We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“please stop here”
Review of Green VI Glass Studio - CLOSED

Green VI Glass Studio
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: PLEASE NOTE: Our studio in Cane Garden Bay is no longer operational as we are relocating to Bitter End Yacht Club in Virgin Gorda. We hope to be hot in Nov/ Dec 2015. See you there! Green VI is a local not-for-profit working toward a Greener, Cleaner and Healthier British Virgin Islands. OUR MISSION: To demonstrate the principles and benefits of sustainable living in the beautiful BVI through education and practical projects. Project themes include waste, water and energy. OUR VISION: A green, clean, healthy, and prosperous BVI, in which a balance is maintained between development and conservation of the natural environment. Our glass studio offers glass blowing demonstrations. The Glass Studio creates a variety of beautiful recycled glass goods, perfect for your home or as gifts. We invite you to come down to Green VI's Glass Studio to see the glass blowers in action. Experience local creativity and artwork while doing your part to go green in the BVI.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“please stop here”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is amazing, and great to see that the Island is becoming aware of recycling and its impacts. I would highly recommend everyone bypass the crap souvenirs being sold on the docks, which are made in China, and come down here and buy genuine hand made glass from the BVI's. They collect a minority of what is being imported into the country in the form of beer bottles, to avoid being put in the furnaces or landfill. buy things from sea turtles to fish... My hubby and I loved it!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't miss a visit to this shop”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This little place is tucked behind most of the other shops you'll see on the beach in Cane Garden Bay but it well worth the visit. You'll get to see the glass being blown, shaped and formed into a variety of items which they sell at reasonable prices.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ck01019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One stop shop: beautiful gifts and great cause”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Lounge on the Cane Garden Bay beach, grab a cold beer at Myett's, and pick up presents for friends (and yourself!) at the glass studio. I found a GORGEOUS vase for a friend's wedding present and a few beautiful pieces for friends and family. Each piece has a great story, in that Green VI is helping preserve the beauty of this island oasis by keeping the island clean and green, including recycling glass. They will demo their glass making process, seven days a week! Their absolute vodka vases and beer glass cups are an easy hit with friends who want to remember the island life when raising a glass at home. They also make items to order if you have something special in mind or are inspired by one of their pieces. Instead of cutesy gifts, you can leave this shop w unique items and a feeling of helping the environment of the island you've hopefully been enjoying!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AliciaMinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgin Gorda
2 reviews
“Bring home a Treasure!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Find the best wedding or birthday gifts at The Green V.I. Glass studio in Cane Garden Bay. You can watch the glass being created from recycled bottles into glasses, ornaments, vases, paperweights etc. Know that you helped keep the BVI beautiful by helping to recycle the bottles on the island. The studio is so fun! Do not miss it! Also enjoy the best burger on the island right next door to the studio at Myett's restaurant, overlooking beautiful Cane Garden Bay and Beach.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great shop, a gem hidden in plain sight- superb for souvenirs”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I've been to Tortola a few times, walked pass this place at least five times, And never stopped in. It's right near Myett's Grill in Cane Garden Bay. You would barely notice this place if you didn't know where to look. And if you did look at it, you might not think much of it. Forget your first impression, and take the time to visit this great little shop.

This is a very cool place. The guys running it are The kind of artists I enjoy talking to. Very engaging, intelligent, and passionate about the work they do. They collect glass bottles from all around the island and provide Tortola's only recycling service. They meltdown this glass and turn into a variety of fascinating little pieces. Glass flowers, glass turtles, glass bowls - their work is eye-catching and heart-felt.

I picked up a superb souvenir for a friend here, and I look forward to going again next time I'm in Tortola.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank vtgay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green VI Glass Studio also viewed

 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing