We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
What a great family vacation with our adult "kids" and their spouses!

The boat, diving, sailing, water sports, chilling, eating, diving, exploring, and crew were... read more

Reviewed February 15, 2020
waltergtravels
Heavenly Week

The captain was very knowledgeable about the waters and the weather around BWI. Every place we... read more

Reviewed January 9, 2020
Sebastian3962
,
Charlotte, North Carolina
Read all 75 reviews
  
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
70
3
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
70
3
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hobie cats water toys great family vacation paddle boards great dive kelly diving crew diet boat extraordinaire systems
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 75 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2019

From the minute we boarded - the most accommodating "family" welcomed our group!
EVERY island, wish, ask, want was happily achieved. My first trip to BVI's was wonderful, this trip was AMAZING. So happy to have had an amazing time, the snorkeling was fantastic - finally made it to the Baths and Willie T's - dreams do come true! Did not want to leave the boat and new friends behind! THANK YOU Capt. Scott and crew!

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Flyer518688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019

It's been awhile since we sailed on the Cuan Law - but better late than never.
We had a great time - friendly crew, beautiful surroundings, great diving and delicious food! Reka and Sabina were wonderful dive leaders. They made sure everyone felt comfortable and had a fantastic time. Patrick worked his magic as the boat's chef. His meals were truly extraordinary. In summary, I highly recommend the Cuan Law for anyone interested in a great vacation that includes diving.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank SeeingTheWorld_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2019

Comfortable boat: While not new and shiny the boat is very well established, very well taken care of, recently refreshed due to the hurricanes and very clearly designed with its purpose in mind. The people who operate it know it very well and the few small problems that were encountered were dealt with quickly and without fuss so as to be barely noticeable to the rest of us on board.

Great crew: Efficient, proactive and generally a very positive vibe from all of them. It is clear that an enormous effort has gone into developing procedures and standard solutions over the years that kept things running very smoothly. Also, many They do maintain a very flexible schedule with frequent changes to optimize locations and diving and yet everything still feels like it is running 'on schedule'.

Amazing food: A strong focus on high quality ingredients and detailed preparation/refinement of simple-ish underlying concepts gave much better results than attempts I've seen on other boats of 'faux fancy'. At least two of the meals were the best preparations of a particular item i'd ever had (beating out a few very high end restaurants) and not a single item appeared to be secondary or filler. Through all of that the meals were also not overly heavy or unhealthy - it was easy to eat a lot. Too easy.

It is worth noting that the dive process can feel a bit slow. It is the nature of the boat layout and traffic flow and can be heavily impacted by the group that is there. Best to just relax and accept it - it works fine since nearly every dive is done while moored or anchored and there really is no rush. They do adapt to the crowd, so if everyone is operating with military precision I'm sure it goes pretty quickly - but certain personalities in the mixed (and generally casually paced) group that was present the week I was aboard did find this a bit stressful. Unnecessarily so.

All in all, a top notch operation.

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank mwalker_mw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019

The crew was cheerful, very accommodating and hard working. My family went scuba diving and I did some snorkeling. In the "off time" we kayaked, sailed and paddle boarded. The crew would get anything ready that we requested. The diving conditions were often windy and murky but the crew adjusted the dive sites accordingly. The food was outstanding, too! I would definitely recommend the Cuan Law, especially if you are interested in diving!

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019

By far the best part of this trip was the food at all meals, even those with fish and seafood which is my least favoured cuisine but always prepared with excellent taste and presentation. At least 2 of 6 evening meals featured land lubbers diet of fantastic duck and juicy beef tenderloin. (Chef will prepare an alternate meal if you read the posted menu and don't want today's featured entree).

Reka as the head dive instructor was excellent and one of the best to lead dives including her briefings. The dive sites ranged from poor to excellent including 2 different wrecks, both excellent sites. In reality, from my experience around the world, there are better more consistent dive sites elsewhere, but there are some good sites but not the most prolific in terms of fish, creatures and marine life overall. Coral is trying to survive and may be coming back.

It was nice to have an opportunity to try other activities for those who are not hard core divers, such as hobbie craft, kayak and paddle board. Overall, a good itinerary which does change on the fly based on weather and water conditions.

One of my better live-aboard experiences, especially for the food and crew. Cabin and boat layout are both excellent.

Date of experience: February 2019
3  Thank Holy_Innocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews