We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
No other choice on Sunday

Sitting outside is very hot, windy and the spray does come over the side. The engines are very... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
raymondd51
,
Hilton Head, South Carolina
All VI ferries get you there, but you have to know what to expect

First of all. All reviews of anything in the Virgin Islands from before Hurricane Irma in 2017 are... read more

Reviewed February 6, 2020
N1806ZCtonya
,
Great Neck, New York
Read all 224 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tortola
from $695.00
More Info
from $1,295.00
More Info
from $38.70
More Info
from $1,295.00
More Info
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
41
48
53
27
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
41
48
53
27
55
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 224 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

Took a return trip to Charlotte Amalie from Road Town yesterday aboard the Dream Speed.

The trip was very pleaseant and on time. The only complaint being the air conditioning, which was very cold (Not the norm). One snow bird said it was reminding him of home.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017

We used this ferry often to visit the other nearby islands. They were always on time, clean boats, with clean safety minded workers who didn't mind lending a hand to help you on and off the boat.

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017

We were traveling with a large group of ladies and our daughters and we contacted Smith's Ferry for our transportation to and from St. Thomas to Tortola. Working with Marjorie was a pleasure. She made making our reservations a snap. To booking the entire group on the round trip ferry..to arranging additional transportation to and from the airport. She also hooked us up with a terrific driver in Tortola...who in fact became one of our best buddies. I would highly recommend using Smith Ferry services for anyone looking for a top notch company. You rock Marjorie!!!! Until the next time we are in Tortola... Signed..The Jersey girls

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Gina_nj_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

My experience was in a trip for Road town to Anegada. The ferry was awesome very high speed and stable with a/c and comfortable seats. The departure was on time and arrive early BUT at the afternoon the delay was about 1 hour a half! waiting for back to road town. The staff is not friendly but is attentive.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank davionexploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

Reliable, quick service. Do keep an eye on your bags and how they tag them/where they place them on the boat. This is because the ferry makes two stops. One couple in our group was boarding and the staff person said - "2nd stop"....luckily I caught it and told him we were the 1st stop. The couple had to go back and change tickets. Also, when we got off on the first stop, my suitcase was still on the boat and I had to convince them it was still on there and that I wanted it off. They unload quickly and all the bags are crowded together, so make sure you have yours before the boat leaves!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank escapingohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews