We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agape Cottages
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Tortola
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elm Beach Suites(Road Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Icis Villas(Tortola)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
131
24
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
24
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshand drawn mapcane garden baybottle of rumperfect hostsjost van dykefull kitchenboogie boardshome away from homekind gesturenice bottlebeach chairsfood for breakfastback porchviews are spectacularshort walk to the beachan extended stayspent a week
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 157 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We only stayed a week. We were in D4 which was good but I think it would have been nicer to have stayed in one of the A cottages. Unfortunately we could not alter our travel dates. Donna and Tom were very helpful and made our stay so much easier with help and advice. The fridge had provisions when we arrived so that we could relax after our journey and they helped us with car hire and advice on where best to go.
A good thing about being in D4 is you are on top of the hill and get the best views and you are a it further away from the town noise and the early morning chicken calls.
If you need groceries I suggest you visit the cash and carry or Riteway in Road town at the start of your holiday, you will save yourself a lot of money. The mini marts are expensive and not so well stocked.
Cane Garden Bay has a good beach especially for children and non swimmers as it is calm. There is a good selection of restaurants, bars and evening entertainment to suit most tastes.
Nearby Long beach and Smugglers Cove are worth a visit and Bananakeet is a must, excellent view with food to match.
If you have the time a vist to the other islands is a good day out. I wish we had another week there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed for one all-too-short week (February 27 through March 5, 2012) at Agape Cottages, overlooking gorgeous Cane Garden Bay. There are views of Jost Van Dyke and beautiful sunsets as well. It is a 5 minute walk to the lovely beach, several fun open-air restaurants and bars, a small but well-stocked grocery store, a clean laundromat, internet access, gift and clothing shops, and a hand-blown glass studio. There is often live music at night, in at least one of the bars. There is even a car rental place within walking distance, if you felt the need to explore beyond Cane Garden Bay.

We stayed in J1, a one-bedroom apartment, which was furnished as though someone lived there: books to read, full kitchen with microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, beach towels, beach chairs, island guide books and magazines. There was even a tea kettle, teapot, and tea bags for the tea drinkers of this world! Paper products were provided (paper towels, toilet paper, napkins, and kleenex). There is a safe for your valuables. The bedroom was roomy despite the king-sized bed. The bed is a foam mattress on a concrete platform, and very comfortable if you like a firm bed. The air conditioning in the bedroom worked great! There are ceiling fans throughout the apartment, keeping it very comfortable. The tiled patio has tables, chairs, and a chaise lounge, and you can hang your wet clothes and towels on the heavy wire railings (clothespins provided). I loved the large, walk-in Caribbean shower! There's an outdoor shower as well, so you can rinse the salt and sand off your snorkeling gear. We never ran out of hot water, and you can drink the tap water: it tasted good too! There is no TV, and we didn't miss it at all. There were plenty of lamps near every chair or couch seat for reading inside at night. If you choose to sit out at night, there were some insects, but if there is a breeze they aren't too bothersome. Without the breeze, you would want to use bug spray.

The best part of Agape are the owners, who live at Agape. Donna, Tom, Dave, and Kit are extremely helpful and attentive, without being intrusive. Donna gives you a copy of her hand-drawn map of Tortola, which I will always keep. It truly is a "treasure map" of her favorite places to go and things to see on Tortola. On it, she suggests restaurants and their special dishes, beaches, shops, driving trips, and more. And if you need more detailed information, she will even draw you a little map on a sticky note, to add to the bigger map! The grounds have been planted with beautiful flowering plants and numerous fruit trees. We ate Agape grown bananas (fabulously delicious!) and a soursop. Grapefruit were in season too. It is fun to watch the birds around the plants, especially the hummingbirds and bananakeets, while you breakfast on the patio.

We are snorkelers, and Donna is the person to talk to about great snorkeling sites: the west side of Cane Garden Bay had lots of marine life to watch, and beautiful corals on the outside portion of the reef. You might find yourself swimming in a cloud of silversides along with the tarpon who are there to eat them! Brewers Bay is a 15 minute drive, and offers a gorgeous, nearly empty beach with reefs on the west side and in the middle (and reportedly good snorkeling on the east side as well, but we ran out of time). We saw turtles there. If it is too rough on the northwest side of the island, ask Donna about Nanny Cay, or maybe Smuggler's Cove. And if you are strong swimmers and avid snorkelers, she recommends a 6 hour sailing catamaran trip on the Aristocat, and it is well worth it!

I have one caveat, and that is walking up and down the hill. If you have hip or knee problems, you may not be able to do it. You could always drive up and down, but getting in and out of the driveway is not for the faint-of-heart because of the steepness and the sharp curves (I let my husband do it while I shut my eyes)! When you choose a unit to stay in, you might want to inquire about the relative ease of parking for that unit.

Sue & Lary

Room Tip: Because Agape is built on a hillside, the higher you go up the hill, the better the views.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trollmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

This was our second time at Agape.Donna and Tom are great hosts who go out of their way to make everything as easy as possible.Rooms are clean and have a nice view of Cane Garden Bay.A small grocery store is at the bottom of the drive and several restaurants are right on the beach.less than a 5 minute walk.We did not rent a car this time since we were there before and since i am in remission from cancer,we just wanted a relaxing time of reading,taking walks and going to the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jman1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The view from our cottage was amazing. It was better than we could have hoped for, and, the cottage was neat, clean and equipped with everything we needed. Tom and Donna were very gracious hosts; they spent ample time explaining what the island and the bay had to offer. Restaurants, bars, and shops are within walking distance of the cottage. They also recommended Paul (a local taxi driver) to get us to and from Road Town. He was great, and we felt very safe with him. He took us everywhere we wanted to go and even stopped for us to take pictures and in so me instances took pictures of us.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We had a wonderful week at the Agape Cottages. From our patio we enjoyed the magnificent views of the Bay framed by the luxuriant vegetation. We were within walking distance from the restaurants, but all was quite at night from our bedroom. Perfect beach for swimming, often in the company of the pelicans, terns and magnificent frigates higher in the sky. Somewhat steep slope from the beach to the cottage and the furniture was simple but very clean, which was fine with us. Donna and Tom were very helpful to get us settled and provide useful information on the island.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank francoiseyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews