We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stop in Cane Garde Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Green VI Glass Studio - CLOSED

Green VI Glass Studio
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: PLEASE NOTE: Our studio in Cane Garden Bay is no longer operational as we are relocating to Bitter End Yacht Club in Virgin Gorda. We hope to be hot in Nov/ Dec 2015. See you there! Green VI is a local not-for-profit working toward a Greener, Cleaner and Healthier British Virgin Islands. OUR MISSION: To demonstrate the principles and benefits of sustainable living in the beautiful BVI through education and practical projects. Project themes include waste, water and energy. OUR VISION: A green, clean, healthy, and prosperous BVI, in which a balance is maintained between development and conservation of the natural environment. Our glass studio offers glass blowing demonstrations. The Glass Studio creates a variety of beautiful recycled glass goods, perfect for your home or as gifts. We invite you to come down to Green VI's Glass Studio to see the glass blowers in action. Experience local creativity and artwork while doing your part to go green in the BVI.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great stop in Cane Garde Bay”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

If you are in the area, Green VI is worth the walk. The glass blowers will tell you about the process as they make ornaments, paper weights, fish, custom pieces and more in front of you. It's a great locally made gift for visitors and helps support the only glass recycling program in the VI. Our charter guests on Aqua Blue Charters always enjoy it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tortola
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“good tings”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

A nice educational stop on the list of things to do in tortola,stopped by with visiting family members to watch some glass being tranformed. Rasta Lion is very alive and inspiring to watch at work along side his co workers,always worth the stop to see what the guys are making next,should be on every parents list to show the kids whats going on
Keep up the good work guys

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank steven h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, FL
Level Contributor
509 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“don't miss this”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Green VI glass studio recycles old glass bottles into beautiful works of art. There is a wide price range to suit all budgets. They also train and provide jobs. The world would be a better place if we all did this more.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daytonabeachguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purdue-Indiana
Level Contributor
140 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“make green a journey and a destination in the BVI”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

the Green VI Glass Studio in Can Garden Bay on Tortola is a really neat place to visit—it is amazing what they can do with recycled glass! their table full of starfish reminds me of once snorkeling and looking down and seeing dozens of starfish on the sea floor (okay, maybe they weren't green and blue, but just as beautiful). mother nature is so generous in what she shares, and green vi glass studio is doing more than their fair share to help. yes there are beautiful art pieces—fish, turtles, starfish—handmade onsite, often while you’re watching. but their story is quite engaging to anyone who appreciates this island for more than just a painkiller on the beach.

Charlotte will give you the back story, but tell you recycling glass is part of a means to end… hopefully the end of pollution that’s part of long chain of waste that ultimately “ends up in the sea” if we’re not careful. she and her partner have found a niche that can have rippling effects: recycling glass leads to less waste; using recycled cooking oil to heat ovens leads to greater efficiencies; hiring and training local students gets the community involved (what some call ‘social entrepreneurship’).

the Green VI Glass Studio produces beautiful glass pieces that you can take home… they’ll even wrap your purchase in recycled paper and t-shirts. stop by and talk to them about the works, ask Lion to sign one of his, and engage them in conversation about the island.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DSBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fun stop while at Cane Garden ”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

As part of our boat charter this year we went to Cane Garden and the Green VI Glass Studio. We were able to watch them blow several pieces of glass. While doing so they were very pleasant and explained the glass they use, it's all recycled. The prices are reasonable and they ship. They cannot give you the shipping price because they take it weekly to St Thomas. Please be aware they take Visa and Mastercard but not American Express.
This is a place you should stop by and visit while at Cane Garden.

Helpful?
Thank gabahatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green VI Glass Studio also viewed

 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing