We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It´s the view”
Review of The Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Heritage Inn
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Reviewed February 4, 2014

which makes this place special.

This is not a secret looking through the other comments and we can confirm.
Nice view to JVD and best sundowners are guaranteed.

The restaurant Bananakeet is ,as also mentioned already, really good and in relation to limited local alternatives anyhow a tipp.

We can recommend any meat dishes, conch soup etc. , everything topped by spices and garlic. mmmmhhhh.

Fish is standard (froozen) as there is no real fishing and all vegetables are obviously imported . We bought some carrots and apples in the supermarket and they had no taste and didn´t get old within 2 weeks. Not sure if this was natural food :-


.... but we can not fully share the enthusiasm as the the hotel and service is described.
It is more run as a self containing accomodation and the ladies are mostly only accessible and present during office hours. This is not really a disadvantage but the apartment
( called "Suite ") and as well the place does really require some more care, maintenance and even renovation.

and a word regarding room rates : at least for the high season rate this is not a bargain. Sorry to say so, but I think we should share our opinion. We are travelling a lot and maybe due to that, we miss the needed bit of excitement leaded by just the view.
But I agree with previous comments , that comparing on local level- so with other hotels on Tortola - the pricing is on the same higher level.

so in a nutshell:
Room with nice view, a kitchenette (some pots and plates) are included, as well a balcony with two chairs and a table.
All looks for maintenance and renovation.
Painting is not enough to justify such rates-

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jorg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZViews, General Manager at The Heritage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

We thank you for your feedback and opinions and do appreciate them.
It is unfortunate that we didn't meet your every expectation, particularly after traveling from so far.
The few times we spoke with you, we were under the impression you were satisfied with your accommodations. Generally in the US a kitchenette is simply a microwave and a small fridge. A full kitchen on site refers to a stovetop (4 gas burner), refrigerator, pots & pans, utensil, dishes, microwave, blender, toaster coffee maker all of which the suites are equipped.
The well informed staff members at the Cafe often assist our guests after office hours. Management or an evening Host/Hostess is always on the property though the reception/office closes at 5pm. In fact, we enjoy mingling with our house guests, quite frequently, in the bar area of the Cafe.
We do hope that you have a more enjoyable stay when you return to our beautiful BVI's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 114 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

We arrived after spending our first four nights on Virgin Gorda. Loved Virgin Gorda so much we contemplated cancelling Tortola altogether and staying on VG for the 7 night duration of our vacation. That would have been a mistake. :) Didn't get to The Heritage Inn until around 6:00pm on a Sunday Night so Chris & Rosa were already gone for the day. Chris had arranged for a staff member at the restaurant to help us to our room. She also made reservations for us at the Bananakeet Restaurant onsite (Go even if you aren't staying there) as she knew we would be tired and not yet oriented to Tortola. She also help arrange our rental car with De De. Seamless. Almost new two door jeep wrangler in excellent shape.

We were put into room #5 and to be honest I was a little disappointed, especially after reading all of the stellar reviews here. Sure the view was still there but the room wasn't at all what I expected. Clean yes, but that was about it. We didn't plan on spending much time in it anyways so we were just going to deal with it. The next morning when we checked in with Chris she told us that we were supposed to be in room #8 but they had a plumbing issue so had to put us in # 5 until fixed, hopefully soon. No problem. That evening a gentleman stopped by and told us that we will be moving the next morning. Alright, good. Turned out to be alright, GREAT! For our inconvenience they moved us to the two bedroom suite for the rest of our stay at no additional charge. Gorgeous! As Rosa said when taking us up there..... Make sure you leave the room now, there is lots to see on Tortola. :) Seriously, one could just hang out here for their entire vacation. After scoping out the rest of the Hotel any of the other rooms (including #8) would have worked just fine really.

We travel throughout the Caribbean about 4 times a year and I can honestly say that Chris & Rosa are two of the most friendly & gracious host's you will ever find. Chris even invited us to a January 1st party at her family home on Little Jost Van Dyke (wish we could've made it). Ran into Rosa by chance at the Ferry Pier, she noticed us and that we were a bit confused on where to get our Ferry tickets so jumped in and help us out. Wish we could have spent more time talking with these two lady's but we were gone exploring before they arrived in the morning and didn't get back to the hotel until they were already gone for the evening.

We checked out the other three properties that we were considering and can say without a doubt we made the right decision. Ran into guests that were staying at two of the places we were considering and they just confirmed that The Heritage Inn was where we needed to be. Next time we go to Tortola (and there will be a next time) we will be staying here. Sorry I don't have much to add on the pool, happy hour, etc but we were on the run everyday.

Room Tip: You heard my complaint about Room#5 which is the closest room to the office and restaurant entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sea_breaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

What a great jumping off point for Tortola and the BVI! As a first time visitor to Tortola I was not familiar with the island and what it had to offer. After looking at vacation rentals (my typical choice for holidays) and other hotels on the island, I decided Heritage Inn was the best value and location for the activities my husband and I intended to puruse while on the island (hiking Mt Sage, Snorkeling, beach, a sailing excursion, that sort of thing). We were not disappointed! This hotel is just where we wanted to be -- close to most everything! We loved having the Bananakeet available for a quick drink in the evening or dinner if we did not want to go out. The kitchen was sufficiently stocked so making breakfast and packing a lunch were easy. The view was excellent of course! With limited cell service, we appreciated the free WiFi which had a good signal from our patio. Though we tend to go to a different location each year, I could easily see returning to the Heritage Inn... Thanks Chris for the lovely week!

Room Tip: I would ask for room 9 next time -- it is an "end unit" and would have views to Jost van D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samandted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We are currently staying at Heritage Inn and I am writing this as I gaze at the Caribbean blue/green waters below me. It is located a quick drive from the action in Cane Garden Bay so you can drive there to be in the middle of the action and escape to Heritage Inn to get away from it all.

The Banakeet restaurant surrounds their swimming pool on a deck that looks over the ocean. We started with the Ahi Tartar, which melted in our mouths. For dinner I had the delicious coconut curry mussels and a house made Caesar salad. My boyfriend had some kind of steak chimichuri and proclaimed it was quite possibly one of the best meat dishes he has ever eaten!

The apartment itself has everything you need. A little updating would make this a 5 Star place but it is quaint and comfortable as it is.

This is the perfect place to stay for a couple who enjoys a peaceful, private romantic vacation.

Room Tip: I think room number 9 is the one on the end that has the panoramic view. It seems all the rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PDXWindJammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We are a family of 4 (young adults/Mom/Dad) and truly felt welcomed and cared for at The Heritage Inn for a week's stay. The service truly begins when you make the reservation. They answer all your questions and give wonderful recommendations for car rentals (DeDe's Car Rental~can't say enough good things about them!) beaches and things to do. Our two bedroom flat had aircon. and a full kitchen including blender/coffee maker, etc with a "welcome kit" containing dish detergent, coffee, etc. The rooms are all painted with bright caribbean colors and though not fancy it was just right for us. The place is older but spotlessly clean. It helps that the owners are there everyday running the place as well as their restaurant The Bananakeet. The management were right there when we found out we had left our car battery on and immediately had someone come out and jump it within minutes. We also had left an item in our rent a car after leaving Tortola and the staff, along with DeDe's rent a car, were incredibly quick to respond and sort everything out. Towels for the pool/beach are exchanged when asked and the pool area is wonderful after a day at the beach (though it closes before sunset due to the restaurant opening). We loved our balcony with chairs/table and lounge chairs. Wonderful for views, relaxing or checking email. The wifi on the island can be "spotty" but we only had difficulty accessing it once and from then on it was fine. If you are looking for a place that truly cares for you and yours then this is the place for you. If they can help you they will go out of their way and if they can not then they will point you in the right direction. The staff are amazing and we enjoyed each and every one of them!
TIP: As with a lot of places on Tortola you will be going up and down a lot of stairs so as a word of caution, there are stairs going down to the restaurant and pool area and depending on where your rooms are there may be an extra flight. Not difficult to manage at all but just be aware they are unavoidable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank serene4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in a two-bedroom unit for 4 nights. It was a pleasant experience and we would stay again. The location was perfect for us as it was very close to the best beaches and, of course, the views were pretty amazing. We first stayed in unit 2 but had to later move to unit 3 because our refrigerator/freezer were not properly functioning. The units were both very large, clean, and as expected. The ants could be a problem, but only if you let them be. The a/c units in the bedrooms worked very very well and the fans and breezes kept the rest of the unit livabley comfortable. Parking was very convenient. We were a bit disappointed the pool closed at 6pm and we had to rush back a couple of times in order to take a dip to rinse off and let my son get a little pool time. I understand they don't want guests to use the pool during dinner time but I have been to countless resorts with the same set-up and none restricted use of guests for the sake of dinner. Definitely a minus for us. They provided great beach towels that you could exchange, if needed. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and were very good about making sure our meats stayed frozen through a short power outage and when our freezer was not working. We only had appetizers once at the restaurant but they were very good and the smells coming from the kitchen were always amazing. Overall, a good experience and value.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank NYCaribQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel was incredible just for the views alone. Without a doubt the best view I've ever had on a vacation. From our room ( room 8), if you went out on the balcony and looked to the right, there was Jost Van Dyke. You look almost straight ahead, there was St Thomas. You look to the left, the hill towering over you. Almost majestic. We almost dont stay there- my wife was terrified of the drive up to the hotel with all the hills with steep switchbacks, and thought the place was very isolated. Those fears were put to rest by Rosa, who assured her that Cane Garden Bay was just on the other side of the hill, and the worst of the hilly driving was over. Later on we met Chris, and they both gave us good suggestions on what to do with our time there. The rooms were nice- they wer not really rooms but full apartments, with full kitchen, bathroom, bedrooms with AC etc. The Bananakeet restaurant is very popular, with good reason- the food is delicious. One time me and my wife were eating there and a couple just came in to look a the view, and I overheard him say that this has to be one of the best views in the world. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dharry28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortola hotels
1.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
3.7 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
389 reviews
8.4 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
3.5 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Inn

Address: Windy Hill | Carrot Bay, VG1130, Tortola
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: $110 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Inn is just what you want if you are looking for the total getaway. The Inn is located on the hilltop of a sleepy village: Carrot Bay, on the north side of Tortola. These comfortable apartments offer probably the most breathtaking views on the island: "voted Best sunset view in the BVI!" 180 degrees east and west and overlooking Jost Van Dyke, Sandy & Green Cays and three Tortola bays. This locally owned inn is quaint and quiet. Each suite has a private view-facing balcony and is furnished with a fully equipped kitchen, living room and AC king-size bed in bedrooms. Three suites have two bedrooms for family or friendly vacationers. Six, clean and comfortable, one bedroom suites also offer enough space to just forget your cares and hang out for a week. The views are so beautiful that most guests just "gape" for the first few days. In the summer the sun sets directly over the water. It is so beautiful that the locals go up for sunset cocktails at the BananaKeet Cafe on the poolside veranda to watch the sun setting over the awesome horizon. It's no wonder the slogan reads... the Higher you Get... the Better the Views!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Hotel Tortola
Heritage Hotel Tortola
The Heritage Inn Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing