We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lighthouse Villas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Elm Beach Suites(Road Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Icis Villas(Tortola)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
71
22
2
0
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
22
2
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorcane garden baysmall poolbeach towelsfamily emergencysitting areaseparate bedroomthree night staywithin easy walking distancefull kitchenwatch the sunsetbeautiful place to staygorgeous viewsspacious roomsteep hillour honeymoonlow season
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 99 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2009

We travel extensively and this was one of our best vacations. The Lighthouse Villas are perfect. After arriving from Puerto Rico via Cape Air we rented a car at the airport. The drive to Cane Garden Bay was about 40 minutes, roads are not as bad as people say. We had Villa #5, a lovely penthouse unit with a spectacular view of Cane Garden Bay with Jost Van Dyke and St. Thomas in the background. The villas are immaculate, simply furnished with white wicker furniture, table and chairs in the kitchen, sitting area, spectacular balcony with chairs and a table. There was a comfortable king size bed in the main room and another king in the separate bedroom, both have high quality linens. The kitchen has a small gas stove, fridge, microwave, blender, toaster, coffee maker and other kitchen essentials. Bobby's Supermarket is a 2 minute walk down the road, with wine, beer, liquor and a good selection of groceries. We had breakfasts in the villa , at the end of the dock there is a booth that sells great Johney Cakes which we enjoyed two mornings . The bathroom has a large walk in shower, water pressure was great, Malcia provides shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, and hair dryers. The villa has two air conditioners and ceiling fans, we only used the air at night. There is a small pool located in an area with a waterfall, Weber BBQ, lovely patio furniture, gardens and an honour bar. The beach is across the road, on the right of the dock. The beach was deserted except for one busy cruise ship day. Malcia has chairs on the beach for her guests. There was good snorkelling, from the beach, go right about 100 yards go in where the rocks begin. Fantastic restaurants, bars, entertainment are on Cane Garden Bay. We had a car so we toured the Island and visited numerous outstanding beaches. However best part was sitting on the balcony at LHV and enjoying the views. Gracious hostess, lovely accommodations, beautiful island.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ColdinCanada_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

Top notch !,
The lighthouse Villas are the nicest place to stay on Cane Garden bay by far ! (and maybe the entire island) . Malcia is a most gracious host and inn keeper. The units and grounds are extremely clean and comfortable with breathtaking views of the bay. I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone. I would recommend to be aware of the cost of eating out. We were a family of four and eating out started to become costly - I would reccommend taking advantage of the facilities both in the room and the communal grill. There is a very good provisional market a short walk away with everything you could possibly need. We purchased breakfast and lunch items along with sometimes dinner as well. The market has plenty of good wine and beer selections as well as all kinds of cocktail mixes possible. I would suggest bringing a small soft cooler and BYOB to the beach - by doing some of these things we were able to spend our money on some real fun things ...like renting a car - taking a day sail and just traveling around the island - it is a great island with great people - driving on the left was a little tricky - but if you have a co-pilot constantly reminding the driver to - "stay to the left - stay to the left " there should be no problem - Cruise people do come in to CGB ...but find out when the ships come in and plan your day to be somewhere else - they don't really present a problem - it is only for a few hours of the day - they usually leave around around 2-3 o'clock - a don't miss: is listening to Malcia's brother Quito playing solo - he is FABULOUS ! Bring some kind of "no-see-um repellent" and you should be fine - they do get ya - but you will be in paradise - so prepare yourself and ENJOY !

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank insearchofanahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We have traveled to several islands in the caribbean over the last 10 years and we can honestly say that the kindness shown to us by the entire Rhymer family (Marcia, Christian and Quito} was of a magnatude we had never experienced on an island.The room was simply perfect, very clean, white and what you would expect staying on an island. we picked the top floor (which is a little hike, if you have health problems) but the views were spectacular overlooking the bay and jost van dyke in the backround. There is a lot to do or nothing at all within walking distance. Tortola has a lot to see if you are adventurous as we are. A car rental is needed if you really want to see the island.You want to rent from jerrys, he is kind, helpful and picks up at airport and lets you drop the car off there. his vehicles are clean and safe The ferry system can be used to access almost any neighboring island for snorkling sightseeing and shopping. take a day sail on Patouche charters, they are very knowledgable about all aspects of the area and love to give out information .well worth the money . we went on honeymoon and can not wait to come back. We arrived as travelers and left as friends. We could not have had a better honeymoon.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank DOYSTERBAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

Returned from our 10 day stay on Cane Garden Bay in the Lighthouse Villas with a sad heart to leave! The accommodations were excellent!. We had the smallest efficiency on the "first" floor which implies no ocean view - but be assured that we had an incredible view. The room was very bright and although simply furnished, was very pleasing to stay in. It was cleaned every day. The bed was wonderful to sleep on. Malcia, the owner, showed me the second floor rooms and they are also awsome. The view only gets better as you go up!. Speaking of Malcia, she is just the greatest of people! She took care of all our taxi reservations and was so helpful with any questions we had. She was always available. She does have beach chairs available to the right of the villas, but we found staying on the beach where all the restaurants and bars are was more "action" so we made friends and didn't have to rent chairs. Just one note to mention. There is a steep climb to get to your rooms!. There are steps to help you get up - but you will get your heart pumping for sure! Be careful when you are dropped off from the airport with your luggage - our taxi driver must of known that he had to drive up there so he deposited us on the road - and left us to drag all our luggage up this incline. Malcia came out to find us struggling and she was not happy that the driver did that. She then helped us pull it up! Told you she was great! If you want to read more about our stay in Cane Garden Bay see my review under that category!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank sisjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

The Lighthouse Villa is a wonderful place to stay in Tortola! My girlfriends and I visited in August--a very quiet time for tourists and activities--and have absolutely nothing but praise for the wonderful accommodations and locale.
Malcia the owner is a lovely, gracious woman who runs her villas quite well. We rarely had to ask for anything during our nine day stay because the room and accommodations had everything we needed. The kitchenettes and baths were basic but fine. The bedrooms were comfortable, spacious and cool (the AC worked fabulously). The rooms--cleaned daily by the lovely housekeeping staff--were spotless. We felt like the Lighthouse was our home away from home and not our hotel.
Most of local restaurants were closed for vacation in August but the few that remained open provided delicious meals. There is a little local place near Quitos (in front of the Villa) called the Paradise?? Cafe that had great burgers, pasta and local Caribbean dishes--all which were good and fairly reasonable. Be sure to try their rum punches while waiting for the food. Yum! A little further, but within walking distance, was Myetts--a hotel/restaurant which catered more to the day trippers coming in on various boats. But the food and cocktails were decent there as well. Office had internet access as well for a small fee.

I definitely recommend a day trip to Jost Van Dyke--one of the most lovliest beaches in the Caribbean!! Be sure to spend the day there (but don't miss the last boat back to Tortola like we did :(((...definitely an "adventure") and have a meal (and many "soggy dollars") at the Soggy Dollar Bar. Jost is only about a half hour boat ride from the West End--a 20 minute or so cab ride from the Lighthouse.

The only "problem" with the Lighthouse is that it is hard to pull yourself away from the beautiful balcony outside your living room that has the most breathtaking views of Cane Garden Bay and St. Johns further afield. There is a lot to see on Tortola and on the other BVI's, but because the Lighthouse is so comfortable and peaceful, you really don't want to leave. I didn't.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ballinspittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews