We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach was beautiful, but avoid the Sunday morning brunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Long Bay Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beach was beautiful, but avoid the Sunday morning brunch”
Reviewed January 25, 2007

We enjoyed our stay at Long Bay Beach resort. We enjoyed having the refrigerator, microwave and dishes in the room. This offered a nice option to the outrageously expensive restaurant options within the resort. The beach was beautiful. It was aggrevating though to see the few beach chairs claimed by Carnival cruise members who decided to use the resort for the day. Another option needs to be offered to those who are paying to stay at the resort when the resort offers/sells the chairs to the cruise line for one of their excursions. The resort was nice and excluded from the busy parts of the island. A car is a necessity though due to the isolation of the resort as well as the quality and expense of the restaurant options, and the activities offered within the resort. We ate at the resort for lunch the day we arrived, which was okay, but very pricey for what one got. The next day we ate the Sunday brunch which was a very big mistake. The food on the brunch was cold, having sat for one would guess hours, limited selection was offered and way over priced for what one received. This was the last meal we ate at the resort. Coco Plums was our favorite retaurant on the west end. Service was usually great and the food quality was also good. Coco Plums is a much better walkable option for those without transportation who are staying at the resort. The resort in general was nice, but we would have liked more activity options that didn't require driving elsewhere such as kayaks, boogies boards, sailboats, bicylces, ect. While we enjoyed our trip to the island and the resort, it is unlikely we will return. Three flights, an entire day traveling to reach the resort and another to return home just wasn't worth it. This on top of the stick it to them mentality of the island "belongers"(business owners) expense wise got real old. Where else would one have to pay $400 a week for a compact car rental, let alone a tax to leave the island and return to the island while spending a couple hours visiting the island of St. John, as well as another tax to leave the country at ths airport. One begins to feel very quickly as though they are being taken on a ride, and not a very pleasant ride.

  • Liked — beach
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank whitewtr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    285
    118
    65
    41
See reviews for
94
365
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2007

My husband and I left the kids with grandma and stayed at Long Bay from 1/11-1/15. It was our first non-business getaway in over 10 years without children and we were looking to relax, read on the beach , snorkel and explore the island a little. We paid $250 per night for a room near the pool with a full kitchen which was being marketed as a timeshare. The room location was very convenient.

Beach:
We picked Long Bay largely because of its beach. My husband and I walked or ran on this spectacular beach everyday. The resort was not crowded and we often felt like we had the beach to ourselves. We did not swim at Long Bay because we knew there were rocks in the water and the water was a little rough. We saw a few guests in the water swimming and there is supposed to be a part of the beach that is not rocky.

We rented a car from National Car rental located at the resort which was very convenient and drove to Smugglers Cove, a short but rough drive. This a smaller but great swimming beach. We tried to snorkel but with the swells, did not have much luck. Some kids were having fun with boogie boards. The water was warm, clear and beautiful and the bottom here is sandy. There are several ladies that set up a stand for drinks (smoothies were great at $5 each) and lunch which was delicious.

We took the 9:00AM ferry to Jost Van Dyke from the west end on our third full day. It's $20 round trip per person. We chose to get our exercise and walk over to White Bay where the Soggy Dollar Bar is. Its not an easy walk and flip flops would not be suitable. Others on the ferry took the taxi (they are there waiting for the ferry) for $5 per person. We had a pain killer or two at the Soggy Dollar Bar and a chicken roti for lunch which was great. We tried to snorkel but again did not have great luck since the water was rougher than in the summer and the clarity not great. We left when the beach started to get crowded.

Room:
I have to agree with other reviewers that the rooms at Long Bay are a little worn. They should upgrade all bed linens and towels since its a small investment with a large payback. However, we were comfortable and this was not an issue for us.

Towels:
The hotel also encourages guests to conserve water and energy and asked people to exchange beach towels on an as needed basis. Housekeeping replenished our bath towels everyday. Once again, towels were not an issue for us but his has bothered other reviewers.

Food:
We did not eat at the resort much since we wanted to try other restaurants and resort food in general is usually just OK and overpriced. We ordered the grilled mahi sandwich at the pool bar our first day from Gemma and my husband thought it was one of his best meals. The next moring we had breakfast at the beach restuarant. Our waitress was a little confiusing but no complaints.

We enjoyed 2 breakfasts at Sebastian's, a short drive, and watched the surfers while we ate. This is a cute spot which I wished we tried for dinner. We also at at Palm's Delight (local, cheap, good, known for there chicken), Coco Plums (my beef kabob was very good - they are known for their sizzling mushroms but we found this out too late), Banakeet (great view, good service, one of my better meals). We also visited the Sugar Mill which we also considerd staying at. The meal was very good to excellent but was you would expect, expensive.

Long Bay vs Sugar Mill
These were our top two choices with respect to where to stay. We chose Long Bay largely for the beach and amenities. The atmosphere at Long Bay is more relaxed. The Sugar Mill is a beautiful little spot but a little stuffy. The rooms here are much more elegant than Long Bay based on pictures of the rooms I saw on the internet. Its a totally different type of place to stay than Long Bay. The beach is across the street and close to the road.

Overall, we had a great relaxing vacation. We found the people of Tortola and at Long Bay Beach Resort to be very friendly. Long Bay is a very nice place to stay but our trip was great because we left to resort and explored the island.

  • Liked — The beach, the view, sound of waves
  • Disliked — Could use some updating
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank lovethecape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2007

I stayed at the Long Bay Beach Resort from 6 December for 2 weeks with my partner and 1 year old son. I am amazed to see the recent, positive reviews of the hotel because both my partner and I agreed that this was one of the worst hotels that we had ever stayed at.
The main issue is with the food. How another reviewer called the food 'gourmet' is beyond me. It really was appalling; badly cooked, poor choice, and expensive. It was so bad that for the first time ever we both lost weight on our holiday! Oh, and don't even think about being a vegetarian here, you are just not catered for in any of their restaurants, especially at lunchtime.
The pool area needs a revamp; it felt like sunbathing in a concrete carpark. It also lacks shady areas and of course, a decent lunch menu at the swimup bar. The room was OK but quite small, especially if you are confined to your room owing to a small child and his early nights.
When you stay at a hotel for 2 weeks (I notice that most of the other reviewers are American and therefore stay for only a few nights), the cracks really begin to show. Yes, the beach is lovely and the staff are friendly, but for those Brits reading this that want a lovely beach, there are much better places to go where it doesn't take an 8 hour flight, a 5 hour wait followed by another 3 flights to get there. This review may sound harsh, but sorry, never again....

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — The food!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank AnnaG1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2007

We stayed at Long Bay for 8 nights over the holidays. It is truly a beautiful place! My husband and son had a fabulous time riding the waves!. What we liked: the beach is great, the service was excellant (I know people complain but seriously we had nothing but good experiences with everyone we dealt with.) The food was pretty good (plenty of choices and varied menus). We especially enjoyed the swim up lunch menu at the pool. We had great service and a low priced lunch.

Things they should fix - the beach towel and chair situation is just silly - so many people left the resort annoyed at the end of their holiday while a small ($5,000 or less) investment by the resort would equip the beach with more than enough chairs and towels for peak occupancy (you could store them in a shed the rest of the year). Its a shame, I felt bad for the staff having to keep telling guests sorry no towels. Management should really look at how silly this is and how much repeat business they lose over something so simple and cheap to fix.

The rooms (we stayed Ocean front ) were spacious with beautiful views - yes the furniture is old and the linens (again so easy to fix) were very worn. We loved the frig in the room and deli supplies - beer, soda wine snacks can all be purchased at the store (open till 10pm) and kept in the room.

Remember bug spray - it is a problem
We will return - while the resort has issues - the beach was awesome, the staff helpful and friendly and food and entertainment pretty good.

  • Liked — The beach front rooms had beautiful views and easy access to all
  • Disliked — bugs
  • Tips/Secrets — bring bugs spray and beach towels
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Charliemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2006

We stayed @ long bay last october. When we first arrived to our room, i was shocked at how old and dingy the water-front cabana was. Apparantly there were no other rooms for us to be moved to, so we had to stay. I think the worst part of it was the sheets, i mean they were the worst quality i have ever seen. Hospitals probably provide a nicer sheet!

As for the food, OH MY GOSH, it was out of this world; gourmet for sure. Since our stay was all-inclusive, we could order what ever dish we wanted and not worry about the high prices.
It was definitely freshly prepared and unique. You couldn't have asked for a better menu.

All in all, i am not sure that many of the resorts in Tortola are quite up to the standards that I am used to. But in the end, the gourmet food, and to die for secluded surfing beaches made up for the lack of upkeep of the rooms. It was just georgous!

  • Liked — beach
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SouthJerseySundog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2006

First of all, allow me to say that we loved our stay at Long Bay Beach Resort. We were there for 10 days, and we also had our wedding ceremony there. We arrived a little before check-in time, and were still told to enjoy the breakfast that was taking place. That very same morning, we had to go into Roadtown to handle all of our wedding business with the registrar, attorney general, etc. The wedding coordinator at Long Bay (Carlotta) was extrememly nice and helpful. She helped us out tremendously with the legalities and made our wedding ceremony so memorable and special.
I can't say enough praise for the staff. We were treated like family. From Junnie, Orden & Tammy at the front desk, to other staff members like Felix, Mabel, James, and Chester...they made our stay most comfortable.
We did go with the all-inclusive option, which was maybe the only regret. We should have only done it for a week or so, then we would have had the chance to visit some of the other restaurants in Tortola without feeling like we were losing money. The food was nice, but not worth the prices that were charged. Since we had the all-inclusive, we didn't really worry about the price, but if we had been paying out of pocket, I would have felt overcharged.
We stayed in the beachfront cabana. I can't describe how beautiful the beach was!! It was so lovely and had a great view of Jost Van Dyke. We took two day trips to the other islands (Jost & Virgin Gorda). That was a great experience as well.
Again, I highly recommend Long Bay Beach Resort!!!!
Feel free to contact me if you have any questions or concerns!!! (lonewolf_1977@msn.com)

  • Liked — The proximity and view of the beach
  • Disliked — Having to go home!!!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Lonewolf_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2006

My boyfriend and i had a lovely week here from the 11th November. It was a nice quiet resort with the most gorgeous postcard-picture type beach with huge crashing waves - excellent if you're into surfing, and no crowds to spoil it! The pool with pool-bar was also nice to cool off with a pina colada in hand! We stayed in a hillside room which was easily reached by steps from the poolside. We had to change rooms on the 2nd day however due to a hole in the bathroom ceiling caused by ice falling from the air con, the staff were happy to move us and the room we moved to was superior - high wooden ceiling, separate kitchen area and bathroom. We stayed on a room only basis having read reports on this website saying there were too many places to eat outside - this we regretted, the menus were excellent, we were particularly impressed by the lunch menu which included everything from fresh salads to tuna pittas to burgers to steaks! There were only really 2 other places to eat within walking distance of the resort and only one of those i'd recommend - Coco Plums - the best Coconut Shrimp! We took a taxi to Soper's hole one night for dinner and cocktails but unfortunately the service was awful, it took an hour to get a drink!

Things, i would recommend - the White Squall boat trip to other islands and reefs of the BVI - fantastic, particularly the pirates' bar - you must try the 'Bushwacker' Cocktail - its like an alcoholic chocolate milkshake mmmm! Also great for snorkelling - we saw turtles, stingrays and all sorts, fortunately no sharks! Smugglers Cove is also worth a visit - its a lovely beach with clear warm water - bliss!

I'd definitely go back, the beach and food were great, the only downside at this time of year was the mosquitos!

  • Liked — The Beach and Restaurants
  • Disliked — Mosquitos
  • Tips/Secrets — All Inclusive would be worth it, take DEET spray
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SOOGEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
397 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.0 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
282 reviews
11.8 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
4.4 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Beach Club

Property: Long Bay Beach Club
Address: PO Box 433, BVI, Tortola (Formerly Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Long Bay Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful, mile-long stretches of white sand beach in the Caribbean, Long Bay Beach Club is truly the gem of the British Virgin Islands. Guests enjoy terrific accommodations including Beachfront Rooms and Suites. The resort amenities include the historic beachfront 1748 Restaurant & Bar, tennis, amazing beach and much more. Fantastic location on Tortola's much sought after West End, just minutes from Soper's Hole Marina. Popular excursions include sailing, diving, sightseeing, and shopping. Great restaurants, bars, and nightlife nearby. Perfect for couples, friends, and families. Also ideal for those seeking a land / sea vacation that includes sailing and hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Long Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Tortola
Long Bay Beach Resort And Villas
Long Bay Beach Hotel
Long Bay Beach Resort Villas Tortola
Long Bay Resort Tortola
Long Bay Beach Club Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing