We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tamarind Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tamarind Club
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Tyler, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Off”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you are staying here you will need plenty of bug spray! Having said that, I enjoyed my stay considering the price. BVI is expensive. I was visiting the island to look at sailboats, so knowing I would be spending my time away from the hotel I wanted to save some money. Tamarind Club is close to the airport and cost effective for BVI, however, a cab ride to anywhere you would want to go is going to cost about $25.00. The pool is well done and even has a little swim up bar. It is set back in the trees away from everything, so it is very peaceful. The food is really good off the menu. The provide some toast and boiled eggs complementary for breakfast, so don't get your hopes up in the morning. The hidden gem of the place is the proximity to Joshua's Bay and beach. Very nice beach that usually only gets locals. I went for a morning swim and was the only person on the beach. Great place to read a book or catch some sun. The staff was very nice.

Room Tip: Get a room without a sliding glass door as the entry way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    36
    7
    13
    13
See reviews for
16
31
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moorestown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Saw some less than great reviews and just had to chime in. I just booked our 4th stay here and this time for 9 people, two families. This is a spectacular find in Tortola. We are boat charterers and have spent the night before our charter here whenever possible. It is a short hop from the airport and the marinas.
You look forward to vacation, go through the hassle of travel, luggage, heat and sweat with your luggage, finally arrive at the Tamarind, dump your luggage in the room, hit the swim up bar before you even unpack, Clint makes you the best Rum Punch that you will have in the BVI, and you are officially on vacation. Food is great and everyone in this family run hotel is great. It is true island flavor.
Let me say that this is not the Four Seasons. I love the Four Seasons and I love this place. They are just two different experiences. If you are looking for a pedicure, massage by Jacques, not a single area of chipped paint on the wall, and an entirely pristine resort experience, then you should go elsewhere. Having everything perfect is not the idea.
Having the family arrange for a taxi to pick you up (without even asking), having a beautiful pool and swim up bar with a bartender who trusts you to settle up in the morning, having an excellent meal, and playing trivia with the local expats is the idea. I would not recommend this for a week. However, for 1 to 3 days for a couple or family who wants a nice island hotel, it is not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RKaziii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Tamarind Club May 14 following a bareboat charter. It was recommended to us by a native Tortolan friend who understands we aren't cookie-cutter resort hotel types. After 10 days of sailing, we had the island vibe and didn't want to spoil it on our last night.

This family-run place is a find. The open-air poolside bar was helmed by our able and inventive bartender Clint, who immediately prepared a complimentary welcome drink for us. HIs sister Cat showed us our choice of rooms and helped us settle in. The dinner menu was surprisingly expansive; we chose tapas and everything was quite good.

We had a second-floor corner room overlooking the pool with sliding glass doors on two sides. It felt like a treehouse in the jungle. Nothing is matchy-matchy here (e.g. linens, furniture) but that's the islands, mon.

Roosters are ubiquitous in the BVIs so we weren't so surprised when the chorus started well before sunrise. Next time, earplugs, perhaps.

The only downside for us was that we were only able to stay one short night.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms then choose the one that suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreakingAway_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Friendly staff, pleasant open air lobby/bar/dining area, but that's about the only positives. Dinner was good, but no one up for breakfast at 7:30 the next morning when we left. We stayed one night in a room on the second floor - no lock on the sliding glass door, stains on the upholstery, mismatched and threadbare linens - was that a bedspread or a top sheet, hard to tell - I even wondered if they were fresh, a shower drain that backed up immediately and a general feeling of this place has seen better days - all for $165 a night. The place could have a certain out-island charm if they scrubbed it down, painted it, and replaced all the linens, mattresses, fabrics and furniture, but until then, next time I'll stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked the Tamarind Club as a one night stay coming of a week sailing in BVI. The place was among the less costly places on the island ($169 night) and close enough to the airport.

Now let me say this first, if you are looking for a American standard like Hilton, Sheraton or equivalent do not stay here. If you don't mind staying at a roadside one nigh Inn in the US, than this place here will work for you.

We booked a "honeymoon suite" which was decorated in 70's style tie-die curtains and terribly worn out furniture including the bed. We slept in it sideways because the mattress sagged so much. The room had a small fridge and the shower worked great (well coming of a boat you appreciate having a regular bathroom) except there was no shampoo. There was an ancient TV and DVD player (we didn't bother to use). Ceiling fan had piles of dust on it so we didn't use that either. There are no locks on the door so you can't lock the room.
Remember though, you are on an island and the Tamarind Club is an aging establishment so you got to take in the whole experience, do not expect a 5 start resort. There were roosters crowing at 5 am in the morning and most of the day, and dogs barking at night. Yes you are on an island, enjoy the ambiance. lol

On the upside, it was just a short walk to Josiah Bay on a dirt road through the country side, goats and chickens included and we really enjoyed the walk. We passed another place on the way to the bay called "My Secret Garden Cafe" which looked very idyllic but was not open. There were some machinery from the sugar mill from the 1800's you could look at in the garden.

Back to the Tamarind Club, the food was surprisingly good, there were vegetarian choices and the chef (a physical therapist helping out that weekend) accommodated us well. The bar was a mix of locals and visitors, and people in general were very relaxed, laid back and just chilled out. The place has a very nice atmosphere to it that allows you to kick back and just enjoy yourself being removed from the fast lane, sort of like stepping into a 50ish movie. The owner and her son were absolutely nice and very helpful with local information and happy to answer all our questions and arranging cabs etc.

Would I stay here again? I don't know, if the bedrooms would be upgraded some I could definitely say yes.

Room Tip: Rooms to the poolside seemed a lot nicer/newer decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatKarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the Tamarind Club before and after our bareboat charter. The place fit our needs perfectly. It is a bit off the beaten path - even for Tortola - and the driveway/parking area does not make a good first impression. The welcoming drinks and friendliness of the bartenders made up for whatever misgivings we may have had upon arrival. Only a few rooms were occupied, but there were many local ex-pats hanging out at the bar and restaurant who we made friends with quickly. On Sunday afternoon this place is packed with locals, and a great place to hang out by the pool. There was live music, sunshine, great drinks and a lot of laughter.
Don't expect the rooms to look like the Ritz. They are a little worn, and the plumbing is so-so. If you are going to the BVI's to sit in your room, this is not the place. If you are looking for a fun, lively place with a great vibe, you have found it here.
If you are up for a walk, the beach down the mountain at Josiah's Bay is spectacular.
If you are a light sleeper, the local roosters will wake you up at dawn.

Room Tip: We chose one of the poolside suites, which were 2 rooms with a king sized bed and futon in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nobarbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wow! We just returned from a fabulous vacation in BVI which included staying at this gem of a place. Cannot say enough good thinks about the friendliness, hospitality, food, pool, comfort they provided. Many thanks to Clint, Katie, and Sean for providing local information and seeing that our needs were taken care of. You guys are great, see ya next time!

Room Tip: We loved Room #9
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortola hotels
7.2 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.6 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
4.3 mi away
Icis Villas
Icis Villas
#10 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#7 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
7.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
2.9 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tamarind Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tamarind Club

Property: The Tamarind Club
Address: Josiah's Bay | East End, VG1120, Tortola
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tamarind Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside Hotel with views over Josiah's Bay Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Tamarind Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tamarind Club Hotel Tortola
Tamarind Hotel Tortola
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Club Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing