We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsafe at any speed”

Smith’s Ferry Services
Ranked #11 of 38 things to do in Road Town
Attraction details
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unsafe at any speed”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I took this ferry in July, from Road Town to Virgin Gorda on a Sunday afternoon in July. Things were fine on the way over, but the return trip was a nightmare. After boarding a huge group of cricket revelers began packing the boat. Many were drunk. They all made a move for the top deck, which was quickly over-occupied. Regardless of where people situated themselves, there were just too many people on board. On the return trip to Road Town, the ferry nearly toppled over two or three times. It was awful. There were so many small children on board. There was no evidence of floatation devices. The ferry operators were negligent in allowing the top deck to get so packed, which knocked the boat out of balance, and, in general, allowing too many people to get on the boat in general. There are other ferries to Virgin Gorda -- take them.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhappy919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    43
    46
    23
    53
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Reliable Service”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

During our stay on Tortola we used Smith's several times to get to other islands. The schedule always seemed to be reliable.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoJillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Alternative to Smith's Ferry”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The "Bomba Charger" has been operating as a ferry between St. Thomas and Tortola for over 30 years; and it shows. OK it's a fast commute but needs some TLC and more comfortable seating. Road Town Fast Ferry operate the same route with newer vessels.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlejohn511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I planned to take Smith's Ferry from Tortola to Anegada on a Thursday, as we were hoping to travel from St Thomas to Anegada in one day, and the other ferry service does not run on Thursday. Before booking my hotel in Anegada for Thursday night, I called Smith's Ferry and also emailed Marjorie Smith to confirm the days and times I found on their online schedule. I know that it is always best to call ahead and confirm, especially in the low summer season in the islands. Marjorie emailed back that yes, the days and times I wanted were still active. When I spoke to Smith's Ferry on the phone I was told that their schedule is the same as it has been for the last 10 years. This was about a week and a half before our intended travel day. On the day of travel, we were sitting on the ferry to Tortola when Shona from Anegada's Neptune's Treasure hotel (where we had reservations for that night) called to inquire about our arrival time and how we were getting there. When I told her the 3:30 ferry from Tortola, she informed me that Smith's Ferry was no longer running on Thursdays! Apparently the government cancelled their contract with Smith's Ferry about a week ago. When my husband called Marjorie to see what we should do, she said maybe wait around on the dock and see if some boat was going over to Anegada. It's an hour ride and I was not going to go on some random boat. We had to stay in Tortola overnight to catch Speedy's ferry the next morning, and stay an extra day on Anegada (not so bad!) because Speedy's only runs Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Fortunately we swapped our night at Neptune's Treasure so we were not charged for not showing up Thursday night. Long story short, always call ahead to confirm plans on the islands, and then still be open to the unexpected!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Level Contributor
347 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“First time with Smiths”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

First time taking Smith's from St Thomas to Road Town. Pretty well organized and easy to work with. Timing was right on with schedule. Smooth easy ride over.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank IslandBoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith’s Ferry Services also viewed

Road Town, Tortola
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Road Town, Tortola
 

Been to Smith’s Ferry Services? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing