We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sailing with Patouche Charters a Must!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Patouche Charters

Patouche Charters
Ranked #6 of 59 Tours in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The BEST DaySail provider in the BVI! Come as Guests, Leave as Friends is our motto and we know you will feel the same after a day at sea with our crew:)
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sailing with Patouche Charters a Must!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed on Scrub Island for a week and knew we needed to find a fun sailing charter to leave the island and experience the BVI's and that we did with Joe! We did two day sails with Joe and both were unique and fun in their own. Joe is very professional, personable, friendly, very knowledgeable about the islands and made us all feel at ease while sailing and snorkeling. He did a fantastic job of taking us to sights where we had the best snorkeling we've ever experienced. He changed our sailing trip plans around so that we could see the Mega Yacht Boats regatta off of Virgin Gorda and gave us a play-by-play as to what each boat was doing and what kind of boats they were. Did I mention he has the best rum punch!!! He took us to Peter Island for lunch for the first day and Saba Rock Resort the second day where we had the best "fish taco's and "Mahi Ruebens". We have been to several different islands/countries in the Caribbean and we always charter a sail boat for the day...Joe has them all beat and we know we will be disappointed when we go somewhere else and it won't be Joe. He truly made our trip memorable and his sailing trips were the highlight of our vacation for the four of us. Our next trip to the BVI's will definitely include a charter or two with Joe. If you go to Tortola and don't hook up with Joe...it's your loss!!! Thank you Joe for giving us more great memories.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank minnigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    12
    4
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
baton rouge, LA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memorable Sail and Stay Trip with Patouche Charters & Captain Joe!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Knowing I wanted to share a boat charter experience with my adult daughter during our recent visit to the BVIs (3/29-4/7/2013), I started researching charter companies in the BVIs. Luckily, I found Captain Joe Standish and Patouche Charter's Sail and Stay package. We were so fortunate to have spent a memorable long Easter Weekend with Joe/Patouche Charters prior to our stay at a local resort. We both wished we could have spent longer on the charter. As it turned out, we were lucky enough to go on a day charter/resort excursion with Patouche Charters/Joe later in the week (more about that later).

I will attempt to put our experience with Patouche Charters and gratefulness to Joe into words (although I know my words can't possibly be adequate). The hospitality Joe extended to us throughout our entire trip was remarkable. He did a fantastic job in making us feel welcomed, relaxed, pampered, comfortable, entertained, and safe. Patouche's motto: "Come as Guests, Leave as Friends" is so true - We now have a new, great friend - Captain Joe. Joe was the most gracious host while at the same time so professional and concerned about our comfort and safety. Couldn't have asked for a better experience - memories were made that will last a lifetime.

My daughter and I arrived separately (from different parts of the US on different days); Joe made sure he was there to welcome us both and pick us both up from the airport - how nice to have a local greet you when you arrive! Once we were on the charter we were able to sail, snorkle, and visit many sites extending from Tortola to Anegada and back to our resort destination of Peter Island. We had many great meals and appetizers on board prepared by Joe (loved his homemade hummus). He had all of our favorite beverages (along with lots of limes), fresh fruit, salads, snacks, etc. on board as well. We had a wonderful lobster dinner on Easter Sunday ashore at Anegada (still our favorite dining experience together during the whole trip).

Joe also taught us lots of good stuff along the way - the history and current state of the many islands, the people, waterways, beaches, local favorites, renowned yachts, etc. And we learned how to pick up mooring balls both creatively and traditionally - that boat brush came in handy for many tasks!!! We saw several sea turtles (which was a highlight), lots of beautiful fish and sea creatures, coral, sea fans, sea cucumbers, etc. Had lovely nights under the stars on the boat listening to music, playing games, reading, and just relaxing. Woke up every morning to fresh coffee, fruit, breakfast, and beautiful scenery. Absolute Paradise.

In case it isn't obvious yet, I will tell you now - Joe totally spoiled us and took care of us by being a great host, captain, and friend. Before our charter ended, we were already talking to Joe about another charter with Patouche next year (wish it was next month!). Can't wait to sail with our friend Joe again!!!

The day charter from the resort with Patouche was another amazing day at sea (and we were so happy to see Joe again!). He picked us all up at the resort marina and we headed for Cooper Island and The Baths, Virgin Gorda. Was a great day with great people snorkling, sailing, and listening to Joe's "story time". At the end of the day, some of the talented among us (not including myself) learned how to "blow" conch shells ("remember, you've got to blow until it tickles" says Joe).

Thanks to Joe and Patouche Charters, this trip was most memorable and enjoyable for both my daughter and myself. It will forever be one of our favorite vacation experiences. We can't thank Joe enough!

Happy Sailing to all,
Wendy (Baton Rouge, LA) & Candice (New York, NY)
4/8/2013

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank wdwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Kentucky, United States
1 review
“Fantastic Day Sail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

What a fantastic day! Unable to sail to Baths at Virgin Gorda due to seas however the "detour" to Norman Island for snorkeling was an unexpected bonus! 3 snorkel sites (including caves) , great lunch and boat drinks! Exceptional value! Captain Joe was a wonderful host , knowledgable and entertaining with informative and amusing "story time ", his obvious passion for the BVI is incentive to take a longer closer look at this beautiful island paradise.
We are already casting the net to our friends to discover the beauty and tranquility of the BVI, and are excited to be planning our next trip .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacred Heart
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day with Patouche!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Joe did a great job of making our day in the BVI a very memorable one. Joe did everything that he could to make our trip comforable and enjoyable. We went to some very good sites for snorkeling and we experienced a very good lunch at one of the small island resturants. Joe always reminded us to keep the sunscreen on and had water available to keep us hydrated. We would book another trip with Patouche and Joe Standish in a heart beat when we come back to Tortola.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SamDeb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sun, Sailing, Snorkeling, and Stories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Weather prevented us from going to the Baths but we had a wonderful day sailing and snorkeling. We saw beautiful fish, caves, coral, and turtles. Captain Joe took good care of us and arranged for a lovely lunch. Our one day excursion off a cruise ship will definitely cause this girls trip to consider coming back to the BVI and staying a lot longer.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryCraig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patouche Charters also viewed

 

Been to Patouche Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing