We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Head to the Hills!”

Sage Mountain National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.99*
and up
Hiking Tour of Sage National Park from Road Town
Ranked #17 of 65 things to do in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The highest point in Tortola is accessible via a number of marked trails.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Head to the Hills!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Exciting, narrow,twisting roads take you higher and higher, each view becoming more breathtaking, each mile becoming more dense in lush vegation as you enter rain forest.
Look out for declining evience of farming, fields of sugar cane, bananas, avocados and sweet potatoes, and glimpses of white sandy bays in the distance far below.Enjoy the ride.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Vyvienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    39
    13
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Lush”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

A must for those who love hiking and exploring. We truly enjoyed our delightful hike in the vegetation along with the viewing station - WOW - terrific views and worth the hike. Also, when you finish the hike, you will be hot and sweaty so you must have a banana smoothie created by Jim. The Best!!! And we had a virgin banana smoothie - so creamy & yummy. You will know him when you meet him. A delight to chat with.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Wulfanite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Be sure to visit”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Amazing place to see. The vegetation is very interesting even if one is not a specialist. Be prepared for some rain and a little mud after. From time to time when the forest opens the view is magnificent too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tkarlikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Went for a hike and met the most talented chef ever”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We wanted to see some natural part of the island and decided to explore the National park. It was a great hike and the view in the lookout stands were breathtaking. But the best part of that whole National Park was meeting Jim Cullimore at the Mountain View Bar. He has maps to help you get around on the mountain and the friendliest bugger. He kept us completely enthralled with his life stories and made us the best banana smoothies after our hike. On top of that my birthday was approaching and we hadn't had a descent meal since we arrived so he offered to cook my birthday dinner. We fell in love with this man's cooking. Everything was mouth watering and we didn't leave a crumb to spare. It truly was the best birthday gift I have ever had. He is a professional Chef and his talent in the kitchen is mind blowing. He doesn't serve tons of people - only a couple at a time and not every night so if you go - sit in his bar and visit with him. You will be amazed and you will know it was completely worth every second.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cc-rider05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Awesome Rain Forest Hike”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

While staying on the island of Tortola BVI for one week recently, my wife and I drove up to Sage Mountain National Park for a hike. The park covers 96 acres over the highest part of the island at 1700 feet above the sea. I think there is normally a fee for the park, but there was none the day we visited for reasons that I did not catch. It was easy to find our way there and there is a small parking lot and a little "store" that is not officially in the park, but it's right there. Jim the proprietor is a jolly good fellow (and champion mountain biker), who will be glad to talk to you about the park and will go over a trail map with you. The hike we took is about 3 miles in a "figure 8" and the trail is easy to follow with good signage. It took us a little over an hour, but we didn't linger. I suggest you linger. Many of the trees and plants are identified with signs, which I really appreciated. The trail leads through a beautiful, lush, dense green rain forest most of the way. It rained heavy the night before, so a couple of mud puddles, but no big deal at all, you could just go around. A little slippery on roots and such, but hey it's a rain forest and no problem. There were numerous side trails and spurs that we did not take, but you could to extend the hike. Even though you are at one of the highest points on the island, the trail is generally tucked in the vegetation and you should not expect to have a lot of ocean views, and there are only a few glimpses of it along the trail. However, the trail does eventually lead to a wood viewing platform that offers a spectacular view towards the east-southeast. I would say the trail is easy to moderate in terms of difficulty, and is a great thing to do on a hot day as it is nice and cool in the forest, plus there are probably going to be some breezes up that high. I don't recall dealing with any bugs at all. If we ever return to Tortola, I will definitely go back for more hiking and will explore the other trails, or do the same one. Be sure to treat yourself to a banana smoothie at Jim's store at the end of your hike.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank STL_traveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage Mountain National Park also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Road Town, Tortola
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sage Mountain National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing