We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best fine dining on island..”
Review of Dove Restaurant

Dove Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 36 Restaurants in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $42
Cuisines: Fusion, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fusion Modern cuisine, craft cocktails, an impressive wine list and the best service around!
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best fine dining on island..”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

This was our first visit to Dove, but we have been to Tortola a number of times. Sugar Mill might get most of the press, but the Dove offers better service, food, and cocktails.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 00_nc_state_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    44
    14
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a kickstart for your senses !”
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Our visit to the Dove after a day of sunning and lazing proved to be the highlight of our stay on Tortola. The warmth of welcome from Paloma and her charming young servers was unexpected and and delightful. The drinks were mixed expertly and obviously by the buzz and atmosphere , everyone there was having a fun night and knew that what The Dove promised, it would deliver.
Dinner really was worthy of any fine dining restaurant , inventive and well cooked, the potstickers were a favourite, I shall be back for more of those.
`Well done to the glossy haired and attentive Paloma, The Dove gets a rave review from me.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Buzzy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We visited the Dove restaurant, not the wine bar upstairs, as couple for dinner. To get to the restaurant from the main road through Road Town (Waterfront Drive) you have to go through the wine bar on the first floor (upstairs) back down to the restaurant and bar on the ground floor. Coming from Main Street, a single lane road with no parking, you can walk in on the ground floor.

The atmosphere is small and cozy; there was quite some noise coming from the bar in the restaurant, but conversations at the table were possible.

We had lamb and tuna. The food quality was good but not as good as you can find in other locations on the island for the same or lower price. Decoration of the courses was innovative and well done. A delightful free appetizer was served.

The let down was that we had ordered the lamb medium-rare, which came barely seared on the outside and the medium-well tuna was well done and dry. When we indicated the tuna dryness to one of the waitresses, she replied "well, that's difficult to make medium-well", and off she went with no further action.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wersonst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant on Tortola!”
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Our party of six walked into Dove Restaurant last night and were treated to the best meal we had in over a week! The owner, Paloma, greeted us and made us feel very welcomed. After looking through the extensive wine list, we made our decision (with her advice...which turned out to be perfect) and then ordered. The amuse bouche for the evening was a taste treat that set the tone for the evening. Our party enjoyed the Dove Steak, the Duck Two Ways, the Seared Ahi Tuna, the pasta special and more. Prior to the entrees we enjoyed Caesar Salad (a beautiful presentation and a terrific dressing) and a serving of sushi.

Dessert was special - homemade ice cream...and, needless to say, it was delicious.

We enjoyed the music and the atmosphere at the Dove and would make it a definite place to eat again. We were staying on the other side of this beautiful, mountainous island...and eating at the Dove made the trip up and over well worth it!

Definitely make plans to spend an evening at the Dove!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AshevilleTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Tapas and Wine List”
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We ate at the Bar Fly restaurant on October 22, 2010 as the Dove hadn't opened for the season yet.

We walked in and were seated inside right away. We had great service, the food was really good and the wine list very extensive! We had a great meal, great views of the water and chats with the locals.

If you are ever in BVI I would recommend this as a top restaurant to go to!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dove Restaurant also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Dove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing