We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smith's Ferry still horrible in 2013”

Smith’s Ferry Services
Ranked #11 of 38 things to do in Road Town
Attraction details
Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Smith's Ferry still horrible in 2013”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just got back from trip where we needed a ferry between St. Thomas and Road Town,Tortola. Traveling on a Sunday and most of the times per the website were not even available. But Smith's had the first available so at 8:30am we booked a round trip ticket with them and proceeded to wait for our 11:15 departure. At 12:00, while we are still waiting the Road Town Fast Ferry left. Smith's didn't leave until12:45 and stopped in the West End making us 2 hours and 45 minutes late into Road Town! Then on the return which we booked out of Road Town, they decided not to run that route and we had to take a taxi all the way to the West End. And the final straw, we got charged full price instead of for the round trip ticket. Don't use this Company! They care nothing about their customers or providing good service. Wish I'd read the previous reviews before our trip...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank EEmmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    43
    46
    23
    53
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the more frequent ferry services”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Have taken Smith Ferries between St Thomas and West End Tortola several times. The staff is always helpful and super friendly. Sure they aren't the newest boats but they are the fastest way to get from BVI to USVI. Don't book return as ferry schedules change daily. Go to the dock the day before if you can or call in the morning. We always leave lots of time when making flights, so the boat being 10-15 minutes late is never an issue. Everything runs on island time as soon as you step off the plane. Simply relax and enjoy the ridiculous nature of Smith Ferries.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sonicgirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“avoid at all costs”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

there are much better alternative ferry services. The departure times are meaningless and their estimates of expected arrivals times wqere figments of their imagination. They also lied when they had mechanic" problems- they advised an alternative boat would arrive "within 5 minutes" it never showed up

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank amazontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not what we thought”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Our ticket said Smith's but the counter said Tortola Fast Ferry, which appealed to us after traveling all day. None of the photos on the Smith's website look anything like the boat we got on yesterday!!! It was called the Bomba Charger and looked like an old tugboat. No outside seating, although our luggage got to ride outside perched on the front of the boat. We left 30 minutes late, had the roughest most miserable ferry ride ever (even though the day was calm), and then our luggage wasn't there when we got to customs. Explore your options and don't be pressured or just follow the crowd. There must be better choices by other companies.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank queenofsqueeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not a fast ferry or reliable”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Smith's advertises as "Fast Ferry". They aren't fast. When we arrived at the port the ferry was 15 minutes late. We left the harbor and 5 minutes into the trip, the motor went out. We had to SLOWLY make our way back to the harbor. We waited over an hour for another boat. Also, the boats are in severe need of refurbishing. The seats are worn and the plastic over the windows are filthy. Unlike the other contributor, this was not part of the fun. If you can find another ferry service, take it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank VolDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith’s Ferry Services also viewed

Road Town, Tortola
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Road Town, Tortola
 

Been to Smith’s Ferry Services? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing