Islands that would better protect American citizens.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Road Town hotels

London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Its a bit faded but we had a nice big room, with fan and a/c plus a kitchenette which we shared with a couple of cockroaches. They do have a great pool and lots of cute chickens wandering around! There is a sort of sea pool too. Its also right next door to the dolphin prison (if you like that sort of thing).
The staff were very friendly. (and there was no sigh of any mould!!!)
Its not luxurious, but the price was good and we needed to be close to Road Town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PICROLITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

1014 was our room. While we loved the location - sea front - and were pleased to have them offer right away to give us a sea front room instead of top "reef room" (to get to those they have a spiral staircase - no way to get luggage up there easily") it was a big step down from the luxury we had just had over at Srub Island. We expected a step down but the website and pictures in the BVI magazine of this place are very misleading! The pool is no more - it's been filled in. The salt water pool - which is a sectioned off area from the ocean must have, at one time, been a nice place to swim or maybe it's cleaned up in the "on" season. Right now it has garbabe chairs in the water and trash all around it. This resort has seen better days for sure. I can tell it was probably something in it's day - but it's day has come and gone. I think they try to keep the section of rooms we were in (way in the back) as the "nice" rooms. I didn't see any mold and the room was very clean - but it's just so run down. They probably need to tear everything down and build something new. It is an amazing location though - just down the street from Road Town proper. The restaurant/bar right there is very nice and comfortable. To be fair to this place we were looking for something inexpensive for the 2 nights we extended our luxury stay at Scrub Island. We weren't expecting much more and since the place was clean we did enjoy our 2 nights there. While packing a roach did fall from the ceiling on my husband but that was the only one we saw and it is the tropics! We almost stayed at Sebastian's on the Beach which is on the other side of the Island. After seeing it we might have liked it better. But reviews on it were sketchy and I think they didn't have air - in August you need an airconditioner to sleep. So - if you go to Prospect Reef don't expect much and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debsonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Arrived and was told that the room didn't have internet or a fridge. We asked to be moved and after a painful 10 minutes dealing with the desk clerk we were finally advised that they were going to upgrade us AT NO EXTRA CHARGE to a better room. However the room was not quite ready, so we went for a decent meal at their restaurant. When we returned we were driven to the far end of the complex near the sea (room 1016). It was p@ssing it down and we just wanted to get in to make a nice cup of tea. The guy opened the room and the stench of black mould greeted us. We got in and the guy shot off quicker than Usain Bolt as he saw our faces! We spent above 5 mins in the room having a good inspection, taking photo's and video footage because people back home would not believe how bad it was. Firstly the decor makes you want to hang yourself, there was black mould down the walls, big chunks of freshly made black mould insulating the entire base of the patio windows (1" thick) that didn't even open!. We thought the lampshades were made from fur, however upon closer inspection it was found to be a raging infestation of black mould. The metal on the lampshades had rusted and had come away from the mould fabric. The bed was like a bed of nails, linen had a damp and mouldy feel. Ant infestations around the skirting boards with the ant playground in the bathroom sink!! The hairdryer had already blown and had a nasty brown melted underside with a coiled mouldy power cable. The amenities in the room where rank. Checked out after 5 mins. Went back to the reception to get a refund and coincidently the power to the resort failed and they didn't have a generator!! Whatever you do..... don't ever stay here!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheekyB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Do not dismiss Prospect Reef if you are looking for 'no frills' but good value accommodation in a location with great views of all the comings and goings in the bay at Road Town. We happened upon this by chance following a local tip. Spent five nights in a Reef Studio (Ginger block) which provided modest self-catering facilities (toaster, fridge and coffee-maker), air-con and our own patio just 50 metres from the sea. Room was clean and the staff very obliging. The 'olympic size pool' was being maintained in good condition, even if other pools were not in use. We paid only $120 per night for three, plus taxes. We understand that the resort is now owned and operated by the Government following the collapse of the previous ownership structure. The resort is obviously 'in transition' but is worthy of support during this period.

Helpful?
3 Thank Member37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

Went to Tortola for the first time and enjoyed Prospect Reef. Yes, it needs some sprucing up and if you walk around the property you can see the "former grandeur" of a place that has been, to a greater extent, neglected.
The people in Tortola are very freindly and so fun-loving and that it totally made up for any short-comings and, I know freindly, I'm from Barbados!

  • Liked — The room was clean
  • Disliked — The bathroom light did not work for the duration of my stay
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KBKleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Road Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#9 of 13 in Road Town
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
#6 of 13 in Road Town
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Village Cay BVI Hotel
Village Cay BVI Hotel
#11 of 13 in Road Town
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Reef Resort

Property: Prospect Reef Resort
Address: Waterfront Dr. | P.O.Box 104, Road Town, Road Town, Tortola
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Road Town
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prospect Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Also Known As:
Prospect Reef Hotel Road Town
Hotel Prospect Reef
Prospect Reef Resort Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing