We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tortola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rhymers Beach Hotel
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Hughson
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Based on the reviews I have seen here I did not have high expectations for the hotel but for the location. Yes, this location is exactly as stated. A beautiful beach with the friendliest and most gracious staff imaginable. Centrally located with easy access to at least a dozen beach bars, all good and reasonably priced. While this all sounds great, I must say that we were a little stunned by the condition of the rooms here. We requested a different room the next day because the room had a sickening odor that we could not identify, and they moved us closer to the front, which was slightly better. Like I said, we didn't expect much, but a working toilet and some paint would go a long way here. We loved CGB AND IF WE EVER GO BACK WE COULD NOT STAY HERE AGAIN, EVEN IF IT WAS FREE.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 14Daroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
13
24
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Another great visit to Cane Garden Bay and Rhymer's Beach Hotel. The hotel is bare bones , but it is clean and the staff , especially Lynette and Lenora are very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Spent four nights at Rhymer's in early November. It was my second stay so I knew what to expect. Large clean room with great A/C. TV had Miami Stations. Kitchenette was handy although I ate my meals out. Restaurant breakfasts were a good value. Beer was always cold. THe sunsets from the balcony were delightful. It is not the Ritz or even the Holiday Inn but it is on a beautiful beach and it isn't $300 a night. Stanley's is next door and Myett's is a 2 minute walk down the beach. I loved watching the Cruise people.
I will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have stayed at Rhyme's three different times , with a 4th coming up in March 2013. We have been very pleased with the hotel , nothing fancy , but the staff is friendly and helpful. The location is terrific , step right onto the beach .Great bars and restaurants in Cane Garden Bay

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was a great hotel. I stayed here a while ago on a school trip, the location is amazing (right on the beach, steps from the water!) and the views are great. The rooms are a little dingy but that is the experience. One very nice thing is the kitchenette, working fridge and stove, but DO NOT drink the water. It isn't harmful but tastes AWFUL. A little ways down the road is a small grocery store, you can buy bottled water there for relatively cheap prices (be wary of milk products, they do not last long.) Also down the road is a bakery that is very good, and the beach is lined with amazing restaurants. All in all it was a great trip and I would recommend it to anyone visiting.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the deck are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, Fl
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have stayed in Rhymers over the years and I love it. This is not a fancy place but the employees are very warm and make it the best experience. The hotel is located in the center of Cane Garden. This hotel is not classy but it's worth experiencing. I just stayed for 9-days and didn't want to leave. Our room had a small kitchen which was great for quick lunches or breakfast during the week and refreshments.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lourdes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Rhymers. We had a second floor room near the balcony. Although this would not be considered a luxury hotel by any stretch of the imagination, it was clean, and the staff were friendly. We didn't run into any problems with ants, roaches, or noisy chickens that some of the other reviewers mentioned. Yes, there are chickens roaming around, but that is the Tortola. We stayed at Rhymers a few nights, and then moved over th Myatt's a few doors down. In my opinion, the quality of Myatts compared to that of Rhymers did not justify the difference in price, and I regretted not staying at Rhymers the whole time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortola hotels
2.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
402 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Heritage Inn
The Heritage Inn
#11 of 25 in Tortola
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
382 reviews
1.1 mi away
Icis Villas
Icis Villas
#10 of 25 in Tortola
73 reviews
7.5 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhymers Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhymers Beach Hotel

Property: Rhymers Beach Hotel
Address: Cane Garden Bay, Tortola
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Rhymers Beach Tortola
Hotel Rhymers Beach
Rhymers Beach Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing