We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so nice”
Review of The Tamarind Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tamarind Club
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
taos, nm
13
Reviewed July 1, 2006

We stayed here with my parents and adult children. We chose Tamarind because of previous reviews we had read. The setting is very pleasant, great grounds, close to the airport (10 minutes), large refreshing pool with swim up bar. The restaurant serves excellent food and the bartender makes great drinks. That is where the pleasantries end.
The rooms are quaint but underneath that they are filthy. Bedsprads were deplorable, the beds old and uncomfortable, and my wife, mom, and daughter experienced bug bites from sleeping in the beds. The air conditioning was pointless as it just made noise and really did not cool. We could have put up with all of this because after all we were in the Carribean but the owners and staff made us feel like they were doing us a favor to let us stay there.
We have been to the BVI several times and keep coming back because the locals are so honest and friendly. That is still true but not at the Tamarind. We honestly felt like we were not welcome. They serve fresh fruit and coffee in the morning but none of the staff ever says good morning, how did you sleep, can we get you anything? My wife felt uncomfortable asking for hot water for a cup of tea. We really did not feel welcome and we spent over $900 at this establishment.
In rushing to the airport my father left an electronic device in the room on their last night there. After numerous calls to staff and owners about seeing if we could retrieve it we gave up as they kept saying no one had turned it in - almost to the point of not believing us that it was left there. We would not recommed the Tamarind Club. We will definetly return to the BVI but not to the Tamarind Club.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 121 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Tamarind Club for two nights prior to a bareboat charter and for one night following our charter. The place is incredibly laid back -- check in is at the bar. Eric and his daughter Katie, along with Dalton the maitre'd/bartender/valet make a strong welcome drink, so be sure you're hydrated.

No locks, but all nine rooms face the pool area, so any skulking would be noticed. Rooms are BASIC. Oftentimes the electricity goes out. A/C is weak, you're better off using the ceiling fan set on "high". Mosquitos are voracious and though the windows are screened, the doors are ill-fitting with plenty of room for skeeters to fly through! The best defense is lathering up with a Deet-based repellent. (The "natural" ones didn't work for these mosquitos.) If the thought of sleeping with OFF on yourself is icky, consider lighting those green mosquito coils, although do NOT use these indoors with everything shut because of its fumes -- keep at least a window open or the sliding door ajar.

Bathrooms are, again, basic. In our second room, there was no water temperature control, the water was between warm/hot (I guess you can just jump in the pool to cool off). Beds are not particularly comfortable (you can feel the springs), but they're clean and neat.

Josiah's Bay has the finest beach we have ever seen. Soft, sand bottom with no rocks or coral bits. It's about 10-15 minute walk downhill from the Club, and you'll pass by all sorts of live animals (dogs, cows, goats, kitties, chickens). If you're lucky, Chiquita the dog who lives at the beach will accompany you back and forth.

I saved the best for last: the restaurant. You must try the roti, any fish that's baked in a banana leaf, and the seafood chowder with the chili oil. This was food that could be showcased in a foodie town like SF. The panko-breaded fried green tomatoes were so good, I had them for 3 meals straight. Price is reasonable, especially by island standards. Even the wine, though too warm, was excellent. Katie makes a modified bushwhacker that must be tasted to appreciate. Even if you don't stay here, a visit to the restaurant is a MUST.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank biz_tripper08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Service
2  Thank coloradogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cabushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Adeliamisskitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2006

5  Thank multiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank katezooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
7.2 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
7.2 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
2.8 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
2.7 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
283 reviews
24.9 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tamarind Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tamarind Club

Address: Josiah's Bay | East End, VG1120, Tortola
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: $90 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tamarind Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside Hotel with views over Josiah's Bay Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Tamarind Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tamarind Club Hotel Tortola
Tamarind Hotel Tortola
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Club Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing