We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They're back and doing great”
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Turtle Bay Resort
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Lambert Beach is one of the most beautiful beaches on Tortola. We stay at the resort before and after sailing each year. Now that the resort is under new management we're seeing major improvements, especially in the suites. One by one they are being upgraded to the level you would expect at such a beautiful place. The restaurant and bar area has been re-modeled, is clean, neat and has great food and drinks. The pool area is under improvement but still needs a little work.
The biggest attribute of this resort is its employees. They are hard working, friendly and eager to please. This is something that is lacking in even the "best" (and most expensive) resorts throughout the Caribbean. I believe the new management is setting the tone for success and it shows in the employees and campus progress.
I polled my family members who stayed there with us and got a universal thumbs up. We'll all be back and probably stay longer. I predict a bright future for this hidden little piece of paradise.

Don Candy
Murphy, Texas

Room Tip: All of the renovated rooms are great. We don't request room location because it really doesn'...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Turtle Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 90 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

First, this is truly one of the best locations in the Caribbean. The beach is pristine and untouched. Trunk turtles nest here and you may be lucky enough to see either the nesting or the hatchlings heading to their new life.

The people who work at Lambert are extremely nice and accommodating. "No" was never a word uttered by any of the staff. Food at the restaurant was average but the great service made it above average.

Now the downside. The property is rundown and all of the rooms need updating. The reception area which is your first impression of the property is a terrible experience. It leaves you feeling that the worse is yet to come. The pool which is large and nice has a scum line which runs completely around the pool tile. The pool bar which is shown on the website is closed, counter tiles broken. It's pretty much like this everywhere you look.

The worse situation is the property apparently rents to locals for long term rentals which gives you the feeling that your staying in a housing project rather than a resort. Kids and dogs running around. Not what your looking for on vacation.

I understand the Owner is trying to revamp the property but I would suggest that he close, get the property brought up to today's standards, remove the longterm renters and reopen. This could be one of the best resorts in the carribean.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambert B, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

We are sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay at Lambert Beach Resort. On behalf of the Management team at Lambert Beach Resort I would like to assure you that I have taken note of your complaints and we are diligently working towards correcting the areas you have pointed out.

We appreciate your honest and impartial views which would motivate us even further to pay keen attention to detail in our ongoing renovation effort throughout the resort which started since our opening a few months ago.

The comfort , well being and satisfaction of you, our guests are our number one priority and we have taken pro-active measures from inception of this project to alleviate some of these problematic areas you may encounter during your stay at Lambert Beach Resort.

Due to our renovation effort we have also reduced our room rates by 50% , this rate reduction will continue until we are satisfied that we have accomplished what is on our agenda for Lambert Beach Resort.

Once again we apologize for not meeting all of your expectations , however , we hope that you will visit us once again and we promise you that you will only have pleasant memories to treasure after leaving Lambert Beach Resort. We look forward to pampering our guests and are delighted to know that we have pleased you.

Do have a pleasant day!

Sincerely

Yonaho A.C Leslie
General Manager

Tel# 284-540-2910
284-495-2877
email: leslieyonaho@yahoo.com
manager@lambertresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Lambert Beach Resort seems to be under new management and they are fantastic! They are making a huge effort to return this amazing place to it's former glory. The location is amazing. The beach is beautiful and unspoiled. The pool was large and very clean. What a great swim! We stayed the night prior to picking up our chartered boat and it was a really great option. The taxi ride from Road Town was a blast, the people at the Resort were warm and generous, the food was great and the ride back into town the next day was easy. They even checked with us the night before to make sure we had what we wanted for breakfast in the morning, as we wanted an early start. The rooms are large and clean. There were a few bugs, but it's the tropics, there's bugs everywhere. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambert B, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We are pleased to let you know that after being out of service for more than three years due to legal issues, the famous Lambert Beach Resort was opened to the public on January 14 , 2013.
Our Turtle restaurant and bar is fully operational from 11am – 10 pm every day . Our Menu consists of mainly , local , Italian and American Cuisine , however , if you desire a dish which is not on the menu , you can speak with our chef or waitress and they will be delighted to assist you in any way they can.
We are pleased and happy when we know that our guests have thoroughly enjoyed staying with us , therefore , as we continue to improve on our facilities here at Lambert Beach Resort , our main focus and mission is to ensure that you leave Lambert Beach Resort satisfied and with many pleasant memories to treasure forever.
Thank you for visiting our page and we are looking forward to seeing you at Lambert Beach Resort .
Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberto R, Direttore generale at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfred1972_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Mimijabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gerd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
7.7 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
7.8 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
2.4 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
388 reviews
24.1 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
189 reviews
8.1 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: East End, VG1120, Tortola (Formerly Lambert Beach Resort)
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: $97 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a luxuorius tropical amphitheater sloping towards the sea to one of the Caribbean's most beautiful beaches. The resort revives in style, design and food, the lush Italian hospitality. Palm fringed and covered with sparkling white sand, a half-mile long and the biggest BVI smimming pool, the resort is a secluded retreat in British Virgin Islands. An Italian management with more than 35 years experience guarantees a reputation for excellence. 36 cottages plus 2 Junior suite feature spacious-sized bathrooms and private outdoor patio exemplifies stylish carabbean living. Individual and Italian experience in style helps to create the perfect holiday and ensure you achieve a sense of freedom. An authentic Italian restaurant with a delightful mixed of Caribbean flavours, a lively al fresco bar, a speciality restaurant , a swim up bar with bbq menu options, Amara Spa & Gym and a tennis court expand the fun. December 20th 2016, Turtle Bay Resort re-opens after a comprehensive, multi-million dollar restoration. New rooms, fully equipped with "tailor made" furniture produced in Italy, will represent Italian style in terms of quality and look, introducing brand new signature services for the ultimate in relaxation and style providing the best comfort. The restoration will include the complete redesign of the resort's guestrooms and suites, its two restaurants and overall enhancements to the resort's gardens and landscaping. This renewal will bring about a new level of sophistication in keeping with the natural setting, a new swimming pool, a new specialty restaurant, spa and gymnasium, room & laundry service 24h, these are only some of new amenities the our guest will enjoy. The largest pool in BVI will be upscale and a new specialty restaurant "healthy and fusion cuisine" will be born, a rebuild of main Restaurant Calita will offer a one-of-a-kind beach dining experience with an extended indoor/outdoor dining areas. Guests will also enjoy an elevated arrival experience and the resort's vibrant tropical gardens will be enhanced with new lighting, signage and improved access to beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lambert Beach Hotel Tortola
Lambert Beach Tortola
Turtle Bay Resort Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing